We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Work Night Out, Great Time Had By All!”

O'Neill's Leicester
Ranked #409 of 1,311 Restaurants in Leicester
Price range: US$5 - US$20
Cuisines: Irish, Bar, Pub, Gastropub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar Scene
Dining options: Breakfast, After-hours, Reservations
Description: You'll always find a warm welcome at O'Neill's in Leicester. Ours is a place where you're free to go with the flow. Where great food and drink is always served with a smile. And where, no matter whether you're a regular or a newcomer, our friendly team will make you feel at home. Irish pubs are known for their hospitality - a point we love proving here at O'Neill's in Leicester. We are one of the best pubs in Leicester for Irish food, drink and atmosphere. Come and see for yourself - drop by for a bite to eat, to watch some sport, to enjoy our live music or just for the craic. Slainte! What We are Famous For... Our live music nights on Friday and Saturday have been packing out the place for many a year now because good, honest entertainment never goes out of fashion. And the grill menu has seen our tasty and filling Irish food offering go from strength to strength. Leicester Tigers fans tell us there is no place (apart from Welford Road!) they'd rather be on big match days, plus we provide a home from home for supporters and players during Irish provincial matches.
Reviewed October 8, 2016

We have been to O'Neills a number of time for nights out from work, previous visits have only been for 8 or 9 of us but last night 29 of us descended on them for a multi-purpose celebration! Service was fantastic, we had sent over our food order a few days before to make it easier on the night. Ian had even put some balloons up for us :) In my experience some places struggle to maintain the quality of food and service with a large group. All my expectations were exceeded, everyone ate at the same time and the food was delicious. Great value night out with reasonable prices both on the menu and behind the bar. I left just as the serious drinking was starting so I hope everyone behaved themselves. We will definitely return for our next night out. Huge thank you to all the staff for all their hard work.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Helen A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
O'Neill's L, General Manager at O'Neill's Leicester, responded to this reviewResponded October 9, 2016

Hi Helen

Thanks for the feedback it makes us very happy that you had a great time. We look forward to the next party.

Regards,
Ian

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (119)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

48 - 52 of 119 reviews

Reviewed September 26, 2016

It's a chain pub so it's like most other O'neils. That is a traditional British/Irish Pub. Good range or reasonable food at reasonable prices. So you know you will get good value. this is a large pub with room for families and I suspect sports supports as there were lots of screens showing BT Sport. (including the Tigers match my sons were at) So what differentiates this one in the chain of O'neils? The Staff and Service. We found them friendly and helpful. Service was quick, though it was not particularly full. I have used it before and would do so again if you want good food, reasonable prices and not a trendy wine bar.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank phaedsys
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
O'Neill's L, General Manager at O'Neill's Leicester, responded to this reviewResponded September 28, 2016

Thanks for the review hopefully we will see you next time Tigers play Bath.

Regards,
Ian

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed September 21, 2016 via mobile

Popped in for a pint and a bite to eat and would definitely return. The staff were very friendly and efficient (not to mention they pour a great pint!). The prices for drinks are some of the cheapest in Leicester which is great because it's in an ideal location.
The food came in a very reasonable time and was a big portion. The range of food was brilliant and the choice of beverage even more so.
A great pub, with great staff and great chef's who are all obviously highly trained. If you're looking for a great pint, or great food, or both, then definitely visit O'Neills!!!

1  Thank Nathan B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
O'Neill's L, General Manager at O'Neill's Leicester, responded to this reviewResponded September 28, 2016

Hi Nathan

Thanks for the review it's good to know our work is appreciated.

Regards,
Ian

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed September 18, 2016 via mobile

Me and some friends went yesterday's evening.
Me and my girlfriend got some beers without any problem, but when the other couple went to order some, the waiter asked them for their international passport... arguing that the girl was under 25 or 21, therefore my friend showed up her EU driving licence proving she was 27, but for our surprise the waitress replied: 'I need your international passport'... Goodness my... do you think that someone hangs out with its passport in the pocket? Really?
Never ever come back...

Thank victorac90
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
O'Neill's L, Sales Manager at O'Neill's Leicester, responded to this reviewResponded November 14, 2016

Hi there,
I apologise for the experience you received. Unfortunately by law and due to our company policy we cannot accept EU driving licenses as a form of age identification, we can though accept international passports as a form of age identification.

Unfortunately in this circumstance due to the law and licensing act we have to abide by the law and if we did not follow this procedure we could not only be fined but also lose our alcohol license.

With thanks and apologies
Roni
Sales Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed August 28, 2016 via mobile

Friendly and sociable city centre pub, visited by a group of friends participating in the Leicester Skyride. Good bar service and efficient staff. Good selection of beers. Food only average though. My BLT sandwich was a bit lame, to be honest, let down by chewy, fatty bacon, but nice seasoned chips. However I will visit the pub again.

Thank 1265Steve
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
O'Neill's L, General Manager at O'Neill's Leicester, responded to this reviewResponded September 28, 2016

Thanks for the review. I'm glad to hear you will be back and I hope that you will see an improvement in the food quality on your next visit.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed O'Neill's Leicester also viewed

Leicester, Leicestershire
Leicester, Leicestershire
 
Leicester, Leicestershire
Saddington, Leicester
 
Leicester, Leicestershire
 

Been to O'Neill's Leicester? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing