We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
US$246
US$174
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Strand Palace Hotel(London)(Great Value!)
US$167
US$141
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Rhodes Hotel(London)(Great Value!)
US$86
US$83
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
Book now, pay at stay
US$285
Hilton
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
US$125
US$114
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Savings alert! 11% below average rates

The price you found is 11% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$128/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

US$371
US$147
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
The Belgrave(London)(Great Value!)
US$117
US$100
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Bar/Lounge
US$156
US$146
Orbitz.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
The Nadler Kensington(London)(Great Value!)
US$151
US$113
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
US$207
US$172
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Reviews (606)
Filter reviews
606 results
Traveller rating
44
123
163
119
157
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
44
123
163
119
157
See what travellers are saying:
Filter
Updating list...
62 - 67 of 606 reviews
Reviewed July 22, 2017

After booking on booking.com I realised I had booked the wrong date, minutes later I tried using the contact information on google (email address and phone) and then tried using the contact information on their website (email address and phone). No answer via any method, I left 2 answerphone messages requesting to change my booking and to contact via phone or email. Days later received a reply saying that they couldn't accept my cancellation as the date had already passed and they had reserved that room for me and were unable to resell it. However they would have been able to sell it if they were at all contactable. Awful service.

  • Stayed: June 2017, travelled solo
    • Service
Thank NezzyBear
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed July 15, 2017 via mobile

Window wouldn't close and just had that unsafe feeling. Lamp shade was cracked and table was chipped. Curtains hanging off and only half of head board visible. Bathroom very small. Dirty cups in room. For the price paid expectation was much higher. Was on top floor and no lift. Only good thing was the WiFi!

Stayed: July 2017, travelled on business
1  Thank Katrina M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
John G, Manager at Elmwood Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded July 17, 2017

Thanks for your review towards your recent stay at Elmwood hotel, please accept our apology for any enconveince caused during your stay , and do not judge us from one night stay , it would be great if you could email me direct please and I can sort some discount to you .
And all the issues you mentioned I have reported to the management to fix it straightaway.
John Girgis

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed July 15, 2017 via mobile

We were in room 28, heating didn't work at all. Complained to the man at reception 3 times during our two night stay and nothing was done.
Room was very dated, run down almost. Ugly, old, musty red bedspreads that aren't washed as often as the rest of the sheets.
The bed was so noisy and creaky just sitting on it, god help the other guests if a couple decided to have some fun.
They still have the old sash windows in, don't close properly and leave a gap in between. This coupled with the no heating situation made for a very chilly sleep. See attached pictures.
Bathroom is a shoe box that anyone larger than a 7 year old would struggle to use, towels that they provide are hand towels not bath towels. 1 hand towel per person aswell.
Room safe didn't work either.
Was instructed by the man on reception that our room key must be left at reception every time we left the premises, never heard this before. He also assured us that no one would enter the room while we were gone, as I didn't feel my belongings were safe. The reason for this policy according to the man is that, they don't have a master key.
After specifically requesting no maid service and asking no one enter the room, the maid came in and moved our belongings and made the bed. She actually made the bed over clothes I had laid out for changing into that day!!

Didn't attempt to try the breakfast option after seeing the shambles that they called "accommodation"

The "secure luggage storage" that they charge guests £5 per case to use, is the hall way behind room 8 that everyone in the hotel has access too.

Trading standards need to visit this place as they cannot provide a basic standard of service and charge you £100 a night for it. Payment is taken before you even see your room, which seems shady to me.
If I had known this beforehand I wouldn't have stayed there.

The only good thing - close to Kings Cross Station.

Stayed: July 2017, travelled with family
3  Thank Shan1985
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
John G, Manager at Elmwood Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded September 30, 2017

Thanks for your review towards your recent stay at London Elmwood hotel.
first of all please accept my apology for any inconvenience caused during your stay .
and of course your first impression at the front desk, and we have warned the staff your mentioned not to over react with the guest during check in, and we promise we will improve our service to better standard, and we have passed your complaint to the management and we will deal with all the points you mentioned and we promise we will
resolve it all, please do not judge us from one visit , and we hope to welcoming you again
to prove that we can deliver a better standard next time .
John Girgis

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed July 14, 2017 via mobile

The only positive is it's close to kings cross.

We arrived and the bedding was dirty so asked for it to be changed. Was told they don't change the top covers daily but the others are. Surely you should change all when new guests arrive!! Anyway our bottom sheets had the same mark the following day so hadn't been changed. One of our top covers had a very suspect looking stain on the underside and marks on bottom sheet.
Room was dusty headboard especially. See photo to show what was found on one half of a head board.
Holes made in the laminate floor to stop bed moving. Curtains wasn't even long enough to cover the windows.
Can't comment on the breakfast as didn't fancy it. If our room was like it was didn't trust what the kitchen would be like.

Have stayed in many hotels over the years around this area and this is the worst.

We don't need luxury hotels with big rooms when we stay (elmwoods are small) but clean rooms are a standard requirement surly.
Really not worth what we paid.
Wish we had looked on trip advisor 1st as we are not the only ones with these issues.

Stayed: July 2017, travelled with friends
1  Thank butterfly3717
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed July 10, 2017

We arrived tired, expectant of a good nights sleep.
Booking in went fine but we were told where our room was: downstairs and down the corridor on the right. We went back later to reception and found a family booking in who were directed to an upstairs room up a narrow staircase : they had enormous heavy suitcases and no help was afforded.
Our room was small: the furniture fitted exactly. The bed fitted snuggly between a narrow wardrobe and a bedside table. The bedside lamp was made of a block of wood.
The bathroom was bijou. The shower head attachment balanced precariously in to the wall fitment so that if you turned the attachment in any direction, it would not remain there.
It was warm at night. Therefore, many occupants had their windows open, so noise was more than usual. However, all the water flowed down the pipes outside of the room. The walls are thin. There was no air conditioning in the room.
Breakfast consisted of cereal, boiled and scrambled eggs, toast, jam, cheese and cold meat + tea/coffee/juices.
It is a question about paying for a room in London in July and value for money for that room. This isn't value for money.

  • Stayed: July 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Bob S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews