We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Dont expect too much!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Devonshire House Hotel
Ranked #72 of 100 Hotels in Liverpool
Reviewed 7 May 2012

I have read some other reviews about this hotel and see some paid only £30ish for a double room. We paid £97!! We were expecting something really nice for this. The pictures on the website made it look lovely. Unfortunately it is an old convent that hasnt really been modernised much! The bed was rock hard, it was boiling hot and we could only open the windows about 2 inches. The breakfast was awful and we had to ask for a fried egg, they made this willingly but stated to keep it quiet else 'everyone would want one'! The hotel is on a busy road - not what we imagined at all. Would not be complaining if we had only paid £30 but £97! We were robbed.

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank MrsBrightside23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DevonshireHouse, Revenue Manager at Devonshire House Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 10 May 2012

Dear Mrs Brightside23

Thank you for your comments regarding your recent experience with us. We appreciate your feedback,.

We do acknowledge the fact that a limited amount of rooms have not been updated yet but plans are in place to address these over the next 12 months. The rates are set in line with demand and can change at anytime

The Devonshire House Hotel is still very good value for money in comparison to similar standard of hotels in Liverpool on a Saturday night.

We can though assure you our rooms have very good levels of cleanliness. I wish you had contacted us directly during your stay in order that we could have had a chance to rectify the issues raised in your review.

Our commitment to investing in our property will continue this year with renovations to our bedrooms, banquet and conference areas.

Our breakfast has been expanded to include more options and is now more closely monitored to ensure that we to satisfy all our guests.

Kind Regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (839)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

665 - 671 of 839 reviews

Reviewed 6 May 2012

Had an overnight stay here and paid £35 for a double room. Fantastic price for what was on offer.
This is a building seeped in history and you can tell that at one time it would have been a top hotel.

It's a little rough around the edges now, and it within the budget end of the market but still with a grand hotel ethos, so all the little extras you get with a top hotel.

Excellent location in terms of being close enough to the city centre that it takes about 5 min drive in, but not close enough that you get all the noise.

Would recommend a stay but be mindful of the price you're paying, anything over £35 / 40 without breakfast would be too much in my opinion

Room Tip: Would recommend a stay but be mindful of the price you're paying, anything over £35 / 40 without...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank T D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DevonshireHouse, Revenue Manager at Devonshire House Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 10 May 2012

Dear T D

Thank you for taking the time to write your review of our property, your comments are very much valued.

We really appreciate your comments Our staff members take their roles in our industry very seriously and try, every day, to provide that quality customer service, that our guests expect.

Our committment to investing in our property will continue this summer with further renovations

Thank you again, and we look forward to seeing you on your next visit to Liverpool

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 May 2012

Stayed here recently for a weekend break up from London. For what we paid we weren't expecting much but we were so so so impressed with what we got for our small amount of money.
The rooms were spotlessly clean, brightly decorated, modern and very comfortable. There was plenty of wardrobe space for all us girls and the bathroom was huge :-). The one thing that made our stay even more memorable were the BRILLIANT staff, they were so helpful and friendly, especially one lad called Tom.We couldnt figure out how to turn our radiator on and one call to reception and he was there in a flash. He was very polite and friendly and a real credit to the hotel. Breakfast was also lovely with a large variety of yoghurt cereal toast tea coffee juice and full english options. There is a large car park with plenty of spaces for all and public transport links of a bus stop just across the road. Liverpool town centre was literally 10 mins on a bus and we found the location of the hotel just another great thing about it. If you are looking for amazing value for money and a real scouse welcome then stay here!

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank K8HLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DevonshireHouse, Revenue Manager at Devonshire House Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 10 May 2012

Dear KH8London

Thank you very much for your review. I am so happy to hear that you have enjoyed your stay with us! It is always a pleasure to pass on your great feedback to all staff especially Tom. Reviews like yours, motivates us to maintain and improve our level of service and hospitality and keeps us focused on achieving the highest guest satisfaction. I am glad that the spacious rooms and bathroom has been to your liking. It is great to hear that you had a wonderful stay, and it is fantastic to hear that we met your expectations in regards to the location of the hotel! We all look forward to welcoming you back again soon!
Best Regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 May 2012

My wife and I had a one night stay at the Devonshire, although the hotel is in need of refurbishment it was very clean, the staff very helpful and pleasant and the gardens well looked after, we had a meal in the restaurant, which is one of the rooms that looked as if it had been recently refurbished with a pleasant view of the gardens, the food we had for dinner was superb, well presented, and well served, as was the breakfast, for the price we paid we were very pleased.

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank YorkshireTerry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DevonshireHouse, Revenue Manager at Devonshire House Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 15 May 2012

Dear Guest

We always appreciate the positive comments left by the most important people in our world; our guests.

I am glad that you enjoyed your stay with us, and that our staff have gone above and beyond in terms of service.

Renovations are ongoing so that we may provide the very best in comfort to our customers.
Thank you again, and we look forward to seeing you in the near future.

Yours in Hospitality,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 April 2012

I cannot agree with some of the reviews I have read about this place. It's not the Hilton but that's not what you are paying for. For the amount we paid to stay (£30) I was impressed as we had a spacious, very clean room and the staff were absolutely amazing. It was our first visit but we were made to feel really welcome and we can't wait to go back with friends for some of the events they hold at the hotel. There was no smell in our room and the carpet was fine. I think the place is real value for money and just expect what you pay for, you'll come away impressed!

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank 345CarolineT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DevonshireHouse, Revenue Manager at Devonshire House Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 3 May 2012

Dear Caroline,

Thank you for taking the time to write such a kind review of the hotel here on Trip Advisor.

I am extremely delighted you found us value for money, with friendly and helpful staff. I will pass on your kind words to the team It was great to read our staff assisted you. We are very proud of our customer service.

Again thank you for your review and I look forward to seeing you back at the hotel in the near future.

Best Regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 April 2012

this was one of worst hotel rooms I have ever stayed in. not a nice area, place is v run down. Staff were nice but would.never stay there again!

Stayed: April 2012, travelled on business
1  Thank Jennifer D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DevonshireHouse, Revenue Manager at Devonshire House Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 27 April 2012

Thank you for leaving your feedback on TripAdvisor. I am genuinely sorry our hotel did not meet your expectations.

We are currently undergoing a refurbishment programme for all our bedrooms in the Hotel.

Thank you again for your feedback and I hope you will return and give us a chance to redeem ourselves.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 April 2012

Picked this hotel when I was looking for an inexpensive room for the Grand National. The staff was friendly and the price was right, but the room was very worn. The carpet was threadbare, paint was peeling, the shower was dirty, and the room utilitarian. The bed was fine and there was internet in the lobby and the bar. I didn't try the restaurant. There is a bus station outside the hotel that runs downtown about every half an hour.

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank easyeric601
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DevonshireHouse, Revenue Manager at Devonshire House Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 30 April 2012

Thank you for leaving your feedback on TripAdvisor. I am sorry our hotel did not meet your expectations.

The condition of your room has been addressed with our Head Housekeeper and all staff will be re-trained. I am sorry for the inconvenience this caused you.

Thank you again for your feedback and I hope to welcome you back in the near future.

Kind regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Liverpool hotels
Beech Mount Hotel
#76 of 100 in Liverpool
625 reviews
The Dolby Hotel Liverpool
#38 of 100 in Liverpool
1,281 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Travelodge Liverpool Docks
#45 of 100 in Liverpool
167 reviews
Campanile Liverpool
#70 of 100 in Liverpool
1,044 reviews
Sefton Park
The Mountford Hotel
The Mountford Hotel
#32 of 100 in Liverpool
581 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Devonshire House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Devonshire House Hotel

Address: 293-297 Edge Lane, Liverpool L7 9LD, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Merseyside > Liverpool
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #72 of 100 Hotels in Liverpool
Price Range: $59 - $140 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Devonshire House Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 54
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Devonshire House is known for its friendly service, welcoming atmosphere and attention to detail. Set in one and half acres of landscaped gardens and ideally situated on A5047 just over 1 mile from both Liverpool City Centre and the M62 Motorway. Our customers will enjoy fine hospitality during their stay in one of our 54 spacious bedrooms. We offer affordable accommodation, free guest parking, friendly personal service and helpful staff. Our amenities include the Lounge Bar, and the Four Seasons restaurant. The hotel has a number of function rooms equipped for conferences, banquets and weddings. Our professional team is on hand and ready to cater for your individual requirements.Liverpool and Everton Football Clubs are a few minutes drive from the Devonshire House Hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Devonshire House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Devonshire Hotel Liverpool

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing