We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“"WOW Mama....is MUCH better than I...”

Review of Bardney Lockhouse

Welcome to Bardney Lockhouse
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Welcome to Bardney Lockhouse
Approaching the Lockhouse An original 17th Century lockkeepers cottage
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
33 reviews
Welcome to Bardney Lockhouse
Approaching the Lockhouse
An original 17th Century lockkeepers cottage
With beautiful views across the Lincolnshire Fenlands
Situated right next to the Lock, this is the actual Lock House
Great views
Great views from the bedrooms
Jack 'n' Jill bathroom with under-floor heating
Bedroom 1 with views of the River Witham
Lady of the house
Bedroom 2, with views of the Fens
All the home comforts
Home from home
Downstairs shower room
Our lockhouse is ideal, whatever the weather!
Dining kitchen with views over the garden
A house filled with love, is a happy home
Comfortable lounge
Wood burning stove for cosy nights in
Lounge, overlooking the garden
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Holiday Rental House -
2 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 5
Lincoln, Lincolnshire, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 33 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
WendyReyn...
Mansfield, United Kingdom
1 review
“"WOW Mama....is MUCH better than I thought.....!!!"”
Reviewed April 9, 2013 for a stay in April 2013

Our third stay at the lovely Lock House. We have seen it grow and develop over the last year. Jeanette continues to add those homely touches to each room. This time we were accompanied by our 12 and 8 year old Grand Daughters. They loved the the house and garden and felt safe and relaxed there. They did take their "tablets" and portable DVDs which kept them entertained in the evenings, but they spent a lot of time out in the garden. We were able to visit the seaside at Skegness for a long afternoon. A stroll on the beach, fish and chips and rides at the amusement park. Another afternoon was filled with a visit to Lincoln shops, cathedral and castle. The title comment is what the 12 year old said after a quick exploration when we first arrived!!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The homeliness of the property and the peacefulness of the area
Travelling group: Extended Family
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Older travelers People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cheshire
Reviewed April 8, 2013 for a stay in April 2013

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Location - walks from the door.
Liked least: The workmen digging up the towpath nearby!
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Borehamwood
Reviewed March 6, 2013 for a stay in February 2013

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The location
Liked least: nothing really but a few more hooks/shelves in the bathroom would be useful
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Fiona M
Chichester, United Kingdom
1 review
“Relaxing and comfortable - a very peaceful place to be”
Reviewed November 28, 2012 for a stay in November 2012

I stayed at Bardney Lock House with my mother and my dog - and we all had a wonderful time. The cottage was really well-equipped and we were met by Dawn who kindly showed us round the property and explained everything. A thoughtfully-provided food parcel was a real treat too and gratefully received!

The log-burner was also a bonus, and was very easy to light - we needed it after all the rain! The cottage was very comfortable and it would have been very easy just to stay there all time, rather than sight-seeing. It is quite rural, but the boat-owners and local fishermen stop you feeling at all isolated.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The lovely bedding and bathrooms, and the cosiness
Liked least: The rain - but at least it didn't flood like a high % of England at the time!
Travelling group: Extended Family
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
samc297
Mansfield, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
43 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“CHILLED OUT RETREAT WITH LUXURY ACCOMODATION”
Reviewed October 21, 2012 for a stay in October 2012

we stayed here for the weekend with our 8 year old son and mojo the dog. What a place and how peaceful it is. We watched the boats go through the lock, we walked up and down the well sign posted footpaths and learnt so much about the place itself. Everyone we met had something to say about the lock keepers house and it's history, I felt honoured in a way to stay here because of all the history which surrounds it. Lincoln and Horncastle are in each direction and Bardney has the local things you need. The house itself has been modernised to a very high standard and no corners cut. Everything you need is there, it's warm and cosy, very comfortable and we can't wait to go back.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: cosy house with luxury
Liked least: nothinhg
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing