We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good but great”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hard Days Night Hotel
Ranked #26 of 98 Hotels in Liverpool
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 6 April 2012

Booked this hotel as my Mum is a huge Beatles fan and it was a treat for her.

We arrived early and was checked in quickly and no issue with being early. Mh room request had not been given but it was pointed out that this was on a request still a disappointment. The twin beds had no gap in between whatsoever !! The beds are very comfortable and the bedding and towelling are of a very good quality . The outdoor space ie balcony in our room was nice but not worth the extra cost. The bathroom wa poorly designed and getting in and out of the shower was difficult. Toiletries are of good quality no bathrobes which I was surprised about.

The bar in this hotel is a joke and it was so annoying as an experience. Stood at the bar then told to take a seat, then has to ask for a menu, ordered drinks wong order came, ordered a second one was different to the first waited ages for the bill total joke! Drinks were more expensive than some London hotels Nd therefore should be much slicker service than this.

Breakfast was good the next day although poached egg came on cold plates and the toast was bulk done and left under a heat lamp - not good.

I would have given this feedback on checkout but wasn't even asked how my stay was.

Would I go back ? No. Would I recommend it ? Only if you want up see the Beatles theme

Lastly get your doorman to open the door I assume thats what he's paid to do ?

  • Stayed: April 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank DeanMadge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (3,078)
There are newer reviews for Hard Days Night Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2,453 - 2,459 of 3,078 reviews

Reviewed 5 April 2012

just returned from 2 days in Liverpool staying in this quirky hotel.My hubby is 60 next month so as part of a fun packed few months I booked a stay in this hotel due to hubby always liking the Beatles. When I told him I had booked this hotel I could see he was a little worried and has he has since told me believed it would be something very tacky. What a lovely hotel very tastefully done. We had a picture of Paul McCartney in our room....perfect our favorite Beatle and all in the bar were very tastefull photos and newspaper articles, there was also Beatle music being played in the bar and reception area....some popular ones as well as some less popular all played at a nice level of sound.
Breakfast was a little disappointing.....small plates serve yourself some of it being a little cold....hubbys bacon on 2nd morning appeared to be warmed up from day before.
Location of hotel is excellent right in the centre with the carvern directly behind hotel. there are plenty of bars like the living room very close by as well as many restaurants. Enjoyed our first trip to Liverpool plenty to do and see

Room Tip: ask for one with a photo of your favorite beatle
  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank sashyMidlands
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mike57d, General Manager at Hard Days Night Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 6 April 2012

I am glad you enjoyed your visit to Liverpool and especially our Hotel.I was disappointed you felt breakfast was not up to scratch but can with out doubt assure you that no items are re-heated from the day before.Thank you for taking the time to review our Hotel.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 April 2012

The afternoon tea here is absolutely gorgeous. The fresh warm scones, the clotted cream, the cakes, everything. But the service is often a let down sadly, waiting ages even when it's quiet, waitress not bringing menus until we go over and ask. If they improve the service, it would be 5 out of 5, because the food is wonderful.

  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Service
2  Thank seahorsesparkle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mike57d, General Manager at Hard Days Night Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 5 April 2012

I am so glad you enjoy our afternoon teas so much and pleased you find the quality of food to such a high standard. Your point regarding service is disappointing but please rest assured we work on service standards daily. thank you for taking the time and trouble to review.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 April 2012

Recently stayed at this hotel for one night with my husband and two children (aged 4 and 1). Had a great time, the staff were excellent and couldn't help enough. We arrived at 10.30am and called on route to see if we could check into our room which they sorted for us. The room was spacious and at the back so noise wasn't a huge problem.
Great location and easy to find. Wish we'd stayed another night.

Room Tip: Ask for a room at the back of hotel which is quieter as not on main road.
  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Chez5678
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mike57d, General Manager at Hard Days Night Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 5 April 2012

So glad you and your family enjoyed your stay. I hope we have the pleasure of seeing you again and thank you for taking the time ti review us.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 March 2012

I booked to take my mum to the hotel for afternoon tea. When we got there they did not have our booking down but said it was okay as it wasn't too busy. We were asked if we wanted our tea with the sandwiches/cakes etc to which we said yes. The tea then arrived and the afternoon tea arrived 30 minutes later! The sandwiches were plain to say the least, the scone and cream were lovely but the homemade cakes were a real disappointment - the fruit cake, and what I think was coconut cake, were stale as though they had been left out all day. Would stay at the hotel as it looks lovely but would not eat there again!

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Fozzy09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mike57d, General Manager at Hard Days Night Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 3 April 2012

Thankyou for taking the time and trouble to give your feed back however disappointing.We are very proud of our afternoon teas and they are very popular.Please rest assured your experience was very much the exception rather than the rule and would urge you to come back and give us another try at some time in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 March 2012

We stayed here as a treat given we are both huge Beatles Fans, and it was our first trip to Liverpool.

The service was outstanding, staff were very helpful in finding parking and to find where we wanted to go.

We didn't eat at the restaurant, but it looked quite lovely.

The fit out of the hotel is (obviously) Beatles inspired, with all sorts of quirky memorabilia and each room has a different Beatles story. Rooms were well appointed, super comfortable beds and really clean.

The location is fantastic - short walk to Albert Dock, plenty of food places close by and shopping, and just literally around the corner from The Cavern.

It is expensive, but well worth it for a treat. I'm really glad we stayed here, made our trip to Liverpool that bit more special.

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Europe-travellers11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 March 2012

Stayed at Hard Days Night Hotel for one night with my wife,but could have stayed much longer.
We chose the Rock and Soul package which consists of bed breakfast evening meal plus free entry to The Beatles Museum at Albert Dock and Elvis and Us exhibition at Pier Head both excellent.The hotel itself is top quality, we had a room on the top floor ( 5th ) room number 508 with a balcony at the front of the building. The room had tea and coffee, hair dryer iron and board, and furnished to top level. The meals at the hotels Blakes restaurant were also excellent along with the service in the restaurant and the hotel. We would recommend and without doubt stay here again..... P.S...The Beatles theme is not in your face and is done with class.

Room Tip: Our room was 5th floor front of building and was excellent.
  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank mapaly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Liverpool hotels
Hotel Indigo Liverpool
#12 of 98 in Liverpool
2,452 reviews
Central Liverpool
Aloft Liverpool
Aloft Liverpool
#20 of 98 in Liverpool
1,075 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Central Liverpool
30 James Street, Home of the Titanic
The Nadler Liverpool
#2 of 98 in Liverpool
4,146 reviews
Malmaison Liverpool
#36 of 98 in Liverpool
2,762 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hard Days Night Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hard Days Night Hotel

Address: Central Buildings 41 North John Street, Liverpool L2 6RR, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Merseyside > Liverpool
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#11 Family Hotel in Liverpool
#12 Romantic Hotel in Liverpool
#12 Luxury Hotel in Liverpool
#22 Business Hotel in Liverpool
Price Range: $133 - $412 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hard Days Night Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 110
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hard Days Night Hotel Beatles Boutique Hotel Liverpool. A'Fab Four'star Liverpool hotel. Hard Days Night Hotel is the worlds only Beatles inspired hotel, combining the highest quality facilities in a truly unique environment. Located at the heart of Liverpool's 'Beatles Quarter' offering luxurious accommodation and exclusive event space with a twist. Housed in the magnificent Grade II listed Central Buildings, dating back to 1884, the beautifully restored hotel is steeped in history. All 110 rooms are individually designed around the contours of the original building and elegantly furnished with specially commissioned Beatles-inspired artwork adorning the walls. The hotel's restaurant Blake's, named after the celebrated Sergeant Pepper album cover and artist Sir Peter Blake, serves up a range of classic British dishes along with home cooked favourites. Bar Four offers guests a high-end destination cocktail bar, open to all who enjoy that little extra. Sitting adjacent to the world famous Cavern Club where the Beatles rose to fame, and an array of the city's famous Beatles landmarks, the hotel not only offers the perfect getaway for visitors, but is much loved by art lovers, music lovers, and food lovers alike.A superb Wedding and private party hotel. There are places to remember and then there is the Hard Days Night Hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity.ca, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hard Days Night Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hard Days Night Liverpool
Hotel Hard Days Night

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing