We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Apartment , fantastic view & location”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
L3 Living - The Merchant Quarters, Liverpool
slough
Level 5 Contributor
76 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Great Apartment , fantastic view & location”
Reviewed 22 February 2012

stayed here in february 2012 in a one bedroom apartment it was huge spacious and very comfortable, it was home from home, the only bad point about this was that the bed was toooo soft for my liking other than that it had a kitchen, nice leather corner sofa nice size tv, WiFi and it was free carparking was out side they charged 15 pounds for the night not bad for where it was the staff we met were super friendly and very helpful the power shower was great the view was fantastic of the mersey seeing all the ships and boats going by. I will stay here again and the price was great specially considering most of the other hotels were full.

Room Tip: get a river view well worth the extra 5 pounds
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank psb79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

233 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    86
    49
    35
    29
    34
See reviews for
46
68
6
13
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (50)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
53 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 January 2012

Had a 3 night stay at the apartments and I did not want to come home! We arrived at 6:30pm I had phoned beforehand to get the exact location and knew they were at the back end of the Malmaison and they explained all this on the phone. I telephoned when I arrived and Paul came down and took us up to the apart and showed us around and how everthing worked. He was really friendly and told us to call if we wanted anything.
We booked an apart for 3. I double onsuite and 1 single bedroom with all mod cons and amenities right down to shower gel conditioner ect. The decor was tastseful.
I found everything to be clean and actually lovely. Big leather corner sofa and dining area all set out.
It looked exactly like the pictures on the web but better,
It had a huge outside balcony-(we were there in winter galeforce winds leaving Glasgow) so we did'nt take ful advantage as you could in the summer. I enjoy Liverpool so have visited a number of times.
I have stayed previously in the Hilton, Signature Living apts and the Printworks, I can honestly say this was the best, I thought the apart may have been smaller but it was'nt the views both in the daytime and at night were awesome. You could see clearly for miles. I really wanted to stay on we agreed it has been the best apart we stayed in. We walked back to Lime St on the last day as it was a nice dry day, handy for Liverpool 1, Beatles Experience ect The best part was in the other aparts there was a lot of noise, revellers coming back and deliveries in the am woke us up this was not the case here. Real quiet.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank wwglasgo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gloucester, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
52 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 December 2011

Other reviewers have got it right: this is an odd setup, with the apartments being on just 3 floors of a much larger building, with an entrance that's hard to find, with no reception staff.

When we arrived various things weren't working properly, including wifi and a dangerously scalding-then-freezing shower, and this never got fixed during our 2 night stay.

However the biggest issue was that I managed to leave my wash bag behind. I realised as soon as I got home that evening, and called them straight away. They promised to look out for it. I called several further times but they hadn't found it. This was impossible: a largish bag with goods (including prescription medicines) must have been found instantly by housekeeping when doing the bathroom. Somebody on the team is a thief.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank jconline
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Liverpool hotels

Singapore, Singapore
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 December 2011

We stayed for 6 nights from 21st Dec 2011 to 27 Dec 2011, the views are great and the location is good. However our Penthouse had either been the the scene of a great party or a violent crime - everything was either broken or damaged, the soft furnishings were tatty and dirty, all of the doors were damaged in some way and the floors were dirty and damaged.
In addition to the above there is no drying machine provided so drying your clothes is a difficult prospect.
The heating of the building seemed to be jammed on full, it was so hot that we had to open all windows 24 hours a day in order to cool the place down - To get this in perspective I live in South East Asia and flew in from the tropics looking forward to a cold UK winter stay, I did not expect be drenched in sweat every night because of background heating problems.
I own and operate a 5 star self catering establishment in France so I don't make my comments lightly; this development has the potential to be a sound 4 star operation but is lacking across many areas, it's cheaply appointed and poorly maintained. It trades on it's 5 star views (Penthouse only), and 3 star location. Currently nothing else about this place is 4 star.

David Mooney (British) 21.12.11 - 27.12.11

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank David M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Clun, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 December 2011

We have just had an excellent three night stay at L3 Living Merchant Quarters in Liverpool. The location is first rate - only a very brief walk to the Liver Building, Albert Dock, Museum of Liverpool etc. No problems with ringing for entry and the young lady who showed us the flat was helpful and informative. Parking was just outside the door of the building, so very convenient but not exactly "secure" as stated on the website. The decor was a little tired, e.g. chips out of the shower tray, a blind stuck in position, failed bulb in a bedside lamp, poor repair to damage on the frame of the entrance door etc. However the flat (number 17 on the 8th floor) was spacious with good views of the river and an external terrace. Cookware was adequate but a complete lack of teaspoons, washing up liquid or tablets for the dishwasher, and washing up brush was disappointing. There was a small amount of instant coffee and sugar, but no tea or milk. With just a little more effort L3 Living would merit five stars. Despite these reservations we can recommend these apartments due to their excellent location. Do note that the windows do not open. This helps to keep the apartment free from traffic noise but does result in some constant noise from the ventilation system and could be a problem in hot weather. A "handling charge" of 3% for debit or credit cards is included in the terms and conditions but not immediately obvious when booking.

Room Tip: Flat 17 on the 8th floor has a good view and terrace for sunny days.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JandJ46
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Loch Lomond
2 reviews
Reviewed 6 September 2011

It took us 20 minutes to find the entrance because the whole facia of the building has scaffolding and construction workers. The apartment is basically a "building site ". The entrance floors were dusty & dirty and strewn with plastic floor covering. There is no reception area or anyone to meet you. We phoned the staff (the only way you can get hold of anyone is to phone 0845 numbers or a mobile but they are continually engaged). Wendy mysteriously appeared from the lift to meet us and showed us to the flat. We had paid for the penthouse on floor 11 - furnishings and design were fine but it was filthy!!! There were crumbs on the living room floor and cigarette burns on the footstool. The kitchen had been wiped down with a wet cloth and smear marks were all over the facings. There was a coating of dust all over the fittings in the living room. When we complained we were offered our money back to go and find somewhere else. As we had booked for 3 nights and had been travelling most of the day we refused and requested another apartment. We were told we would have to come back in an hour as the only other available apartment was still being cleaned (this was at 4 o’clock in the afternoon!!). We were given the keys to both apartments and told we could take our pick when we came back. The second apartment was certainly cleaner but let down by lack of attention to detail (e.g. the shower in the en-suite bedroom did not work, no hot water in the main bathroom in the morning so could only shower at night, the whole tap on the main bathroom sink moved when you turned it on/off, no hair dryer, no information pack with details of how to contact the staff without having to call from your mobile, no details of fire exits, no welcome pack (if you provide tea and coffee milk is also expected!), bins in the apartment were not emptied - we stayed for 3 days, rubbish started to smell but there was no information on where to take your rubbish. I certainly wouldn't recommend these apartments if you are looking for a luxury stay. We were not impressed. We didn't bother complaining- you got the distinct feel that it would have got you nowhere. So we decided to warn others through trip advisor.

On the plus side it is ideally located.

Room Tip: The bedroom windows dont open so can be a bit stuffy at night
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Anne C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oxford, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 August 2011

Another great weekend staying at Merchant Quarters. The apartment was very clean and tidy, with a great view of the River Mersey The new Museum of Liverpool and the Albert Dock are only 5 minutes walk away and the Liverpool 1 shopping centre is just a bit further on. No need to use the car or taxi as everything is close by. I noticed another review mentioned there was no reception, you can always pay a lot more money in other places just to say hello, good morning or good night to someone behind a desk. If needed L3 have someone available on the phone 24/7. We will be back again soon.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank gt03uk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Liverpool hotels
Posh Pads Liverpool ONE
#7 of 97 in Liverpool
813 reviews
Central Liverpool
Radisson Blu Hotel, Liverpool
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Malmaison Liverpool
#35 of 97 in Liverpool
2,700 reviews
Central Liverpool
L3 Living at Irwell Chambers
L3 Living at Irwell Chambers
#34 of 104 in Liverpool
52 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to L3 Living - The Merchant Quarters, Liverpool? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about L3 Living - The Merchant Quarters, Liverpool

Property: L3 Living - The Merchant Quarters, Liverpool
Address: William Jessop Way, Liverpool L3 1EJA, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Merseyside > Liverpool > Central Liverpool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #36 of 104 Speciality Lodging in Liverpool
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — L3 Living - The Merchant Quarters, Liverpool 3.5*
Number of rooms: 40
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia and Hotels.com so you can book your L3 Living - The Merchant Quarters, Liverpool reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
l3 Living - The Merchant Quarters, Liverpool Hotel Liverpool

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing