We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (11)
Filter reviews
11 results
Traveller rating
1
4
1
2
3
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
1
4
1
2
3
See what travellers are saying:
Filter
Updating list...
1 - 6 of 11 reviews
Reviewed October 27, 2016

We had afternoon tea here as a birthday celebration - great view across the bay from our window table. A little cramped as there were 4 of us plus a high chair sandwiched between two other tables - only one of the two dining areas was in use so all guests were in the same room.
Plenty of good quality cakes and scones but we could have done with more sandwiches.....
Nice staff.

  • Stayed: October 2016, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank whalleykay66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed July 10, 2016

We went as a big treat. The penthouse is wrapped around half of the hotel on one side overlooking the beautiful bay and on the other the victorian train station (which is where the hot tub is)

The staff are charming and it would have made it even better if the manager had taken the trouble to take us up to the suite to show us round, as it was it fell to the luggage man who was terribly nice.

We went for the half board package with a three course meal for two and breakfast included which was lovely

When we arrived we just wanted a couple of glasses of champagne and to sit overlooking the bay in the bar but we were told we couldn't unless we had a full cream tea and that we couldn't sit at the empty tables as they were going to be used for dinner service ... which was hugely disappointing and felt like some jobsworth had made that rule up. That might make sense in full season but with only two people actually eating it wouldn't have hurt to have made up a table for us, especially as we were paying extra for the best room in the house

The food was lovely and the staff were great - all of them.

Room Tip: Go for the front rooms overlooking the bay
  • Stayed: June 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Nicole B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed May 30, 2016

Negatives First ! Had to book on line as no answer on phone admit it was bank holiday Monday. On arrival car park full and told sorry big function on if you can't find space need to go across road to pay and display ! Not very good for disabled driver, luckily we did find a space. Hotel very busy with wedding party. Took three people to direct us to where to check in for afternoon tea eventually got sorted and seated. Then sat for 30 minutes and had to find someone to take the order. Service was excellent but not enough staff to cope with full afternoon tea.
Positives ! Once sorted and ordered everything was fine fantastic afternoon tea good selection of finger sandwiches, lovely cakes and scones with clotted cream and jam decent bottle of champagne at reasonably price plus good selection of teas to choose from. Really enjoyed it would highly recommend it lovely view of Morecombe Bay would go back but not on a Bank Holiday .

  • Stayed: May 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Service
Thank Patricia V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed May 17, 2016

We have stayed here before because we love the location - right on the sea front in Morecambe - and the building - but there is usually some issue that mars the experience and this time it was a very large and noisy wedding that kept us awake until 2am. It's a great place for a wedding I'm sure but the lack of soundproofing and enormous stairwell from the foyer do not lend themselves to having guests at the same time. In future we will check if there is a wedding on and would definitely not book if there is.

Room Tip: check if wedding on.
  • Stayed: May 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Lakes_woman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed April 1, 2013 via mobile

Four of us payed £95 for our room for one night including breakfast. Not really great value :-( The owner is nice, friendly and very helpful however the rooms were freezing!!!
Breakfast was ok but the coffee in individual packets was green????? (Not sure why).

  • Stayed: October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lorraineinwonderland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews