We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Afternoon Tea”

The Promenade at The Dorchester
Ranked #204 of 25,458 Restaurants in London
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$0 - US$63
Cuisines: International, British
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special Occasion Dining, Business meetings, Romantic
Dining options: Breakfast, After-hours, Reservations
Neighbourhood: Mayfair
Description: Frequently referred to as 'the drawing room of Mayfair' since opening in 1931, The Promenade is the heart of The Dorchester in London. Open all day for informal dining, The Promenade has an international menu for breakfast, lunch and dinner. A London institution for British afternoon tea, experience The Promenade's seasonal calendar of specialty teas and pastries, accompanied by a resident pianist. Enjoy the live music from 1.15pm each day and unwind at one of the best restaurants in London. Afternoon Tea is served five times daily: 1pm, 2pm, 3.15pm, 4.30pm and 5.30pm Dress Code: The Dorchester dress code is 'smart casual' and we respectfully ask guests visiting the hotel to refrain from wearing baseball caps, beanie hats, ripped jeans, sportswear, trainers, flip-flops and shorts in our restaurants and bars.
Reviewed October 12, 2018 via mobile

Thank you Paco and Shyam for making our Anniversary a fabulous experience. We enjoyed our afternoon tea, everything was perfect. First we had a cocktail in the bar before we entered The Promenade for our tea. The surroundings were stunning.

Thank Helen D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Russell-Platt-TDL, Director of Food and Beverage at The Promenade at The Dorchester, responded to this reviewResponded 5 weeks ago

Dear Helen D,
Thank you for your wonderful review. It sounds like you truly enjoyed your visit and made the most of your dining experience with us which gives me great pleasure. It is also great to know that we were able to create lasting memories on your anniversary and thank you for your complimentary feedback for Paco and Shyam. Please be assured that I will share your kind words with them and the rest of the team and in the meantime, we truly hope to welcome you and your partner back to The Dorchester in the not too distant future.

Kindest regards,
Russell Platt
Director of Food and Beverage, The Dorchester, Dorchester Collection

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,209)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

12 - 16 of 1,210 reviews

Reviewed October 10, 2018

We had the most incredible server named Redenn when we came to high tea last week. It was our first time in London and he treated us like Queens. The food was exemplary, the decor immaculate, and Redenn elevated the experience to an all new height. Please let his manager know how incredible he was and what an exquisite time we had because of him.

    • Service
Thank alexccrockett
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Russell-Platt-TDL, Director of Food and Beverage at The Promenade at The Dorchester, responded to this reviewResponded 5 weeks ago

Dear alexccrockett,
Thank you for taking the time to share your afternoon tea experience at The Promenade. I am delighted that you were able to enjoy each aspect of your visit and it is also great to read that you felt well cared for by Redenn and the rest of the team. Please be assured that I will certainly share your feedback with him and the rest of the team who were delighted to have you dine with us. In the meantime, we look forward to welcoming you back to The Dorchester on your next visit to London.

Kindest regards,
Russell Platt
Director of Food and Beverage, The Dorchester, Dorchester Collection

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed October 8, 2018

We did the Tea + Champagne and it was a lovely experience. Tea was delicious as were the finger sandwiches. Save room for the exceptional pastries at the end.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank WanderingTraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Russell-Platt-TDL, Director of Food and Beverage at The Promenade at The Dorchester, responded to this reviewResponded 5 weeks ago

Dear WanderingTraveler,
Thank you for your wonderful review. It is great to know that you enjoyed your dining experience with us here at The Dorchester and I look forward to sharing your kind words with the team. Thank you once again and in the meantime, we hope to welcome you back as our guests in the near future.

Kindest regards,
Russell Platt
Director of Food and Beverage, The Dorchester, Dorchester Collection

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed October 7, 2018 via mobile

As an afternoon tea fans, I knew the standard of tea at Dorchester was going to be high, and the food and ambience was impeccable. But what made the afternoon extra special was the warm, professional, engaging and thoroughly personal approach of Denny who was waiting on us! Such a high standard of service and enthusiasm from such a young gentleman really added to the experience and shows how fantastic employees equate to happy customers!

2  Thank Sashah16
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Russell-Platt-TDL, Director of Food and Beverage at The Promenade at The Dorchester, responded to this reviewResponded October 8, 2018

Dear Sashah16,
Thank you for your review. We are thrilled to know that you had a wonderful experience at The Promenade at The Dorchester and I am delighted to hear that we were able to create lasting memory for you and your guests. Thank you for your complimentary feedback for Denny and please be assured that I will share your kind words of appreciation with him and the rest of the team. In the meantime, we do hope to have the pleasure to welcome you and your guests back to The Dorchester in the near future.

Kindest regards,
Russell Platt
Director of Food and Beverage, The Dorchester, Dorchester Collection

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed October 6, 2018

The whole experience was lovely from start to finish. Sandwiches and pastries were top class. The waiters were very friendly and chatty. From the one that must have been a dyson salesman in a previous life to the ones who bought out birthday surprise for my sister and the one who thought we were actually mother and daughter instead of sisters. All three made it a very memorable occasion. Would definitely recommend it.

Thank alison c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Russell-Platt-TDL, Director of Food and Beverage at The Promenade at The Dorchester, responded to this reviewResponded October 8, 2018

Dear alison c,
Thank you for your wonderful review. It sounds like you truly enjoyed your visit and made the most of your dining experience with us which gives me great pleasure. It is also great to know that you felt well cared for by our team members and please be assured that I will share your kind words with the entire team. In the meantime, we truly hope to welcome you and your sister back to The Dorchester in the not too distant future.

Kindest regards,
Russell Platt
Director of Food and Beverage, The Dorchester, Dorchester Collection

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Been to The Promenade at The Dorchester? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing