We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very clean and friendly”
Review of The Newlands Hotel

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Blackpool
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
The Newlands Hotel
Ranked #329 of 858 Blackpool B&B and Inns
1 review
“Very clean and friendly”
Reviewed 24 October 2011

We stayed here last year and thoroughly enjoyed it. The owners were very friendly and made us feel very welcome. On a night we went into the bar area and had a chat with them. They even had toys for the little ones to play with. The reception was warm and remained that way throughout the stay. The rooms were clean and the food was lovely, couldn't fault either. Situated in an ideal location and brilliant for families. Would definitely stay here again and recommend. Would've stayed again this yr but tried months before we wanted to go and they were full...just shows how popular they are! Stayed Oct 2010

  • Stayed November 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sarah_taylos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Phil_Heather, Owner at The Newlands Hotel, responded to this review, 14 January 2012
Hi Sarah, Thanks for taking the time to add your review, it is much appreciated. Pleased to hear that you all enjoyed your stay with us. Sorry that we couldn't get you in the last time, that's the downside of only having 8 rooms but the plus side means that we can do all the cleaning, cooking, etc. ourselves without employing staff, which ensures our high standards are maintained. Look forward to seeing you all again in the future, the little ones will love it now the promenade is about finished, it looks great! Thanks again, Phil & Heather.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

159 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    146
    8
    3
    1
    1
See reviews for
34
44
5
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Wolverhampton, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 October 2011

I booked by phone on the Friday & we arrived on following Monday,(26th) we were greeted with a most welcome cuppa. Phil & Heather both made my Sister & I very welcome.
Our room was a pretty twin bedded with ensuite - the shower was bigger than 'normal' - i appreciated that cos i am too lol. Towels & soap were supplied - this saved on the packing.
Our room was exceptional both in cleanliness, layout, decor & size.
We had BB & EM - all meals were hot and of excellent quality & portion size.
Nothing was too much trouble for Heather & Phil -- eg Phil fixed a broken brake on my walking (trolley) aid as soon as i mentioned it.
Heather & Phil are a lovely, friendly, pleasant couple they made our stay so enjoyable that we were reluctant to leave,.
The Newlands is Excellent value for money. I would not dream of going to Blackpool if i could not stay with Phil & Heather.
We will most certainly book at The Newlands again, and will recommend it to anyone.
We arrived as strangers and left as friends - and you cannot get better than that in my opinion.
3 Cheers for Phil & heather xxxx

Room Tip: Just ring up and Phil and Heather & they will accomodate you xx
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank elljay23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Phil_Heather, Owner at The Newlands Hotel, responded to this review, 14 January 2012
Hi Margaret / Lynne, Thank you for taking the time to add your review, it is much appreciated. Pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay, the room & meals. It was no problem at all fixing your brake, if we can help at all , we will. We both enjoyed your company and we look forward to seeing you again in the future. Best wishes to you both, Phil & Heather.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 August 2011

The service was top notch Heather and Phil couldnt do enough to look after you and the room was 100% clean from bedding on the four poster bed to the clean shower in the ensuite the locatin of the Hotel was only 100 yards away from the sea we were only 10 min slow walk to the tower and town centre and The best part of the stay was the food heather does a fantastic breakfast and the evening meals are a must both Heather and Phil go out of their way to make your holiday very special from the breakfast to evening in their Bar They clean the rooms regularly through your stay and provide tea/coffee in you rooms... the worst part of the holiday was having to come home after a lovely and enjoyable holiday

Room Tip: Just tell Heather what room you would like and if she can will be glad to help
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Junew_1965
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Phil_Heather, Owner at The Newlands Hotel, responded to this review, 14 January 2012
Thank you for taking the time to add your review, it is much appreciated. Pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay and the meals, etc. Glad to hear that you liked the Hotel's location, it is one of the things that made us buy this Hotel over others we viewed as it was ideally situated centrally off the prom & just yards from the beach.
Thanks again & we look forward to seeing you again in the future. Phil & Heather.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bury
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 August 2011

The rooms were spotless, the food was fantastic, Phil and Heather were there the most welcoming people. The only downside was the noise at night, we were in room 3, it was unfortunately direclty over the bar and music room and at most nights we were not getting to sleep until at least 12 at night. Our last night was disturbed until 1.40 am. Good if you are night owls !!!!

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Janice T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Phil_Heather, Owner at The Newlands Hotel, responded to this review, 30 August 2011
Hi Janice / Carl; Thank you for your comments, we are really sorry to hear that noise from the bar disturbed your sleep. As you know it isn't possible to please all of the people all of the time, despite us bending over backwards to try. If you had mentioned it to us when we asked if you had slept OK we could have tried to keep all of the other guests a little quieter for you. Anyway, hope it hasn't put you off visiting us in the future as we enjoyed your company and Carl is one of the most polite young men we have met in a long while. You will also be pleased to know that we managed to un-block the toilet you blocked without having to call anyone out over the Bank Holiday weekend so everything turned out OK.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasgow, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 July 2011

Stayed at the Newlands for four days with kids ( 5 & 14 months) . Phil and Heather are great hosts & went out of their way to keep the kids entertained (my 5 year old didnt want to leave at the end of the holiday!).
The hotel is really clean and the food is excellent.
Will definately be back next year & would recommend the Newlands to anyone.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank LynneM10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Phil_Heather, Owner at The Newlands Hotel, responded to this review, 14 January 2012
Hi Lynne, thank you for taking the time to add your review, it is much appreciated. Pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us. We always work hard to ensure that our guests enjoy their stay with us (whatever their ages) and when we receive nice comments it makes it all worth while. Thanks again & we look forward to seeing you again in the future. Phil & Heather.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
cathy2202
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 June 2011

we chose this hotel because of the reviews on this site and I have to say that all the reviews are correct apart from the moaners there no need to moan nothing to moan about this hotel, It is centrally situated 10 mins stroll to tower, sea lifde centre and a 20 min stroll to pleasure beach, we went as a family have a 9 year old and a 4 month old and my partener we stayed in the family room which was very clean have no complaints about the room also breakfast was great, we came on the monday and left on the sat morning, phil and heather are great with people and children, it is true alot of places do say child friendly but don't really like kids but phil and heather love kids they are welcome in the bar area and there is lots to do to keep them amused, bar prices are great we found ourselves eating tea there most nights and rather than go out we just stayed in the bar every night the prices are great, we saving up and going for a week next time.
the only probs i have is not the hotel but the scams on the street when you walk along the sea front there is stalls like throw a dart and score points if you get told to win everytime tell them no they will try to get you into conversation with them by asking where you from they are scams if you want a teddy which is what they give you it is better to go to amusements also watch for the people saying there wanting money for charity if they no id they are scams aswell we only got stopped once from him so not to bad and one last thing if a man comes up to you and asks if you got a sense of humour then just say no he is selling joke books, he dosn't hastle you just say no he will go away lol,
the first night we ate out at a fish and chip shop i would say do not go there at all is was rubbish total awfull food it is called fish and chips along the seafront between amusements, it is a blue one on the corner with 2 benches outside we ate there the chips were manky and the fish was grey and the batter soggy it will prob be empty aswell my daughter got nuggets and they were so processed tasted awful i like cheap nuggets but these were disgusting, the next day we walked passed it was so dead the man serving was asleep lol,
def go to newlands hotel what more can I say this hotel rocks x x x x x

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank cathy2202
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Phil_Heather, Owner at The Newlands Hotel, responded to this review, 14 January 2012
Thank you for taking the time to add your review, it is very much appreciated. We are pleased to hear that you all enjoyed your stay (especially the kids) & we look forward to seeing you again in the future. All the best, Phil & Heather.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
stoke on trent
1 review
Reviewed 16 June 2011

Really enjoyed our stay, everywhere was clean beyond belief, Phil & Heather very welcoming and helpful, breakfast was great. Will definately be staying again.

Room Tip: Smoking rooms available - just ask!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank wendyStokeOnTrent
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Phil_Heather, Owner at The Newlands Hotel, responded to this review, 14 January 2012
Hi Wendy, thanks for taking the time to add a review, it is much appreciated. Pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay (and the breakfast). We enjoyed your company & we look forward to seeing you both again soon. Phil & Heather.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Blackpool hotels
0.6 km away
Lucena Hotel
Lucena Hotel
#97 of 128 in Blackpool
136 reviews
2.2 km away
Hilton Blackpool Hotel
Hilton Blackpool Hotel
#36 of 70 in Blackpool
3,984 reviews
0.6 km away
Belmont Hotel
Belmont Hotel
#231 of 858 in Blackpool
131 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 km away
Ardwick House Hotel
Ardwick House Hotel
#304 of 858 in Blackpool
119 reviews
1.3 km away
Heywood House
Heywood House
#260 of 858 in Blackpool
146 reviews
2.4 km away
Big Blue Hotel
Big Blue Hotel
#7 of 70 in Blackpool
3,075 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Newlands Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Newlands Hotel

Property: The Newlands Hotel
Address: 40 Bairstow Street, Blackpool FY1 5BN, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Lancashire > Blackpool
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #329 of 858 B&Bs / Inns in Blackpool
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Newlands is a small, friendly, licensed hotel, open all year. Most rooms en-suite; smoking & non-smoking rooms available. Unique 'Lord of the Rings' themed dining room & 'Music room' Bar. Situated 200 Metres from the beach and central pier - the ideal location within Blackpool. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing