We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
US$101
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
US$132
US$110
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
US$80
US$68
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$62
US$58
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
Days Inn Leicester Forest East M1(Leicester)(Great Value!)
US$45
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$90
US$75
HIExpress.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$206
US$169
Priceline
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
US$73
US$70
Travelocity
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Plough Inn(Wigston)
US$85
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$70
PremierInn.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (164)
Filter reviews
164 results
Traveller rating
103
32
12
11
6
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
103
32
12
11
6
Show reviews that mention
All reviewssunday lunchexpress lunchsticky toffee puddingsea breambarnsley chopcharity ballcouncil estatesteak and ale piebeautiful hotelchicken breasttwo courseslarge bathroombooked a tabletrifleon arrivalbed and pillowsboutique hotel
Filter
Updating list...
91 - 96 of 164 reviews
Reviewed February 20, 2018

We chose Winstanley House for a night's stay in Leicester. We arrived after some difficulty negotiating the entrances and were welcome by the reception staff and showed to a very nice room on the first floor. The hotel is a corporate events venue so we were a little nervous over what a drink in the bar or our booked meal in the restaurant might offer. We were pleasantly surprised by the warm and efficient welcome and the quality of the food. We were there as a couple with some big tables being served at the same time. The layout and the service meant that we really enjoyed our meal and the evening. Breakfast the next day was first class with very attentive service and we happily trotted off to enjoy the Richard III exhibition in town.

  • Stayed: February 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Dinotech
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Anthony F, Front Office Manager at Winstanley House, responded to this reviewResponded April 29, 2018

Hello

I hope all is well.

Thank you so much for taking the time to review us, we are delighted that you enjoyed your visit and we hope to see you in the near future.

Kind regards

Anthony Foo
Front of House Supervisor

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed February 19, 2018 via mobile

The venue is lovely and has been well done. However the food and service were more than a little disappointing. We waited 40 minutes for food to be served and there were only 3-4 sandwiches each. Dairy and gluten free ones were very disappointing- they were simply the same options as everyone else on gluten free bread with dairy removed- boiled egg and margarine, ham and margarine or salmon and margarine! The sweet free-from options were less than imaginative too, with no cake and extremely crumbly scones. When I asked for herbal tea instead of regular tea which was being bought round by the waiter, the maitre d said he’d have a look and returned with 3 herbal tea bags in his hand and said it was all he could find! No other hot drink options were offered other than black coffee. Not as advertised on the menu, which stated a selection of speciality teas and coffees! Overall, poor value for money at £18 per person and a disappointing experience.

Stayed: February 2018, travelled with family
1  Thank ClarendonParker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed February 16, 2018

My old school, now converted into a Hotel and restaurant. Been in the building twice recently but this was first time for a meal. Staff very polite and helpful. Bar was comfortable and reasonably priced. The meal was in the old school entrance hall and the tables were well spaced out. The meal was lovely and well presented. Overall it was a great experience and in a building built in 1776. Hope it becomes a success..

  • Stayed: February 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank paul d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Anthony F, Front Office Manager at Winstanley House, responded to this reviewResponded April 29, 2018

Hello

I hope all is well.

Thank you so much for taking the time to review us, we are delighted that you enjoyed your visit and we hope to see you in the near future.

Kind regards

Anthony Foo
Front of House Supervisor

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed February 13, 2018

This restaurant was booked for my mothers 90th Birthday , on entering looked a great venue. Parking was a bit had hoc assumed disabled space close to entrance but these had just reserved over them. Awkward walk for a frail 90 year old from disabled slot away from reception .
When we had the table service seemed a bit chaotic , not enough of the correct pre ordered starters so had to make do what was available . Main course very good & desserts . Very disappointed trying to order coffees afterwards agreed to move into the bar that was so overcrowded , not good when family is dotted all over the place an no where for an old lady to sit . In the end had to cancel the coffees and was a shame as family arrived from around England for the occasion and had to leave for another venue . I think better fir small groups up to 4 :-)

  • Stayed: February 2018, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Service
Thank Expertisenon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed February 12, 2018

My two friends and I had the express lunch here last week. Two courses for £12, or three for £15.
From the moment we entered the Hall, we were escorted to our table, and received the best service we've ever had from our waitress Trudy.
The food was fabulous, well cooked and presented on hot plates.
I can personally recommend the Warm Goats cheese, Sea Bream, Corn Fed chicken, and Sticky Toffee pudding.
We had a lovely dining experience, and shall definitely be back.
One minor point, the Cappuccino is very small. I prefer the Americano with a jug of hot milk. Perfect !
Before or after eating, take advantage of the beautiful park and go for a stroll.

  • Stayed: February 2018, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank susies-couture
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Anthony F, Front Office Manager at Winstanley House, responded to this reviewResponded April 29, 2018

Hello

I hope all is well.

Thank you so much for taking the time to review us, we are delighted that you enjoyed your visit and we hope to see you in the near future.

Kind regards

Anthony Foo
Front of House Supervisor

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews