We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Budgetique?”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Heywood House Hotel
Ranked #16 of 97 Hotels in Liverpool
Certificate of Excellence
Ripon, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Budgetique?”
Reviewed 24 April 2012

A hotel that lives up to its billing - a cut above budget, but still for a reasonable price. A not very impressive entrance next to a slightly dodgy looking pub did not bode well, but once inside the hotel, this is forgiven. The room was good, although their was a distinct lack of the ipod speaker dock promised. Whilst it was rather a strange shape, the room was reasonably large and the en-suite very good (although not quite as clean as it could have been). Coffee and tea facilities were adequate, although the provision of a fridge and fresh milk would have lifted it into 5* rating. The bar and restaurant were excellent - the continental breakfast was one of the best I've had and dinner was fab (especially as it was half price for those staying in the hotel).

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Treborg64
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HeywoodHH, General Manager at Heywood House Hotel, responded to this review, 25 May 2012
Thank you for your review. We are glad that you found the expense of the hotel suitable for you. We regret to hear that you didn’t find the outside of the Hotel very impressive but it is a listed building since 1799, therefore we are not able to do anything with the front area of the hotel. We are pleased to hear that you enjoyed your meals in the Noble House Restaurant next door and found the discount for it extra special. We do hope that one day you will stay with us again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,529 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    873
    488
    126
    27
    15
See reviews for
114
910
48
123
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (201)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Bucks
Level 5 Contributor
41 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 April 2012

This was a really reasonably priced hotel in a good location. Lovely decor but the air con was so noisy, even though we didn't have it on! We had to move rooms in the middle of the night as I couldn't sleep for the noise. It wasn't constant, it kept pausing and we hoped it would eventually stop but it didn't so the night porter agreed to move us to the room next door (which I think was actually a Plush room, instead of our former Comfy Room). I couldn't see a great deal of difference to justify the price difference - bathrobes, 2 bottles of water, and a nicer duvet - but we were just happy for the peace and quiet!

I would stay here again but would ask for a quieter room and, if I experienced the noise again, ask to change a bit sooner!

Room Tip: Beware the aircon!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank joyjoy5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HeywoodHH, General Manager at Heywood House Hotel, responded to this review, 25 May 2012
Thank you for your review. We are glad that you will consider returning here and found that we are located in a good location. If there is interference in the room we will try our best to rectify the problem but if it is not possible we will locate the guest to a different room if there is one available. The price difference between a Comfy room and Plush room is only £20 therefore, this involves bathrobes, water, extra toiletries and a bath as well as a shower. We do apologise for the disturbance of your stay but we hope it was an overall enjoyable experience.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
50 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 April 2012

As a previous reviewer says, budgetique is a very good description of this hotel. We loved it, from the minute we arrived until we left. All the staff we met were polite, friendly and attentive. Our room was a plush twin room with 2 single beds made into a double so the bed was huge, but space was tight in the rest of the room. The modernly decorated room and bathroom were spotlessly clean. We didn't eat in the restaurant at night but the breakfast was amazing and certainly set us up for the day. The hotel is centrally located. We walked from Liverpool Lime Street train station (approx 10mins), it's close to the shopping at Liverpool One, 5 minutes from the Albert Docks and close to Matthew Street, home of the Cavern. If you're looking for central friendly clean accommodation for you city break and don't want a gym/pool in your hotel then this hotel is ideal. The lift was a bit of an experience, but we always survived. There was a noise from water pipes, and a loud screaching noise from pipes (possibly when another room had flushed their loo) but it wasn't enough to spoil our break. Unfortunately, the weather wasn't kind to us on our break but we were able to make good use of the hotel's big umbrella..

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank db1366
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HeywoodHouseHotel, Front Office Manager at Heywood House Hotel, responded to this review, 9 May 2012
Thank you for your review. We are pleased that you enjoyed your stay at The Heywood House Hotel and will consider coming back to stay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Southampton
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 April 2012

I stayed here for one night and don't have any real complaints. I paid alot of money to stay here for one night as most of the hotels in the area seemed to be full for some reason bumping up prices in all Hotels in the area. For the money I paid I felt the Room was on the small side so wasn't too sure why I paid extra for the deluxe option, a more spacious room would have been expected if you pay more. The only thing you seem to get extra are some bathrobes. Room was imaculate which would be expected for the money paid. Good location, freindly receptionists and had a nice stay.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Trip2hotels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HeywoodHouseHotel, Front Office Manager at Heywood House Hotel, responded to this review, 9 May 2012
Thank you for your review. We are pleased you enjoyed your stay, even if you feel you did pay over the odds for it. Unfortunately when the city centre Hotels are in high demand then the rooms do go for a higher price. However, our Hotel is a boutique hotel therefore, is a smaller hotel then the larger branded hotels. However, we do pride ourself on the cleanliness of the hotel and customer service provided. We are glad you enjoyed your stay here and we hope to see you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leeds
Level 5 Contributor
56 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 April 2012

We stayed for 1 night for my boyfriend's birthday and we were both very happy with the hotel. Budgetique is a very good description and so long as you go with this in mind you cannot be disappointed. The public areas of the hotel are very well presented and the room was immaculate. I have to say a big thank you to all of the staff for helping with just a little suprise of balloons, birthday cake and rose petals in the room. That said all staff that we encountered were relaxed, friendly and professional (coming from someone that can be difficult to please due to working with the public myself!). The lift was a little scary but all in all we had a fab time. The weather was appalling so we could not make use of our balcony but it gave a nice blast of fresh air whilst having our coffee in the morning. The hotel is in a great location and we made use of the discount off parking at Liverpool One. I will happily recommend this hotel.

Room Tip: Room 304 is a plush room with balcony, just lovely!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JaffleLady
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HeywoodHouseHotel, Front Office Manager at Heywood House Hotel, responded to this review, 9 May 2012
Thank you for your review. We hare happy that you had a good time and enjoyed your stay with us. We are also glad we got to make that stay a little bit more special with a birthday surprise and enjoyed setting up the room for your arrival. Im glad the weather didn’t dampen your experience and we hope to see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reading, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
101 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 April 2012

Been trying a few hotels in this part of Liverpool as I'm there regularly for work. This is the best so far. Really good midweek rates via Lastminute. Lovely decor. Easy to get to (10/15 min walk from Lime St).

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank markfeet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HeywoodHouseHotel, Front Office Manager at Heywood House Hotel, responded to this review, 9 May 2012
Thank you for your review. Its great to hear that you have favoured us over other hotels in the city centre. We look forward to having you stay with us again in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Surabaya, Indonesia
Level 6 Contributor
69 reviews
52 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 April 2012

We stayed at this hotel for 2 nights (for GBP60 per night), and we enjoyed it so much. The staffs are friendly yet helpful. I asked for an electrical adaptor and they gave it right away. Our room is not big but very nice and modern, but there is no wifi connection in the room. They provide coffee, tea, and cookies in the room. The double bed is quite small but it's so comfy. There is a nice bar beside the hotel which is always full at night but we did not hear anything from our room at all. The location, like everybody says, could not be better. From the Lime Street station you could reach this place for about 10 minutes walking, and very close to Cavern Quarter, Liverpool One and Albert Dock.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank susanpradja
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HeywoodHouseHotel, Front Office Manager at Heywood House Hotel, responded to this review, 9 May 2012
Thank you for your review. Its nice to hear that you enjoyed your stay here and found the staff helpful. We pride ourselves on our great customer service and are always willing to make a stay as comfortable as possible. We are sorry that you find the no service of WIFI a disadvantage. However, we do have free internet connection in the room and do have WIFI in the reception area if the internet was needed. We are grateful that you have pointed out how quiet the hotel is and how good the location is. We hope to see you again next time you visit Liverpool.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Liverpool hotels
The Nadler Liverpool
#2 of 97 in Liverpool
4,012 reviews
Hotel Indigo Liverpool
#11 of 97 in Liverpool
2,378 reviews
Central Liverpool
30 James Street, Home of the Titanic
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Central Liverpool
Ibis Styles Liverpool Centre Dale Street
Central Liverpool
Z Hotel Liverpool
Z Hotel Liverpool
#18 of 97 in Liverpool
1,377 reviews
Jurys Inn Liverpool
#21 of 97 in Liverpool
1,578 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Heywood House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Heywood House Hotel

Property: Heywood House Hotel
Address: 11 Fenwick Street, Liverpool L2 7LS, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Merseyside > Liverpool
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #16 of 97 Hotels in Liverpool
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Heywood House Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 35
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated in the heart of Liverpool, the Heywood House Hotel combines original elegance with modern luxury. Carefully restored from what was the first bank in Liverpool, The Heywood House Hotel delicately blends old with new.Since its inauguration in March 2010, the Heywood House Hotel has built up a faithful following of discerning guests to Liverpool. Comfortable Hypnos beds, sumptuous fabrics and invigorating showers ensure you enjoy rest, relaxation and rejuvenation in equal measures! These luxuriously appointed rooms feature complimentary high-speed Internet access, iPod docking stations and all the comforts of sleek, chic and tasteful accommodation. Other in-room facilities include 32-inch flat screen satview TV, workdesk, welcome tray, safe, hairdryer, iron & ironing board. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity.ca, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your Heywood House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing