We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Delightful”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
DoubleTree by Hilton Lincoln
Ranked #5 of 14 Hotels in Lincoln
Certificate of Excellence
Knutsford, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
58 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Delightful”
Reviewed 1 April 2012 via mobile

Sitting in my hotel bed writing this review, we arrived at 2.30 today and have had a Fabulous time so far. We were greeted by a wonderful lady on reception, given a cookie as a welcome, and then when we saw our 4th floor room we were very pleased. Very modern, clean and smart. Looking forward to our 2 night stay.

Stayed April 2012
Helpful?
Thank DocGT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hannah V, Guest Relations Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Lincoln, responded to this review, 11 April 2012
Thank you for your great review.

We hope the rest of your stay was as fabulous as the first afternoon and look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

Kind regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,790 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    950
    544
    170
    72
    54
See reviews for
247
848
45
325
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (294)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 April 2012

I have now stayed here twice whilst visiting my Son at Uni and on both occasions I have been delighted with the standard of accomodation, the friendly and professiona staff and the location is just perfect. On my most recent trip I had to bring my dog with me and I must make a special mention of Stacy who could not have been more helpful in arranging this and giving us both a very warm welcome on our arrival.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Chris I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hannah V, Guest Relations Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Lincoln, responded to this review, 11 April 2012
Thank you for your review and your repeat business!

Great to hear that Stacy was able to assit with the arrangements for you and you dog on your most recent stay. I have passed on your comments to Stacy.

Thank you again and we look forward to welcoming you back.

Kind regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gloucestershire, England
Level 6 Contributor
356 reviews
189 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 384 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 March 2012

Exemplary service from checking in to checking out - the staff here are exceptional and as other reviewers have noted, bring a delightful personal touch to this modern hotel. We were pleased with our choice and found the hotel ideally suited our needs for an overnight stay in the city.

As Hilton HHonors cardholders, we were assigned a room on the fourth floor, room 401, which was spacious and had great views of the city - the waterfront through the large, floor to ceiling windows at the front and the cathedral from the side window in the bedroom. We particularly appreciated the lounge area, since returning after dinner to watch TV, we didn't have to sit on the bed (and fall asleep!) However, the continual scraping of furniture and heavy footfall on the floor above (the bar and restaurant area) was somewhat of a distraction and our lovely peaceful room didn't turn out to be quite as quiet as we'd have liked. We'd forego the HHonors privilege next time and request a room on a lower floor to avoid this.

Though we found the bed (and the pillows) a little hard, the room was comfortably furnished and very smart indeed, considering the price paid. Bathrobes and slippers were there for our use (though we didn't need them) and the good quality toiletries (Crabtree and Evelyn) noted and appreciated. The bathroom, in particular, was roomy and we were pleased to see a separate, large shower behind a glass door - one of those rainshower heads as well as a handheld spray, too. I generously allowed my husband to shower first - only to hear a shout when he turned off the tap and opened the shower door to find the bathroom floor underwater! He'd used only the handheld showerhead - not the rainfall one in the ceiling - but it had still delivered way more water than the drain could cope with. Has no-one in room 401 used the shower before, I wonder? Needless to say, we were horrified and mopped up as best we could - hoping that the bathroom underneath didn't have drips from the ceiling (see my last but one review, the Four Seasons in Sydney!) Of course, we reported the shower problems when we checked out and trust that everything will be resolved - since we stayed just the one night, that will be for the next resident of 401 to discover!

Such teething problems are perhaps to be expected from a new hotel, though clearly, the noise from the floor above is more of a design issue. A couple of cushions and/or a picture or two in the sitting area of 401 would give a little more personality to a space which suffers in comparison with the well appointed bedroom, but we enjoyed our stay and would return without hesitation.

Room Tip: Room 401 suffers from noise coming from the bar and restaurant above but is spacious and has great v...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank elegantraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hannah V, Guest Relations Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Lincoln, responded to this review, 11 April 2012
Thank you for such a detailed and honest review.

It is great to hear that you received the high level of customer service we pride our hotel on and, as an Hilton HHonor guest, received an upgrade to one of our fantastic suites. We appreciate you taking the time to report the shower to the Front Desk and this has now been resolved.

We hope to welcome you back in the near future.

Kind regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 March 2012

What an awesome addition for Lincoln! This hotel raises the bar way above it's competition. Front to back, service, style, location, price, quality - everything delighted me when I stayed there recently - so much so I am going back there this weekend!

The Bar area on the 5th floor is tremendous - not sure there is a better spot for miles!

My room was very stylishly designed, massive and uber comfortable - worth every penny.

Would thoroughly recommend to anybody in fact for this price, you'd be hard pressed to find a better hotel anywhere. Chic on a budget - bingo.

Room Tip: Any - all will be well appointed.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Peter A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hannah V, Guest Relations Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Lincoln, responded to this review, 11 April 2012
Thank you for such a wonderful review! I have shared your comments with the team.

We hope you enjoyed your return visit and look forward to welcoming you back again.

Kind regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
norfolk united kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 March 2012

We arrived on 19th March for 1 night and was welcomed by Dan the receptionist and handed a warm cookie whilst we checked in. The hotel is new and right on waterfront in a great location. Shops, bars and the famous Steep Hill only a few minutes walk away. Lincoln museum is a must too. The staff were friendly throughout our stay. King Room was luxurious with a most comfortable bed, spacious bathroom with complimentary toileteries. We did not use the restaurant for evening meal but breakfast was very enjoyable! Staff in there were most pleasant and served you Tea and Fruit Juices before you helped yourself to food. I would certainly book this hotel should I need an overnight stay in Lincoln again.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank paulat61
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hannah V, Guest Relations Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Lincoln, responded to this review, 11 April 2012
Thank you for your great review. We are glad to hear that you received both a warm welcome and a warm cookie, and enjoyed the facilities we have.

We look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Kind regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cleethorpes, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 March 2012

From pre-check-in advice onwards the front of house staff could not do enough to make our stay outstanding.
As a new hotel you would expect certain things to be in place, nothing falling apart or worn so I took the impressive room standard as a bit of a given. However, you still couldn't fail to be pleased with the walnut wood finishes, backlit areas and good-sized TV etc. Bathroom had every comfort - not least being a good quality shower (and bath), proper sized bath sheets etc!
The room had the benefit of a laptop safe - for no charge, ironing board and iron, hairdryer etc etc
We had a good room with views of the Brayford Wharf (and luckily also the Floodlit Cathedral in the opposite direction).
Despite all the above, it is the quality of service at the Double Tree that sets it apart from lesser hotels. We were greeted with warm chocolate cookies (apparently the norm) and having enquired as to our plans (which were to eat out in Lincoln), we were offered assistance in finding a suitable restaurant. Having done this, it was booked on our behalf including a taxi with the charges having been pre-arranged with the company - so no shocks there. I've shortened the experience for the sake of the reader but the service was more of a concierge offering, in which it seemed nothing would be too much trouble.
On our return we headed for the bar on the 5th floor (express lift from the foyer so no annoying delays to the cocktails!) A superb feature of a balcony overlooking the marina was a delight and a picture at night.
At no point did anyone try to 'sell-in' breakfast which was refreshing but meant that I can say nothing about the food, however, if it is a fraction as good as the rest of the visit, I'm sure it is fantastic.
A special mention should go to the front of house staff - particularly Stacy with whom we had the most contact.
I have not had a better hotel visit anywhere in the UK as the service element was simply second to none.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Pete S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Philip W, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Lincoln, responded to this review, 29 March 2012
Thank you so much for you review of the service from our team.

We really appreciate your honest appraisal of our hotel and its facilities. Its great to get feedback such as this as we are a new team and this just gives them the extra motivation to continue to try to get better and better.

We don't always get it right but with comments such as yours, we will keep on trying.

I hope we have the pleasure in welcoming you back to the hotel in the near future.

Best Wishes
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Blackpool, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 March 2012

We arrived on 19th March for 1 night and was greeted by friendly receptionists and handed a cookie on check in. The hotel is new and right on waterfront with restaurant overlooking the water. Staff were on hand at all times and made you feel most welcome. We were immediatly upgraded to a room on higher floor. We had booked a king Room and it was luxurious. Complimentary water and hot drinks in Room with super size TV and spacious bathroom.with toiliteries. The Bed was the most comfortable bed I have ever slept in away from home. Restaurant staff very friendly and meals superb. Would certainly go back again. Close to shops, bars and The famous steep hill. From Kings Lynn

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank wendy W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Philip W, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Lincoln, responded to this review, 29 March 2012
Thank you for a great review of our hotel, the team work hard to ensure that all our guests enjoy their much valued leisure time.

The beds are fantastic though...!

We look forward to welcoming you back to our hotel in the near future.

Best wishes
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Lincoln hotels
1.0 km away
The Lincoln Hotel
The Lincoln Hotel
#6 of 14 in Lincoln
1,720 reviews
0.0 km away
Holiday Inn Lincoln
Holiday Inn Lincoln
#9 of 14 in Lincoln
868 reviews
0.5 km away
Holiday Inn Express Lincoln City Centre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 km away
The White Hart
The White Hart
#10 of 14 in Lincoln
499 reviews
7.7 km away
Best Western Plus Bentley Hotel & Spa
0.8 km away
The Tower Hotel
The Tower Hotel
#3 of 14 in Lincoln
341 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to DoubleTree by Hilton Lincoln? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about DoubleTree by Hilton Lincoln

Property: DoubleTree by Hilton Lincoln
Address: Doubletree By Hilton Brayford Wharf North, Lincoln LN1 1YW, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Lincolnshire > Lincoln
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 14 Hotels in Lincoln
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — DoubleTree by Hilton Lincoln 4*
Number of rooms: 115
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The DoubleTree by Hilton Lincoln is a contemporary, upscale hotel situated in the heart of the city. Commanding unrivalled views, the hotel boasts a stunning rooftop restaurant, the Electric Bar, as well as a ballroom, all overlooking the stunning Cathedral skyline or waterfront skyline. All designed with elegance and opulence in mind. In addition a stunning panoramic lift at the front of the building is a spectacular feature. The hotel features 115 rooms, including eight suites with stunning views of the either the Cathedral skyline or the waterfront. All our contemporary rooms offer complimentary WiFi, flat screen LED TV's, and luxurious Sweet Dreams® bedding. The hotel is one of the city’s most unique and contemporary buildings exuding luxury and style.The restaurant will offer fine-dining in incredible surroundings whilst the Electric bar will offer a fresh alternative to the city’s nightlife. A contemporary bar with a retro edge it will be the perfect place for relaxation, recreation or business. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hilton EMEA, Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, Travelocity.ca, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your DoubleTree by Hilton Lincoln reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing