We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Another excellent stay”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of Barn Cottage

Barn Cottage Gardens and drive.
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Barn Cottage Gardens and drive.
 Lincoln Cathedral Barn Cottage with private garden and patio,to keep the little ones in or barbecuing etc .
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
48 reviews
Barn Cottage Gardens and drive.
Lincoln Cathedral
Barn Cottage with private garden and patio,to keep the little ones in or barbecuing etc .
Lounge/Living room
Lounge
Lounge/Living room
Farm House Kitchen
Kitchen
Very large farmhouse kitchen / dining area
Farm House KItchen At Xmas
Kitchen with farm house table and chesterfield suite,
Large kitchen porch,heated for those muddy boots etc.
Sprillal Staire case to master bedroom
Master bedroom looking towards ensuite bathroom
View towards stairs and dressing room.
Ladies dressing room also travel cot available.
Master bedroom en suite bathroom.
Bedroom no two with two single beds.
Downstairs massive ensuite shower.
Downstairs ensuite.
Double bedroom with sauna
Sauna.
Barn Cottage and private court yard
Double Hammock.
Traditional gravel drive.
An original farm well.
Garden and drive.
Castle Square Lincoln
Castle Square Lincoln
The Straight Lincoln
The Straight Lincoln
Barn cottage and garden
Barn Cottage parking
Lincoln Cathedral shown from Castle wall
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
3 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 6
Lincoln, Lincolnshire, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 48 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
tartanalD...
dunbar
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Another excellent stay”
Reviewed May 4, 2016 for a stay in May 2016

As previously reviewed this is an excellent place to stay,great clean cottage and perfect location for visiting my son in RAF my only issue is bedroom window could do with blackout blinds and explanation on heating works but these are very trivial things,will definitely use again.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Location
Liked least: Nothing
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
5 May 2016
Hi Alan ,
Thank you for the review, sorry I did not see you this time otherwise I would have explained about the window blinds. They do have them .
Next time I will show you.
Regards,
Simon
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mrs Pat J
1 review
“Well placed, very comfortable property”
Reviewed April 14, 2016 for a stay in April 2016

This is a lovely barn conversion, renovated really well. The gated area to the back of the group of 3 properties, gave a great sense of security to the outside space.
However, a competent maintenance man to repair some areas of the barn is needed, and with a good spring clean would increase its appeal. The spiral staircase to the first floor bedroom could be difficult for some people. There were only 4 of us (2 older couples), I'm not sure how the bedroom off the kitchen would have worked had there been another couple (no problem had there been an en suite).

We had a really comfortable and enjoyable stay.

Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rebecca W
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Absolutely Faultless! ”
Reviewed March 29, 2016 for a stay in March 2016
1
person found this review helpful

Myself, my Mam and my Auntie have just returned from a two night Easter break at Barn Cottage. The service from Simon and Kay was impeccable from the moment of booking until the moment we left. The cottage is set in a lovely area which is really easily accessible, and is central for all sorts of places and attractions. Just 20 minutes outside of Lincoln, it made it so easy to explore the beautiful city. The cottage feels so safe and secure because of the security gate at the front of the property, and knowing that Simon and Kay are just a phone call away.

The property itself absolutely exceeded our expectations on all counts. The kitchen is huge, an absolute dream, and has space to mingle and chill out, and every single cooking implement you could need! All of the bedrooms are beautifully done, the whole place is decorated and finished to an extremely high standard. A lovely garden area is just outside the large living room, with patio doors making it a fantastic space. Bathrooms are excellent and the cleanliness of the whole property was fab. Simon and Kay went above and beyond to make our stay special and relaxing, nothing was too much trouble and they made us feel so at ease. The pricing was excellent value for money and we are already planning our next trip back to our newly found and much needed "bolt hole".

We can't wait to be back!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
30 Mar 2016
Thank you for taking the time to write such an excellent and detailed review. We are happy you enjoyed your stay and look forward to seeing you in the future. Take care, Simon & Kay Minnitt
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
andrewpet...
Lincolnshire, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Fantastic”
Reviewed October 8, 2015 for a stay in September 2015
1
person found this review helpful

Excellent location a short drive from Lincoln in a lovely area.
Everyone was extremely friendly and accommodating and the cottage is excellent clean comfy and plenty of room for everyone.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gingdotta
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
81 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“Working Retreat - Excellent”
Reviewed September 14, 2015 for a stay in September 2015

We (my 6-person research team from the University of Nottingham) booked this place for two nights in order to have a writing retreat for some upcoming deadlines. It was good because it was an easy commute for most people, but allowed for 3 of my colleagues to stay, and was in a nice remote area that is peaceful and away from it all.

For staying: the cottage is beautiful, and actually quite spacious. A big kitchen/diner, a large lounge, 3 bedrooms (one in the hayloft bit), a garden, etc. I would definitely recommend it to people staying. There's also a smaller cottage within the same courtyard (as Barn Cottage and the owners house), so you could also book that very easily and go take a break with family and/or friends.

For working: it was very spacious - the 6 of us spread right out at times to either comfy chairs, the garden, or collaborating in the kitchen. it was very social, especially over meal times, but had space for people to go off solo. It was covered in wifi - its 6ish mb internet, which was fine for 6 of us working dropboxing and emailing etc, but would have struggled for 6xnetflix. Its an easy distance from Nottingham, and I imagine Lincoln etc. One of the better cottages ive seen for a collaborative working retreat.

The village is very quiet/small - looks like the pub was closed down now (unless there was another one we didnt see - we didnt really explore, we worked). So basically its a 5min drive to a nearby village for restaurants etc. Id highly recommend you do not go for Delhi Dining Indian food - not a great takeout.

Would definitely visit again for either work or leisure.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Other
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Karenkara...
Nottinghamshire, United Kingdom
1 review
“Great place to relax”
Reviewed August 22, 2015 for a stay in August 2015

just returned from barn cottage & can honestly say it was lovely. Went with family , 2 small girls & it was safe & secure for them to play. The cottage it self was beautiful & the sauna is a great touch.
Will be returning
The Bosworth family.

Travelling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tracey R
Lincolnshire, United Kingdom
1 review
“Superb”
Reviewed August 21, 2015 for a stay in June 2015

Wow what a pleasure it was to stay at Barn Cottage everything you need and more.The cottage was the best we have stayed in by far and it has certainly set the bar high. Great fenced garden for children and a lovely kitchen well equiped just great. The cottage was cleaned to a high standard and hosts very welcoming will be going back soon cannot fault it at all.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: the space the cottage offers
Liked least: leaving
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing