We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (229)
Filter reviews
229 results
Traveller rating
115
71
16
9
18
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
115
71
16
9
18
Show reviews that mention
All reviews tram stop pleasure beach sea view couldn't do enough family room tea and coffee making facilities on arrival family break bigger room clean towels stayed here for two nights would highly recommend this hotel bunk beds night break visiting blackpool great weekend cooked breakfast
Filter
Updating list...
32 - 37 of 229 reviews
Reviewed April 16, 2017 via mobile

Booked up for a family weekend. The hotel needs an update the room was really rough around the edges. Also our shower never worked for the duration of our stay. I reported the issue but sadly apparently the plumber could not make it. No offer to switch rooms or even use another. Very hard to keep clean a family of 4. It had to be the old fashioned wash in a sink. The sea view was nice from the room. Unless this is updated i would sadly avoid. Offered a small gesture of £20 of for no shower for 2 nights. Nice of the manager but in the end very much a let down and not worth the money.

Stayed: April 2017, travelled with family
2  Thank Ian F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Waldorf_Blackpool, Owner at The Waldorf, responded to this reviewResponded April 18, 2017

Hi Ian,
As per your review on booking.com I can only give the same reply...

I thank you for taking the time to write a review, it is much appreciated. What you fail to mention in your review is that having arrived on the Friday night and attempted to shower on Saturday morning you CHOSE not inform us that your shower was not working until 10 pm on a Bank Holiday Saturday night, at that time it was impossible for us to call a plumber out to address the issue and hence you were unable to shower on the Sunday. Plumbers also like to go away for weekends with their families, had you informed us at breakfast we would have stood more chance of getting a plumber out to fix the issue.

You correctly state that there was no offer to change room, this was impossible as the hotel was fully booked and I don't know about you but as a guest in another room I wouldn't take too kindly to another family coming into my room to shower.

Whilst I appreciate that guest reviews are subject to guest perception, I believe your expectations to be unrealistic and believe we did all within our power to address your issue and as such feel your score to be unfair. Steve

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed April 14, 2017 via mobile

We were planning a trip for us the young children and both mothers-in-law. Last stayed here in 1977 and glad we stayed again. Great location, quiet section but couple of minutes' walk to the action, tram stop outside, staff super friendly and helpful, great breakfast and very good value. It's not flash but it's welcoming and happy. If you enjoy looking for modern perfection and finding fault then go elsewhere. If you want good value, nice welcome and a happy environment stay here. I travel globally in business in flash expensive hotels but the Waldorf is the happiest stay I've had for a long time.

Stayed: April 2017, travelled with family
Thank RHS_Brighton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Waldorf_Blackpool, Owner at The Waldorf, responded to this reviewResponded April 18, 2017

Thank you so much for your review, it means so much to everybody here that we got it right and you enjoyed your stay. Although we realize there are millions of places to vist and experience in the world we hope you wont leave it another 40 years before visiting us again.

Steve

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed November 4, 2016

The view was nice from our room on the front of the hotel and the bed and pillows were comfy. I agree with previous reviews that the rooms do need some work on them especially the shower stall. Also there was no toothbrush holder or mug in the bathrooms in both rooms that we booked. When we booked our room through a booking site we didn`t have the option of including breakfast, so we were surprised and disappointed when we checked in that we were told that they were not able to cater for everyone for breakfast as the hotel was full. So if you are hoping to have breakfast at this hotel it is best to make sure it is included when you book. They recommended a café just down the road at the back of the Solaris Centre where we had lovely breakfasts and was cheaper than at the hotel and there is also a car park there.

  • Stayed: October 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
3  Thank JGAF3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed October 31, 2016

This was our first visit to Blackpool as a family, and having visited previously myself many years ago with friends, I was a little sceptical as to the best place to stay. After some in depth research we chose The Waldorf for being a family friendly (non stag or hen groups) hotel located at the quieter end of the promenade. Yes the surrounding buildings / area needs some TLC, but as I understand it Blackpool's regeneration is moving slowly in the direction of The Waldorf. The hotel itself is a little dated around the edges but full of character and I can only imagine what it was like it its heyday. We had a good sized family room (en-suite) on the first floor, which was clean and tidy and perfectly suitable for our two night stay. Plenty of fresh clean towels, tea & coffee, and biscuits on arrival - the latter not lasting too long - pretty much like the first class freshly cooked breakfast we enjoyed every morning! Blackpool is full of characters (even more so at Halloween) and The Waldorf as its own - Tom. The chap didn't stop working from the moment we arrived and nothing was too much trouble for him. He was always happy to stop and chat / help if you had any questions, and even went out of his way to engage in Halloween tom foolery (no pun intended) with our daughter, which I have to say the hotel embraced in style.

You can't help but smile when you visit Blackpool even if you are the fussiest and finicky of individuals. Just take a deep breath, grab the moment and enjoy what's happening around you. It is hotels like The Waldorf that help make your Blackpool memories; quirky, peculiar, yet full of personality. The identikit Travel Lodge / Premier Inn style of hotels may be more to some peoples liking, and in some instances they do a great job (yes I've used them myself), but when in Blackpool travelling with a family give The Waldorf a go - after all it's all about having fun!

Room Tip: Sea view rooms at the front of the hotel are great for the illuminations
  • Stayed: October 2016, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Neil S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Waldorf_Blackpool, Owner at The Waldorf, responded to this reviewResponded November 3, 2016

Hi Neil,

thank you for taking time to write a review and for the Hi-5, it is much appreciated.
We hope to see you again next year

Steve

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed October 31, 2016 via mobile

Staying at the Waldorf at the moment and absolutely enjoying it. The staff are friendly and more than helpful. The breakfast is well presented with a great choice, an all you can eat full English is available to order, juices, cereals, fruit etc... Even off menu ordering. Although the area the Waldorf is a little run down they are redeveloping this area don't be put off by this.The hotel is very nice, clean and comfortable. Wi-Fi access is readily available tv's have all the latest Netflix, YouTube, BBC iplayer all pre installed. 2 minutes from tram stop so access to Blackpool is easy, The pleasure beach is close by for a fun day out, rooms with sea views available an altogether enjoyable experience. Would highly recommend.

Stayed: October 2016, travelled with family
1  Thank Glynn T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Waldorf_Blackpool, Manager at The Waldorf, responded to this reviewResponded November 3, 2016

Hi Glynn,

thank you for taking the time to write a review and for the 5 star rating, we know how buys our guests are so each and every one is precious to us.

We hope to see you again next year
Tom

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews