We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Enroute stop”
Review of The Tower Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
The Tower Hotel
Ranked #3 of 14 Hotels in Lincoln
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 5 June 2012

Excellent value hotel in old part of Lincoln. Trendy wine bar below hotel was too mch of a temptation and the food served in the restaurant was awesome

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Paul J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (355)
There are newer reviews for The Tower Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

310 - 316 of 355 reviews

Reviewed 26 May 2012

Come to Lincoln to go a photographic course and take pictures of Lincoln Cathedral.
Found this hotel to be near to venue .Lovely hotel great staff .Room I had was a nice size with ensuite,food was good . Will be going again and staying there soon .Parking in city car park over the road this should not be a problem as the hotel will pay half ,as car parks go it a far price anyway.

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DavidO101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 May 2012

We stayed at Tower Hotel last weekend, having never visited Lincoln before, and were not disappointed.
It was ideally situated for shops, bars and restaurants and was close to the castle and cathedral. The room was a good size and was clean and nicely decorated. Although we didn't dine at the hotel in the evening, both lunch and breakfast were very good. The bar was busy with a good atmosphere throughout the afternoon and evening. Staff were friendly and helpful.
We were pleasantly surprised by Tower Hotel, and would definately stay again next time we visit Lincoln.

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank emu8312
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 May 2012

Small 2* hotel just off the cathedral quarter of Lincoln. Good rooms, very busy bar, great (vegetarian) breakfast, with really keen and attentive staff. Car parking is on-street or pay-for car parks, both very close to hotel. A great place to stay and surpassed my expectations.

Stayed: May 2012, travelled solo
Thank DavidAllenBell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 April 2012

A very pleasant little hotel with good facilities, pleasantly decorated and equipped rooms including unexpected details such as real coffee - the antithesis to the predictable chain hotel.

Staff all very helpful.

Dinner was delicious, as was breakfast , with good ingredients and cooking to order.

The bar on Thursday night was loud but fun with a good mix of people.

Seemed to far exceed what one might expect for two stars.

Well situated for tourists and there is a car park deal that cuts this expense by 50%

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank David J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 March 2012

Stayed here overnight on Business, so when I heard that it was a 2* Hotel I was expecting the worst. However, this is really a very nice little Hotel and , it is located in a quiet road and you can see the Castle walls and the Cathedral. We parked in the Car Park opposite, for £ 2.20 from 6pm to 8am, which was pretty reasonable. The rooms are very good, plenty of space and en suite facilities, with that said the bathroom was a little grubby and could do with a paint, but that is very much a minor point. The Bar on a Wednesday night was quiet, but was very pleasant and comfortable, and with the Football on it was a nice way to spend the evening. We ate in the Bar and the food was excellent, I would go as far as to say it is one of the best Bar meals I have had. The breakfast serving was a little slow, but I was in no rush so that was not a problem, the food once again was very good. The staff behind the bar, serving the food in the bar and at breakfast, and at reception were all very friendly and polite. I will definitely be staying here again when I visit Lincoln

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Coyote69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 March 2012

Booked this 2 star hotel through late rooms.com at a £20 saving. It was exactly around the area of Lincoln where we wanted to be, near the top and 5 min walk to the Cathedral and 2 min walk the the Cloud Bar which we like :-)
Car parking was across the road in public car park however the receptionist who was very friendly informed us about times etc and that any parking costs would be 50% refunded by the hotel. The night porter even had keys to go and put new Sunday am ticket on car for us so we could have our lay in !! Overal a great place, dosnt feel like a 2 star quality of place, staff and breakfast we've had worse 3 stars. Highly reccomend if you fancy a night in Lincoln :-))

  • Stayed: March 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Welshy67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Lincoln hotels
0.4 km away
The Lincoln Hotel
The Lincoln Hotel
#6 of 14 in Lincoln
1,798 reviews
0.8 km away
DoubleTree by Hilton Lincoln
0.2 km away
The White Hart
The White Hart
#10 of 14 in Lincoln
526 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 km away
The Castle Hotel
The Castle Hotel
#7 of 14 in Lincoln
847 reviews
4.6 km away
Washingborough Hall Country House Hotel
0.8 km away
Holiday Inn Lincoln
Holiday Inn Lincoln
#9 of 14 in Lincoln
891 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Tower Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Tower Hotel

Address: 38 Westgate, Lincoln LN1 3BD, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Lincolnshire > Lincoln
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 14 Hotels in Lincoln
Price Range: $112 - $173 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Tower Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated in Lincoln’s Cathedral Quarter, The Tower Hotel is a 3 AA star Hotel and is ideally located for exploring the historical city; either on foot or as a base for visiting the surrounding villages, countryside and attractions. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and TripOnline SA so you can book your The Tower Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing