We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Home from home”
Review of Canasta Hotel

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Blackpool
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Canasta Hotel
Ranked #264 of 859 Blackpool B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Knottingley, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
43 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Home from home”
Reviewed 16 February 2012

good hotel, good location, freshly cooked breakfast, unlimited tea or coffee, Doug the owner very friendly, This was our third stay and hope to return in the near future, Thanks to all at the CANASTA.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank holroydfamily
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

322 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    193
    79
    17
    17
    16
See reviews for
90
140
3
8
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (89)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Bentham. North Yorks
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 February 2012

Just had two nights at the Canasta while doing the shows.
Nothing is too much for the very friendly staff. We were greeted every time we appeared downstairs or return to the hotel with promises of hot drinks. Much needed too.
The breakfast keeps you going all day too.
I'll be back!!

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Geoff-Blackwell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
west lothian
Level 2 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 January 2012

we spent 2 nights at this hotel room 16 very plesant, the view was lovely as was the hotel the staff were very nice and plesant, the breakfast was one to remember a few different things on the menu, and if you want more just ask nothing was a bother to the staff, i will be coming to blackpool again next year and i will be coming back to the canasta hotel, very well done to all who are involved.

Room Tip: room 16 excellent view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank benidormbabe39
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
england
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 January 2012

I have stopped at the canasta several times now and i cant see why people fault it?
surley if you are staying somewhere and you find a fault/problem you report it but i hate the people who say nothing then use the internet to rate a hotel as rubbish. i can honestly say that the owners of the canasta treat you as you treat them polite and friendly in the world today what do people expect for there money you get what you pay for only the canasta gives that bit more .

Room Tip: be friendly and polite to the staff it costs nothing
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank carlbee50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 January 2012

bog standard Blackpool B&B- not awful, but not particularly great. Location good, breakfast average (service slow). Pay extra for a seaview room as the view from the back rooms is very grim. Unfriendly staff was my main gripe-as was the parking situation. Impractical and annoying. Would not return.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank CardiffNL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CanastaHotel, Owner at Canasta Hotel, responded to this review, 12 January 2012
I'm puzzled what you found "impractical and annoying". If you were referring to the car parking we have spaces for 18 vehicles - far more than many in the Victorian town of Blackpool.
I'm sorry you didnt find us very friendly. Perhaps there were reasons for that. We do treat folk as we find them.
From the tone of your review I'm kind of pleased you wont be coming back.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Widnes, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 November 2011

stayed at the Canasta hotel recently for a special occasion, would not go again, beds not comfy, did not like the "non friendly" approach, hard working girls though i must say.

would not recommend to a friend!!

Room Tip: just dont book into any room
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank elaine474780
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CanastaHotel, Owner at Canasta Hotel, responded to this review, 16 November 2011
Oh dear. I'm sorry you didnt enjoy your stay but I am a little puzzled by your comments. Our matresses get changed every two years and we regularly get good comments about them. We dont buy the cheap rubbish many others do. If EVER we get a comment about a bed being uncomfortable we generally replace it straight away - I cant honestly remember the last time we did have a complaint about that. and am puzzled why you didnt let me know when you were here? If you were staying more than one night I would definitetly have sorted it for subsequent nights (or at least for the next guest). Perhaps you'd like to go the extra mile and email me about which room you stayed in.

As for the "non friendly approach" well i dont know what to say really. I must be honest and say I can't remember you. I do all the check-ins as I like to know who is staying in my house (yes we live on the premises). I always greet with a smile and chat and try and get guests to sit down and have a cuppa before giving the key etc.

Thanks for mentioning the one good point - we are quite proud of our staff.

We obviously got it wrong in your case and I am genuinely sorry about that.

Have a great trip next time you come to Blackpool - even if its not with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sunderland, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 October 2011

Just returned from another great weekend at the canasta,there was 12 in our party ranging from 6 to 58 years and as usual Doug,mandy and all the staff made us welcome and the haloween party was great, the food was fantastic as usual and the hotel itself was very clean as is normal for the canasta,this was our 3rd visit and we cant wait to go back next year.

Room Tip: no complaints about any of the rooms we have stayed in on our 3 visits.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank chris8270
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CanastaHotel, Owner at Canasta Hotel, responded to this review, 16 November 2011
Thanks very much Chris and the gang for your repeat custom. Much appreciated!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Blackpool hotels
1.3 km away
Doric Hotel
Doric Hotel
#9 of 73 in Blackpool
1,234 reviews
0.2 km away
Tiffany's Hotel Blackpool
Tiffany's Hotel Blackpool
#38 of 73 in Blackpool
1,539 reviews
0.1 km away
Best Western Carlton Hotel
Best Western Carlton Hotel
#39 of 73 in Blackpool
498 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.3 km away
Clifton Court Hotel
Clifton Court Hotel
#3 of 73 in Blackpool
503 reviews
0.1 km away
Park House Hotel
Park House Hotel
#13 of 73 in Blackpool
778 reviews
0.2 km away
Rockcliffe Hotel
Rockcliffe Hotel
#197 of 859 in Blackpool
223 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Canasta Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Canasta Hotel

Property: Canasta Hotel
Address: 288-290 Promenade, Blackpool FY1 2EY, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Lancashire > Blackpool
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Shuttle Bus service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #264 of 859 B&Bs / Inns in Blackpool
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Canasta Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
31 en suite bedrooms (10 with sea views) located on the seafront within 10 minutes walk from the Blackpool Tower. Family run hotel - very friendly and meticulously clean. No stag or hen parties. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing