We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Rolls Royce”

Poacher's Brasserie
Ranked #34 of 1,275 Restaurants in Leicester
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$7 - US$47
Description: Located in Thurlaston(7 mins from J21M1) and just 20 minutes south-west of Leicester city centre,Poacher"s is situated opposite a stunning Norman church right in the heart of this picturesque Leicestershire village. Our recently refurbished restaurant and lounge area offers a dining experience with a difference serving high quality,locally sourced(where possible)food and a superb selection of international wines,beers and spirits. 16th century to the front of the building and 21st to the rear combine to create a relaxing blend of contemoporary and oldy worldy ambience second to none. Poacher"s brasserie style menu has been created to offer an appealing mix of fresh food at affordable prices coupled with our daily specials and wine offers.Simply award winning style, value and quality.
Restaurant details
Description: Located in Thurlaston(7 mins from J21M1) and just 20 minutes south-west of Leicester city centre,Poacher"s is situated opposite a stunning Norman church right in the heart of this picturesque Leicestershire village. Our recently refurbished restaurant and lounge area offers a dining experience with a difference serving high quality,locally sourced(where possible)food and a superb selection of international wines,beers and spirits. 16th century to the front of the building and 21st to the rear combine to create a relaxing blend of contemoporary and oldy worldy ambience second to none. Poacher"s brasserie style menu has been created to offer an appealing mix of fresh food at affordable prices coupled with our daily specials and wine offers.Simply award winning style, value and quality.
Reviewed October 10, 2021 via mobile

Booked for a birthday lunch on Saturday and dined on the outside terrace.Starter of pigeon was excellent and the sirloin steak truly superb.My partner had the wild sea bass which we were told was delivered direct from Newlyn,Cornwall.It was magnificent.We went off the private cellar for our wines which were selected by Aga..again great choices.Overall a lovely experience.To sum up I will use a quote from a Rolls Royce dealership..’Quality is remembered long after the price is forgotten’.

Date of visit: October 2021
1  Thank Keepcharging
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a reviewReviews (328)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

2 - 6 of 328 reviews

Reviewed October 2, 2021

My partner and I visited for dinner. Lovely place bud the service was poor, at best. There are plenty of staff but there is a lack of leadership and direction.

On arrival, we were sat down ot then took over 20 minutes to get a drink ordered. The starters were then delayed bu a further 20 minutes. The main course arrived 1hr 45 minutes after we arrived. Too long imo. Out of the 9 tables there were only ever 2 eating at any one time.

The staff were all grafting but in the wrong direction and it seemed the polish girl had to take orders, pour wine, commentate on the cocktails.

Not great imo

Date of visit: October 2021
Thank muzzy1969
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 2, 2021 via mobile

A fantastic find local to us in Stoney Stanton, where there is a dearth of good restaurants. Imaginative menu, great service, well-presented dishes, lovely ambience. Highly recommended…

Date of visit: October 2021
1  Thank markbD4890BS
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 21, 2021

First visit to the Poacher's Brasserie and 4 of us had dinner last Saturday which was exceptional. The menu is sophisticated, well thought out and each dish was beautifully presented. The quality from the kitchen and chef is of a high level and it is matched by the enthusiasm and warmth of Aga who runs the front of house and has a detailed knowledge of all the dishes. The starters were scallops, wood pigeon and Egg65 all of which we're incredible. The mains ox Cheek, Fillet, Seabass certainly did not disappoint. We will undoubtedly return and can only urge local people to visit this classy restaurant and help to establish the brand. Deserts were also excellent with Taste Tatin, coffee Panna Cotta. What made all the dishes standout were the quality of the cooking imaginative combination of flavours.

Date of visit: September 2021
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
2  Thank Graeme S
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 1, 2021

This truly is a 5 star restaurant in every sense, the food was impeccable & service amazing! Can't wait to visit again. Well done!

Date of visit: August 2021
2  Thank Leicestertaster
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travellers who viewed Poacher's Brasserie also viewed

Leicester, Leicestershire
Leicester, Leicestershire
 
Leicester, Leicestershire
 

Been to Poacher's Brasserie? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
© 2021 TripAdvisor LLC All rights reserved.

This is the version of our website addressed to speakers of English in Canada. If you are a resident of another country or region, please select the appropriate version of Tripadvisor for your country or region in the drop-down menu.