We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Disabled access room”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Grand Metropole Hotel
Ranked #67 of 70 Hotels in Blackpool
Doncaster, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Disabled access room”
Reviewed 30 March 2012

I arrived on Wednesday 21 March to be told that the disabled access room with wheel in shower [I booked in December] had been double booked. To the credit of the hotel, they did upgrade me to a suite. However, this wasn't completely suitable as I was unable to shower. What else I found irritating, was having to queue before being let into the dining room, and then in my opinion, having dinner on kiddies plates. One guest on the next table said "I haven't seen queuing like this since we had ration books".

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dunwalkin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
joepiper, General Manager at Grand Metropole Hotel, responded to this review, 19 April 2012
Dear Guest, thank you for posting a review.

I'm sorry you had an issue with your booking and would very much like to discuss it with you.

Could you contact me on francis.sheridan@britanniahotels.co.uk

Regards,

Francis Sheridan.
General Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

3,518 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    410
    668
    667
    557
    1,216
See reviews for
801
1,552
153
91
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,253)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Leicester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 March 2012

Turned up Sunday night for six nights, staff were friendly and helpful. Room was dirty damp patch on ceiling , carpet was stained. No shower in my room. Front of Hotel was like an ashtray, this could of been swept daily. Car parking was like a lottery and the building exterior was looking very tired. Didnt like the amount of pets raoming around the place. Breakfast was good staff friendly again. Would i stay here again NO!, but i must say you pay for what you get and it was cheap, should of known better.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mark c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
joepiper, General Manager at Grand Metropole Hotel, responded to this review, 5 April 2012
Dear Guest, thank you for posting a review.

I'm sorry you had an issue with your booking and would very much like to discuss it with you.

Could you contact me on francis.sheridan@britanniahotels.co.uk

Regards,

Francis Sheridan.
General Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Blackpool hotels

4.5 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
5 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4.5 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
Carlisle, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 29 March 2012

When you take a holiday in blackpool at the end of March you don't expect sunshine all day every day, but 2012 must be the exception. The Metropole was very good, excellent accomodation our room had recently been refurbished, food and entertainment good, excellent value for money. I would like to see the receptionist smile just once and make eye contact, maybe use an american line like (have s nice stay) but in her defence she was under a lot of pressure. Val & Ken.

Room Tip: Update to a premier room. Get into the car park early.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kenneth W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
joepiper, General Manager at Grand Metropole Hotel, responded to this review, 5 April 2012
Dear Guest, many thanks for taking the time to post a review.

Your comments are very much appreciated and have been passed on to the Staff. Its good to get a balanced view on these matters.

I'm pleased to read that you thought the Metropole offered good value for money.

Your comments about the interaction with the receptionists has been dealt with in-house.

We look forward to welcoming you back at some time in the future.

Regards,

Francis Sheridan.
General Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 24 March 2012

First impression hotel is run down and public areas are dirty. On reception the check in staff very rude and have no basic manners however the older gentleman who works nightshift was great. Will never come to this hotel again its in need of full renovation

  • Stayed March 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Gerald1066
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
joepiper, General Manager at Grand Metropole Hotel, responded to this review, 5 April 2012
Dear Guest, thank you for posting a review.

I'm sorry you had an issue with your booking and would very much like to discuss it with you.

Could you contact me on francis.sheridan@britanniahotels.co.uk

Regards,

Francis Sheridan.
General Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 March 2012

Have stayed on 3 occations now first visit bathroom was rather dated but room was spotless and got a sea view. 2nd visit room was fabulous walkin shower sea view again. 3rd visit fabulous again sea view nice bathroom spotless room. Food was very good staff were lovely really helpful with a smile. Yes we will be visiting again its excellent value for money.

  • Stayed March 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mazsue
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
joepiper, General Manager at Grand Metropole Hotel, responded to this review, 5 April 2012
Dear Guest, many thanks for taking the time to post a review.

Your comments are very much appreciated and have been passed on to the Staff. Its good to get a balanced view on these matters.

I'm pleased to read that you thought the Metropole offered good value for money.

We look forward to welcoming you back at some time in the future.

Regards,

Francis Sheridan.
General Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Preston, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 20 March 2012

The accomodation was very good, recently refurbished room. Would definitly recommend getting the premier upgrade rooms with sea views . The food was good. Overall great value for money. Its not perfection if thats what your looking for but it is well worth a visit.

Room Tip: Premier room is a must , with great sea views
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank g_smith604
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
joepiper, General Manager at Grand Metropole Hotel, responded to this review, 29 March 2012
Dear Guest, many thanks for taking the time to post a review.

Your comments are very much appreciated and have been passed on to the Staff. Its good to get a balanced view on these matters.

I'm pleased to read that you thought the metropole offered good value for money.

We look forward to welcoming you back at some time in the future.

Regards,

Francis Sheridan.
General Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nottingham
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 March 2012

Having read reviews here that were less than complimentary about this hotel I was a little apprehensive prior to my stay. However, I have stayed at many Britannia hotels and I generally find them to be pretty decent and this hotel was no exception. I took advantage of another brilliant Britannia bargain break (£99 for four nights dinner, bed, breakfast, afternoon tea AND a bottle of wine!).

We arrived a little early (around 2.15pm. Check-in is, I believe, from 3pm) so we had no trouble finding a spot in the car park - charged at £3 per night - but when we left the machine tried to charge us £48!! The young lady on reception activated the card without charge. Also, a large group arrived on our departure day and all but blocked us in. Only skilful driving extricated us!

It's true the hotel entrance could be smartened up a bit (and the smokers moved elsewhere). The plastic conservatory doors are a little sad given the grand Edwardian interior once inside reception. Reception staff were efficient and we were given our room early. Our rooms were lower ground floor so sadly no sea view (corridor drains down here a little smelly but not a major issue). They were good sized rooms, clean and in excellent decorative order. Beds were very comfortable with spotless white bedding. Bathrooms were up to date (spa bath and shower) and again spotlessly clean and there was plentiful hot water; though the first set of towels we had were a little thin and rough and smelled vaguely of bleach!) Housekeeping serviced the rooms to an excellent standard daily.

We ate in the Promenade restaurant (a choice of dining either at 5pm or 6.30pm for dinner) which was a lovely room with period features overlooking the sea. There was a long queue on the first night (which quickly reduced as we filed in) but not on any other night; and we were free to choose our own table. Starters were served to us: generally a choice of lovely hot soup (although the mushroom was a little powdery lol) with bread and butter or a cold starter. Main course was self-service and the queues for food were never long during our stay. There was usually a choice of perhaps three main dishes along with a couple of potato choices and a couple of accompanying vegetables. All the meats were tender and tasty and the vegetables never overcooked. From memory there was: pork, beef, barbecue chicken (delicious!), chilli con carne, fish and chips, poached fish, chicken curry...) There was also a salad selection and cold meat. There were one or two grumbles to be heard in the queue as people complained there wasn't enough choice, but we found it to be more than adequate. There was a lovely choice of desserts: from hot puddings with custard, to trifle, tarts, cheesecake, gateaux and ice cream! All delicious! For those not already stuffed there was cheese and biscuits too! Tea and coffee followed. Wine would be brought by the waiting staff if requested.

We found our room quiet on the whole (although some new guests arrived next door later in the week and allowed their door to slam frequently, but they were just inconsiderate). The rooms, being large, were well heated (though there appeared to be no heating in the bathroom) and we had plenty of space to move about and plenty of furniture to use. The usual tea and coffee facilities were provided and we also had a decent sized TV to enjoy with all the channels actually in order!

Breakfast consisted of a selection of cereals and porridge, fruit and yogurt. The cooked breakfast was hot and plentiful, with the usual selection of scrambled and fried eggs, sausage, bacon, beans and tomatoes (no mushrooms unfortunately), fried bread and toast (only white sadly). There was juice (orange only) and tea and coffee. Staff were generally attentive and pleasant. Afternoon tea was: sandwiches (tuna, cheese, ham or egg - again only white bread) with a salad garnish; a scone with jam and butter or gateau; and tea or coffee, which again could be taken overlooking the sea in the conservatory cafe. For those that fancied a daytime drink, pints were at the bargain price of £2.

All in all we thoroughly enjoyed our stay here and wouldn't hesitate to return. For the price you pay it is amazing value and it is a pleasure to stay in lovely rooms and be served decent, plentiful food with all the attractions of Blackpool but a short stroll away :D

Room Tip: It is worth noting that there are TWO lifts in this hotel :)
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank upTop76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
joepiper, General Manager at Grand Metropole Hotel, responded to this review, 29 March 2012
Dear Guest, many thanks for taking the time to post a review.

Your comments are very much appreciated and have been passed on to the Staff. Its good to get a balanced view on these matters.

I was pleased to read that you found teh food quality and the price of drinks satisfactory.

We look forward to welcoming you back at some time in the future.

Regards,

Francis Sheridan.
General Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Blackpool hotels
0.8 km away
The Imperial Hotel
The Imperial Hotel
#26 of 70 in Blackpool
4.0 of 5 bubbles 3,057 reviews
0.2 km away
Ibis Styles Blackpool
Ibis Styles Blackpool
#32 of 70 in Blackpool
4.0 of 5 bubbles 965 reviews
0.8 km away
The President Hotel
The President Hotel
#48 of 70 in Blackpool
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,029 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 km away
Tiffany's Hotel Blackpool
Tiffany's Hotel Blackpool
#36 of 70 in Blackpool
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,478 reviews
0.6 km away
Best Western Carlton Hotel
Best Western Carlton Hotel
#35 of 70 in Blackpool
3.5 of 5 bubbles 993 reviews
3.7 km away
Clifton Court Hotel
Clifton Court Hotel
#4 of 70 in Blackpool
5.0 of 5 bubbles 476 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Metropole Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Metropole Hotel

Property: Grand Metropole Hotel
Address: Princess Parade, Blackpool FY1 1RQ, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Lancashire > Blackpool
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #67 of 70 Hotels in Blackpool
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Grand Metropole Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 209
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Grand Metropole Hotel, Blackpool is the only hotel in Blackpool which is located between the sea and the promenade, offering uninterrupted views out across the Irish Sea. Close to both the North Pier and the famous Blackpool Tower, this hotel in Blackpool is perfectly located for all of Blackpool's attractions and entertainment venues. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity.ca, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your Grand Metropole Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Metropole Blackpool
Hotel Grand Metropole

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing