We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fabulous and friendly”

Nawaaz Indian Restaurant
Get food delivered
OR
Get food delivered
Ranked #33 of 1,271 Restaurants in Leicester
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$8 - US$14
Description: We are a new business and opened in early October 2015. We are located on London Road close to Victoria Park, Train Station, Leicester University, and DeMontfort Hall. Due to our close proximity we have become a popular eatery for people visiting the DeMontfort Hall. We serve delicious Indian food at a great value price. Customers are allowed to bring their own alcoholic drinks. We also have a function room which can be used for charity, family and corporate events. Come and give us a try.
Restaurant details
Description: We are a new business and opened in early October 2015. We are located on London Road close to Victoria Park, Train Station, Leicester University, and DeMontfort Hall. Due to our close proximity we have become a popular eatery for people visiting the DeMontfort Hall. We serve delicious Indian food at a great value price. Customers are allowed to bring their own alcoholic drinks. We also have a function room which can be used for charity, family and corporate events. Come and give us a try.
Reviewed February 16, 2020

We were visiting Leicester to see our son and followed a recommendation to go to Nawaaz - so pleased we did! A bring your own alcohol restaurant, the staff are really friendly. Bright, clean and comfortable, we were welcomed in with complimentary poppadoms and pakora. A great choice of dishes, including a range of specialities. The mains arrived with complimentary aloo gobi, tarka dahl and chicken tikka - fabulous. The meal was then followed with complimentary ice cream, fresh orange and melon slices. We all thoroughly enjoyed our meals and would whole-heartedly recommend this to anyone.

Date of visit: February 2020
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
2  Thank 429nickyh
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sreenivasc, General Manager at Nawaaz Indian Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded February 16, 2020

Thank you

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a reviewReviews (536)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

30 - 34 of 537 reviews

Reviewed February 15, 2020 via mobile

Came here on a busy Saturday night after being turned away from a few other places in Leicester. They luckily had space for us and we were quickly seated and given complimentary poppadoms. Plenty of complimentary food given here, onion bhajis, fruit and ice cream at the end. We even had a free naan bread thrown in. The good that we did pay for was excellent and the portion sizes were perfect. The value for money is genuinely insane and I would highly recommend coming here. It’s not local to me, but if I’m in the area and hungry, I will be back

Date of visit: February 2020
Thank MrM06
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sreenivasc, General Manager at Nawaaz Indian Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded February 16, 2020

Thank you

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed January 31, 2020 via mobile

We went here after a concert so it was the end of the evening which may account for some of the issues. We did receive a number of complimentary items which is nice but we’d much rather have had 4 good main courses. The tandoori chicken was very overcooked and dry and the chicken tikka in the curries was a strange spongy texture. The curries felt like they had just be boiled up, there were no layers of flavour. It just had very little flavour. It all felt like a school dinners meal. We usually have delicious curries in Oakham where we live and viewed a Leicester curry as a treat, but sadly it wasn’t. It did cost much less though. All a bit blah sadly.

Date of visit: January 2020
1  Thank 48shelly64
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sreenivasc, General Manager at Nawaaz Indian Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded February 2, 2020

Thank you for your feedback. We will try and do better.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed January 27, 2020 via mobile

Don't get me wrong it's not all perfect in here but some things they do really really well, you just have to be careful what you choose to eat. So what's bad in here well the kebabs are marinated in food colouring and little else and pretty boring to eat they're very bland with the exception of seekh kebab which is ok. Also don't both with the lamb chops mine were in the Tandoor till they were . said that the lamb tikka is basically plain lamb with a touch of food colouring, it tastes of lamb very pleasant more like a Turkish kebab but not proper Indian marinated tikka. Main courses I asked for the Hot Meat starter big portion for a main course, this is a fabulous dish very authentic in flavour typically North Indian Pakistani Punjabi tender lamb in a rich spicy quite hot sauce absolutely delicious as good as anything I know in any Leicester restaurant. Another main course was just ordinary prawn curry which was not bad at all and my wife had king prawn tikka masala, now we all know this isn't Indian or Pakistani it was invented in this country and the version they do here is loaded with powdered coconut and sugar and not many spices but my wife likes it and the prawns were quite decent quality with some flavour and I'm sure lots of people like that kind of food because it's very mild and the portions are very generous. And now we come to what makes this restaurant so special we had two free pilau rice, a free naan, two free Currys, free poppadoms and pickles, free pakoras, free ice cream and finally free orange and melon. And if that's not enough you can take your own booze in which you buy cheap at the supermarket and save even more money. Service great we had a really good evening there yes and I do feel mean not giving it 5 Stars but the food quality is not up to say Shimla Pinks or Lilus. The chicken and lamb jalfrezi here are extremely good too, I recommend you give it a try make sure you're just Extra Hungry before you go.

Date of visit: January 2020
1  Thank BigChristoff
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sreenivasc, General Manager at Nawaaz Indian Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded January 28, 2020

Thank you

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed January 13, 2020 via mobile

Visited as a family of 4 our son recommended and it did not disappoint. The whole experience was great. The food was excellent in both quantity and quality each dish tasted fabulous. They also serve you surprises which were lovely. The service was great also friendly staff always welcoming and smiling. The restaurant was very busy lots of happy customers. Would 100% recommend and when next in Leicester we will be booking again excellent value for money.

Date of visit: January 2020
Thank buyer15
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sreenivasc, Owner at Nawaaz Indian Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded January 14, 2020

Thank you for your feedback

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Nawaaz Indian Restaurant also viewed

Leicester, Leicestershire
Leicester, Leicestershire
 
Leicester, Leicestershire
Leicester, Leicestershire
 

Been to Nawaaz Indian Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
© 2021 TripAdvisor LLC All rights reserved.

This is the version of our website addressed to speakers of English in Canada. If you are a resident of another country or region, please select the appropriate version of Tripadvisor for your country or region in the drop-down menu.