We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Like A Home From Home”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in London
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
The Lavender Guest House
Ranked #31 of 575 London B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Wolverhampton, England, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Like A Home From Home”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 April 2012

From the moment we arrived at the Guesthouse, me and my Mother had fallen in love with the place. The welcome we received from Tony was so incredibly warm. Indeed, the reception from him over the entireity of our 3 night stay was fantastic. He chatted to us about what we were up to while we were down, spoke in such a friendly manner and made us both feel so at home. Likewise his sister who does the cleaning, she was equally as welcoming. The food was enjoyable. The room we had was stunning - truly worth the money (which, for inner London, is very good value!). Nice and spacious, and the en-suite bathroom was exquisite! And for inner London, the parking on the street is ample too!

Would highly recommend the Lavender Guest House to ANYONE looking to stay in London! Cannot speak highly enough of it

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Robert K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

276 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    205
    59
    10
    1
    1
See reviews for
72
74
45
36
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (65)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Alves, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 April 2012

Very well maintained guest house in Clapham, within easy walking distance of rail and bus services. Room was well appointed and kept to a very high standard.
We were slightly disappointed with the very limited breakfast menu - some fruit/yoghurt and something to go with scrambled eggs would make such a difference.
A bonus was the access to a sheltered sunny garden along with a sitting room attached including a microwave for visitor use.- a good touch

Room Tip: the lower the room number means fewer stairs
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Ian R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 April 2012

We stayed for 3 nights in one of the double rooms which was very small but perfectly equipped, fine for a place to sleep but not really a relaxing space. Despite the location the rooms were very peaceful.
Tony the manager was very helpful and accomodating, I believe his father John was away during our stay and this may have been the reason we didn't get offered a full English or continental breakfast, just beans or egg on toast.
Despite the breakfast we still felt our stay represented good value for money.
We would return for a short break in the future.

  • Stayed April 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank GeorgieB82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
78 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 April 2012

This is a great place to stay. Very clean. Very comfortable. I was made to feel welcome from the moment I stepped inside. Can not find any faults. The breakfast was lovely and the service first class. The location is good too - nice and close to the station. Exceeded expectations.

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Mauzie2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin, Dublin, Ireland
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 April 2012

I stayed for just a quick trip at the end of March. My room was compact and lovely and clean with a nice en-suite, and the owner Mr Houss was a very hospitable and entertaining character! I had a very enjoyable stay, and my parents who have stayed here before also rate the Lavender Guest House very highly. The rates were very reasonable for this area of the city and I will certainly use it again for any other trips to London in the future. Sarah.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sarah C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 March 2012

My mum and aunty stayed here for 26 nights straight and not once did they have a problem. The room was lovely (much nicer then a hotel room), breakfast was amazing and service was brilliant. We would recommend this B&B to all our friends and family and will be using it again for sure. This is also a great location to the high street & train station. Thank you Lavender Guest House for making my families stay an enjoyable one.

  • Stayed March 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank MArthurs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Harrogate, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 February 2012

Room clean albeit quite small, bed comfortable, friendly staff and a lovely hot cooked breakfast at a very reasonable price for London, and in a lovely quiet area - would definitely recommend and would definitely stay again.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank catiemeg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these London hotels
Clapham / Battersea 
The Gateway Hotel
The Gateway Hotel
#584 of 1,090 in London
4.0 of 5 bubbles 142 reviews
Clapham / Battersea 
Travelodge London Battersea
Travelodge London Battersea
#667 of 1,090 in London
3.5 of 5 bubbles 540 reviews
Clapham / Battersea 
Windmill Clapham
Windmill Clapham
#95 of 1,090 in London
4.5 of 5 bubbles 525 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Clapham / Battersea 
Holiday Inn Express London Wandsworth
Clapham / Battersea 
Clapham Guest House
Clapham Guest House
#137 of 575 in London
3.5 of 5 bubbles 305 reviews
Clapham / Battersea 
PubLove at The Crown
PubLove at The Crown
#147 of 837 in London
3.5 of 5 bubbles 206 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Lavender Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Lavender Guest House

Property: The Lavender Guest House
Address: 18 Lavender Sweep | Battersea, London SW11 1HA, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > London > Clapham / Battersea 
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #31 of 575 B&Bs / Inns in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — The Lavender Guest House 3*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We pride ourselves on having a very clean and comfortable accommodation. As a family-run business, we have a reputation for our hospitality, which has brought back the same guest year after year. We are in the heart of Clapham Junction (Battersea),Central London is only a 10 minute train ride away, making us the ideal choice for your stay.We are recommended by the English Tourism Council and have been awarded with three stars. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
The Lavender Guest House Hotel London

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing