We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Good Experience”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Best Western The Boltons
Ranked #506 of 1,069 Hotels in London
Paris, France
Level 6 Contributor
147 reviews
70 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 89 helpful votes
“A Good Experience”
Reviewed 2 June 2012

I travel to London frequently and normally stay in Earl's Court. In decided to try a new property that had been well revirewed, and I was quite pleased with The Boltons. It has been beautifully renovated with all the modern conveniences and tends to be very state of the art and functional in decoration. The room size was completely adequate, and the front desk staff went out of their way to accommodate me with a room category booking error. I would definitely stay there again. Some suggestions that I would make would be including drinking glasses in the room, and doing training in service with the breakfast room staff. While the full English Breakfast was delicious and plentiful, the Eastern European hostess lacked warmth and friendliness. In fact, she acted bothered when I asked for coffee, and she almost seemed pleased to announce to me that breakfast was over a full 30 minutes prior to the posted time. Those are training issues and shouldn't reflect badly on the overall accommodation and service oriented front staff. A lovely place to stay in London.

Room Tip: Rooms on the back are quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AtlStew
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Younis72, General Manager at Best Western The Boltons, responded to this review, 12 June 2012
Dear AltlStew
Thank you for a detailed and wonderful review of BW The Boltons Hotel. I'm glad you found the hotel to be state of the art and functional. We have also taken on board you comments regarding the waitresses at Breakfast and will be re - training them.
I hope to see you again at the hotel soon!
Many Thanks, Wasim
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,028 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    317
    433
    189
    64
    25
See reviews for
156
367
158
208
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (136)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Westport, Ireland
Level 4 Contributor
42 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 May 2012

Recently spent two nights at The Boltons. It is a perfectly adequate 'room for the night' hotel but will not suit visitors who are looking for the ambience of a hotel in which to relax in the bar or over a meal with friends/family in the evening - there are neither bar nor restaurant, nor even a communal sitting area (if one discounts two chairs in front of the reception desk). It is very much a hotel to leave in the morning and return to sleep in the evening.
If that is what you seek then you will be pleased by the friendly, efficient staff, the clean though rather cramped rooms and a reasonable (but no more) buffet breakfast. The London underground system is very close (2 minutes on foot?), as is the exhibition centre. There are numerous bars and restaurants in the locality.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mayoabu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Younis72, General Manager at Best Western The Boltons, responded to this review, 12 June 2012
Dear Mayoabu
Thank you for your review of the hotel and we hope to see you again.
regards Wasim.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
47 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 May 2012

Just stayed here for one night on business and going to be staying for a further three nights soon on the back of a very good experience. The hotel and its rooms have been recently refurbished so it all looks and feels pretty modern and pleasant - and it does make you wonder why some hotels still labour with 1970s furnishings and decor! The double room I stayed in was small but pleasant with two large windows looking onto the street, a very comfortable bed, flat screen TV, modern bathroom and air conditioning. The breakfast room is small, so you might find yourself sharing a table with other guests, but the choice was good. Service was friendly and helpful and so all in all, for the price and location, a very good choice. Why can't all London hoteliers up their game like this hotel clearly has?

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JMacToon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Younis72, General Manager at Best Western The Boltons, responded to this review, 27 May 2012
Thank you for such a wonderful review, the staff at BW The Boltons will be very pleased.
We look forward to welcoming you at the hotel.
Wasim.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasgow
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 May 2012

Just returned from two nights stay, part of a trip with my mum and sister for The Chelsea Flower show. Booked this based on previous reviews and I can say I wasn't disappointed.

Great central location, good sized room, very clean and staff were very friendly and helpfully. I would recommend this hotel and no doubt will book again the next time I visit London. Great value for money for such a central location in London.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GrenadierGlasgow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Younis72, General Manager at Best Western The Boltons, responded to this review, 27 May 2012
Dear Sir, thank you for such a lovely review of the hotel. I'm glad you found the staff friendly and helpful, I'll be sure to pass on your compliments to them.
We hope to welcome you back at the hotel soon.
Many thanks Wasim.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Yorkshire
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 May 2012

Recently stayed at The Boltons for an exhibition at Earls Court. The hotel is ideally located for this, being a 10 minute walk. Earls Court is also a great area for bars, shops and restaurants. There is a handy M&S Food Store at the end of the road where the hotel is, which is great to get sandwiches etc at a reasonable price if you are exhibiting. Also a Co-op just past the Earls Court underground. For eating there is a Nandos nearby and we tried Zizzis which was very good.

The hotel - staff on reception were very helpful, friendly and efficient. I had requested a room with a bath (soak feet after day at exhibition!), and got one (LG07). This was a double room, which was nicely furnished, and quiet. Plenty of coffee/tea sachets and a hairdryer.

Breakfast was great with plenty of choice - fresh fruit salad, yoghurts, cold meats, cheeses, breads, fruit juice, cereals, bacon, eggs, sausage, beans, toms and lovely mushrooms!! Plenty to set you up for the day! There was also bottled water available which was very handy!

All in all an excellent stay, and I would highly recommend the hotel to anyone visiting Earls Court, or just London in general.

Room Tip: Room LG07 (lower ground) is a double at the back of the hotel and has a bath/shower.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ElspethYorkshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Younis72, General Manager at Best Western The Boltons, responded to this review, 27 May 2012
Dear Elspeth, thank you for such a wonderful and detailed review of the Best Western The Boltons!
We hope to see you back at the hotel soon.
Many thanks Wasim.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed 16 May 2012

Very nice hotel, nice staff. Single bedroom and bathroom was small but very well decorated and finished. - I was only sleeping there so it didn't really matter about space. the breakfast room was quite small too so a bit of a squah getting to the food but the food was also very good quality and yummy.

Stayed May 2012, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank Nicola H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Younis72, General Manager at Best Western The Boltons, responded to this review, 27 May 2012
Dear Nicola
Thank you for a lovely review, I'm pleased you enjoyed your stay at the hotel.
We hope to welcome you back soon.
Wasim.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
York, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 15 May 2012

The hotel is close to all the cities amenities and close to tube and bus routes into the city. We stayed here as a base for the 2012 Moonwalk and found the position perfertct for us - even managing to catcha night bus home at 4.00 a.m.
The rooms are a little tight but the standard of furnishing and amenities is excellent- very modern and tasteful. Free wi fi is a bonus andthere was an i pod dock inthe room. Toiletries were plentiful as was the supply of tea, coffeee and biscuits.
The staff on reception were friendly and very helpful - even providing scissors, sellotape and a screwdriver to add the finishing touches to our Moonwalk outfits. The 24 hour Reception was greatly appreciated.
We had a thoroughly enjoyable stay and were sad to leave as after 3 mights it had become almost home. We will definitely return to this hotel when we return to London as the location is excellent and the warm friendly reception from the staff second to none.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Maggie W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Younis72, General Manager at Best Western The Boltons, responded to this review, 27 May 2012
Dear Maggie
Thank you for such a superb review of Best Western The Boltons Hotel. The staff will appreciate your kind comments as they work very hard to meet our guest expectations.
We hope to have you back at the hotel very soon and make you feel at home again!
Many thanks Wasim.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these London hotels
South Kensington
Best Western Burns Hotel Kensington
South Kensington
Best Western The Cromwell
Best Western The Cromwell
#634 of 1,069 in London
1,289 reviews
Earls Court
Lord Jim Hotel
Lord Jim Hotel
#664 of 1,069 in London
295 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Earls Court
Mowbray Court Hotel
Mowbray Court Hotel
#453 of 1,069 in London
303 reviews
Earls Court
London Town Hotel
London Town Hotel
#531 of 1,069 in London
442 reviews
Earls Court
London Court Hotel
London Court Hotel
#384 of 1,069 in London
169 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western The Boltons? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western The Boltons

Property: Best Western The Boltons
Address: 19-21 Penywern Road | Earls Court, London SW5 9TT, England (Formerly Best Western Boltons Hotel London Kensington)
Region: United Kingdom > England > London > Earls Court
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
#265 Business Hotel in London
#318 Luxury Hotel in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Best Western The Boltons 4*
Number of rooms: 56
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Combining Victorian charm with Modern Luxury The 4* Best Western The Bolton's Kensington is a modern oasis of peace in the conservation area of the Royal Borough of Kensington and Chelsea. Fully Refurbished in 2012 to incorporate modern simplicity and functionality with Victorian charm Best Western The Bolton's Hotel London Kensington with 56 fully Air conditioned en suite bedrooms, complimentary High Speed WIFI throughout, a welcoming Restaurant serving a decadent breakfast is the place for the discerning traveller looking for great value for money. Ideally located just around the corner from Earls Court underground station, within easy reach of some of London's most prestigious shopping areas such as High Street Kensington and Knightsbridge to the many attractions of London such as the Natural History and the Science museum just off our door step making the Best Western The Bolton's Hotel London Kensington the ideal location for your visit to London. Book directly with us and start your day with a great English breakfast on the house. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity.ca, Hotels.com, Nozio Netplan srl, Priceline, HostelWorld, TripOnline SA, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Best Western The Boltons reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western The Boltons Hotel London
Best Western London
London Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing