We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (1,808)
Filter reviews
1,808 results
Traveller rating
733
727
254
52
42
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
733
727
254
52
42
Show reviews that mention
All reviews echo arena albert dock scrambled egg and beans great location hi express exposed brickwork beatles museum pay and display converted warehouse big wheel liver building breakfast was included city centre car park no air conditioning multi storey good size
Filter
Updating list...
313 - 318 of 1,808 reviews
Reviewed July 27, 2017

We have just returned from this hotel. The hotel was clean, and the bedding very clean and crisp. The towels were changed each day we were their. Room was very spacious. We had a room over looking the dock,on a night the view was lovely.

Room tip: Looking over the docks.
Date of stay: July 2017
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank Edith H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HIEXAlbertDock, Guest Service Manger at Holiday Inn Express Liverpool-Albert Dock, responded to this reviewResponded July 28, 2017

Thank you for your lovely 5* review of the hotel.
I am pleased to see that you enjoyed your stay with us.
We are very lucky being on the Albert Dock as we have some fabulous views of each side of the hotel.
We look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel or our brand in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed July 26, 2017

I stayed here overnight, on Business. The staff were great and very friendly. You access the hotel via lift as it’s in what seems to be an old bond building or similar.
My room was well away from the main area and it had a dual aspect looking out to the Ferris wheel on the front and onto another hotel next door. I particularly like the way the vaulted ceiling's were keep open to expose the brick work. The corridors were wide enough to hold a part in.
Breakfast the next morning was included and there were the usual hot and cold selections.
Beware of the parking its in a multi-storey car park across the docks and is very expensive to park overnight. Around £13 but you do get a discount of a few quid if you get the hotel to validate your ticket. I had a great night’s sleep and a great breakfast, rooms were clean and tidy what else can you ask for

Date of stay: April 2017
  • Trip type: Travelled on business
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Gerryriddler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HIEXAlbertDock, Guest Service Manager at Holiday Inn Express Liverpool-Albert Dock, responded to this reviewResponded July 28, 2017

Thank you for your lovely 5* review.
I am please to see that you have enjoyed your recent stay with us. We are lucky to be in the Grade 1 listed building that we are in as this allows us to have the original features of its former life.
I will pass along your kind words to the team.
We look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel or our IHG brand in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed July 26, 2017 via mobile

Great hotel and location. Lovely rooms kept the character of the building. Staff very helpful. Would stay again. Great city and loads of attractions nearby. Very close to Liverpool One. Breakfast included ideal for younger ones to stock up for sightseeing.

Date of stay: July 2017
Trip type: Travelled with family
Thank Kerry B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HIEXAlbertDock, Guest Service Manager at Holiday Inn Express Liverpool-Albert Dock, responded to this reviewResponded July 28, 2017

Thank you for your lovely 5* review of the hotel.
I am pleased to see that you have enjoyed your stay with us. We are lucky to be in the Grade 1 Listed building that we are in as this allows us to have all the original features of its past life.
We look forward to welcoming you back to the ihg brand in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed July 22, 2017

We stayed at the Holiday Inn, Albert Dock, Liverpool for a family gathering. First you have to find the hotel if you want to drop baggage off before parking.

Enter the old dock complex via Queen Wharf and proceed to the roundabout. Turn left and then at the end of the street turn right and follow down to the river. The road turns right so follow it along past the Arena until the road turns right. The Holiday Inn is now to your left. There are a few parking spaces so you can unload. Go into the hotel and through the righthand door then turn left to the lifts. Go up to the 1st floor, leave the lift and head for the doors at 11 o'clock and reception is in there. The reception staff are friendly and helpful and will give you the hotel information.

Parking, there is street parking but it is pricey. There is a multi-storey car park but to get there by car, retrace your route until you get back to the roundabout and go straight on, the car park is in front of you. The hotel will supply a discount voucher towards the parking charge. One thing to note, on the Sunday morning when we left the Police were stopping all cars and breathalising the driver so be aware and be sensible you cannot avoid their location!

The hotel rooms are spacious and depending on which room you get determines your view. Our room looked east towards the cathedral, my sister had a view of the river. Outside our room was a Beatles museum playing their music all day. I'm not a fan, you maybe!

The rooms have decent sized beds, tv, small storage area, desk and chairs. The bathroom is plenty big enough with a shower bath, toilet and sink, the usual stuff.

The hotel was very hot and with no A/C we had the windows open 24/7. All areas were hot.

The reception, breakfast room and bar are all in the same location. Breakfast is self service with hot food consisting of bacon, sausage, scrambled egg and beans. There is the usual other items bread, croissants, cerial, cold meats and cheese. There are fruit juice? dispencers, tea and coffee machines.

The bar serves the usual mix of drinks but no real ale which hotels don't seem capable of keeping.

The hotel is a short walk from the Pier Head where the Mersey, Isle of Man and Cruise ships go from. There are all the amenities around the Albert Dock and the Liverpool Museum. There are plenty of food and drink places in this area but remember they are likely to be a bit more expensive.

The start of the city proper is about 10 minutes walk where you will find the main shopping area, pubs, restaurants plus the sights like the Liver Building, Anglican and Catholic Cathederals and other places of interest.

There is a tour available on the Mersey Ferries where you can get off at 2 different locations and view the sites before moving on.

Liverpool is close to the Wirral, Seaton, Aintree ( of Grand National fame), Southport, Formby (location for red squirrels) and even Knotty Ash.

Liverpool is not Britains most beautiful city but is an interesting place to visit.

Room tip: River views are probably the best.
Date of stay: June 2017
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank Alan T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HIEXAlbertDock, Guest Service Manager at Holiday Inn Express Liverpool-Albert Dock, responded to this reviewResponded July 24, 2017

Thank you for your detailed review of our hotel. We are lucky being in our location as we are close to all main attractions and a short walk to Liverpool City Centre. We do have some beautiful views from each of our widows that have a different view of our great city and landmarks.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed July 19, 2017

Very comfortable, spacious room overlooking Albert Dock. We were here to celebrate being together for 25 years so requested the special occasion package so we had wine and chocolates in the room. Plenty to do in the area around the hotel and just a short walk to the shops. The breakfast is a bit basic but you can help yourself to as much as you like. Definitely worth considering this hotel if you are planning a short break to liverpool

Room tip: We asked for a special occasion package so had a very spacious room overlooking the Albert Dock
Date of stay: July 2017
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank C7829WVjanet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HIEXAlbertDock, Guest Service Manager at Holiday Inn Express Liverpool-Albert Dock, responded to this reviewResponded July 20, 2017

Thank you for your lovely review. I am pleased to see that you enjoyed your recent stay with us.
We are lucky to be in the location that we are as we are close to all main attractions in the city centre, and lovely views out of our windows.
We look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel or our IHG brand in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews