We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (11)
Filter reviews
11 results
Traveller rating
1
4
1
2
3
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
1
4
1
2
3
See what travellers are saying:
Filter
Updating list...
4 - 9 of 11 reviews
Reviewed May 17, 2016

We have stayed here before because we love the location - right on the sea front in Morecambe - and the building - but there is usually some issue that mars the experience and this time it was a very large and noisy wedding that kept us awake until 2am. It's a great place for a wedding I'm sure but the lack of soundproofing and enormous stairwell from the foyer do not lend themselves to having guests at the same time. In future we will check if there is a wedding on and would definitely not book if there is.

Room Tip: check if wedding on.
  • Stayed: May 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Lakes_woman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed April 1, 2013 via mobile

Four of us payed £95 for our room for one night including breakfast. Not really great value :-( The owner is nice, friendly and very helpful however the rooms were freezing!!!
Breakfast was ok but the coffee in individual packets was green????? (Not sure why).

  • Stayed: October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lorraineinwonderland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed July 31, 2012

Ok firstly the manager/owner John was very nice and very helpfull so thumbs up there.

Lets move onto the hotel.

The hotel had a general smell of damp which was over powering when walking in so maybe alarm bells should of rang. The room had a double bed which felt like lying on a bag of spanners as there were springs popping out every where and the single bed was worse. There was a scent of urine from one corner of the room so im guessing a previous victim/guest was a bit smashed at 2am and thought the radiator was a urinal! The noise was pretty bad all night as im sure a few of the guests were smashed and had lost keys and needed to ring the bell to get in. I had read reviews that although the room was a let down the breakfasts made up for it, well im guessing the tastebuds were dead from boozing as the breakfast was awful!

Im not a complainer and im generally pretty easy going but I will never stay at the midland or advise anyone else to do so in the future and defo warn anyone thinking of staying to think again and to have the cheek to charge £60 a night was joke!

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank goldmember3007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed July 30, 2012

The hotel is filthy and the furniture has clearly been there since it opened. Beds are uncomfortable with springs sticking out everywhere with a horrible smell in the rooms.
It is noisy with guests coming in and out with doors banging until early hours.
The breakfast is served at 9am and most of the food has been pre-cooked and put in the oven hours before so is dried up and over cooked.
Cost for two rooms for one night £120 is a total rip off. I would definetly not stay here again.

  • Stayed: July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Totallyunimpressed
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed October 24, 2011

We booked a family room by phone last minute. On arrival we thought the place looked shabby , dark and dull. The family room consisted of a double bed and bunkbeds with a very small shower room. It looked dated but we dumped our bags and went into Blackpool, returning 7 hours later very tired. The room smelt dusty and the pillows and duvets were very dusty. There were stains on the headboard and the walls. One of the remote controls had no back on it and was held together with grubby tape. The shower was filthy, the top of the hot tap was missing, the toilet squashed between the shower and the wall. No wardrobe just a rail that was so high you couldn't reach it. After being kept awake by snoring and a mobile phone from below and a noisy drunken group above we packed up, put our young daughters in the car and drove home at 2am. Complained to the manager/owner the following morning (not even sure he knew we weren't still there) who refused any kind of refund and denied any issues at all. A bail hostel would have been nicer, the hotel should not be allowed to trade like this.

Room Tip: Choose another hotel
  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Liz G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews