We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“It just keeps getting better ......”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Rafayel on the Left Bank - Hotel & Spa
Ranked #316 of 1,068 Hotels in London
Certificate of Excellence
New York
Level Contributor
14 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“It just keeps getting better ......”
Reviewed 29 March 2012

This is our third visit to the Hotel Rafayel. I can't say enough good things about this property. From the moment of check in until we were checking out, the staff could not do enough to make our stay wonderful.
From her office ,Krystyna, Operations Director, saw us checking in. She recognized us and immediately came to greet us with a warm smile . It is that personal touch that contributes to making this hotel one that you want to return to time after time. Our room was large, well appointed and with a fabulous view of the river. Maintainence of the room was perfect and up to the original high standard. Certainly no evidence of wear or tear on carpets, upholstery and furnishings as is sometimes the case. Although the hotel is very modern and eco-friendly it also exudes warmth. That of course is due to the ever-helpful staff. There are car parking facilities at a very reasonable rate. Strongly suggest you have a drink on the terrace. The drinks are terrific and the view is outstanding. Considering the price point, it is hard to believe you are surrounded by such luxury. We are always sad that we do not have time to experience the on-site spa since I'm sure it is in keeping with the all over standard of the hotel. Yes, the hotel is in Battersea, but the bus stops right in front of the hotel and it is a pleasant, short ride into either Sloane Square or a little farther on to Victoria. Ike, the owner, can oftentimes be seen in the lobby. He is always eager to hear comments from his guests. His presence, along with his excellent management team, make us feel that standards at the Rafayel will always remain "5 star".

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ClicquotNewYork
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,956 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,125
    460
    234
    84
    53
See reviews for
162
1,017
107
341
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (431)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Chesterfield
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 March 2012

Stayed for one night on Saturday 24th March. Fantastic hotel would recommend to any one. I went with a large party that included children. No one was made to feel out of place. We had the pleasure of meeting the owner and telling him personally our thoughts. The only problem that we found was the taxi services. Make sure you get the price before you except the ride.

  • Stayed March 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AJH2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 27 March 2012

Spent one evening there and have to say service was excellent. Really made an effort to make my stay enjoyable. Hotel bar/restaurant also extremely impressive. The room was top notch with impressive facilities - can honestly say I wouldn't have expected at that price

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Just C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed 27 March 2012

I arrived at the hotel for a spa treatment today (27/03/2012) with my mother to celebrate my 30th birthday. The reception staff were incredibly courteous and directed us to the spa area on the 3rd floor. We were late and they explained that the treatment time would be reduced. We had to complete a registration form and we waited for the the staff members who were going to give us the massage. Once in the massage room I felt at ease as they had lovely tranquil music playing and the lighting was perfect. To our surprise they gave us the full 1 hour massage, which was so relaxing might I add. After the massage we were then allowed to use the other facilities such as the sauna, steam room and jacuzzi. Towels, robs and slippers were also part of the package, we just needed to bring our swim wear. The spa area was very clean and had a great atmosphere. It was not over crowded and at most there were another 2 people using the area at the same time. After a few hours we decided we wanted to get dressed and leave. Whilst in the lobby we decided to use the hotel restaurant. Walking into the restaurant i was in awe of how lovely it was. It back onto the river and had the most glorious view. It was very quite and the sun was shining. I had the feeling of being in a tropical country. We ordered our meals and I must say the food was cooked to perfection and with quality ingredients. I will most definitely recommend this hotel and will surely be coming back. A* for service and experience!!!

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Toffee-Apples-Trips
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shanghai, China
Level Contributor
86 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 103 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 March 2012

The only down side is location; however, there are cars to take you to Clapham tube or Junction. The hardware is of a really good quality and the bathrooms are made to a high spec with really fantastic showers (albeit a bit tricky to work out how to use at first). Bed quality is first rate as are the fixtures and fittings, in general. Nice bar for a glass of wine in the evening (although the atmosphere perhaps lacks a little something) overlooking the Thames and Battersea Power Station. The little touches such as bottles still and sparkling water in the reception make you feel as though someone in this hotel is really thinking about the customer service. For the price I would highly recommend this hotel - great across the board.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MattB6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Madrid
1 review
Reviewed 25 March 2012

Booked for 1 night and stayed 3 nights..... Location is absolutely a priviledge!!! Besides all services corresponding to a 5 star hotel....VALUE added to Rafayel goes far beyond : incredible rooms and the apartments are unique!! Sunny rooms overviewing the River, amazing arquitecture to delight.... Is one of the hotels I strongly recommend to stay. Shuttle car is always to your service, extreamely polite and proffesional staff focusing on the client and the best for its stay. Definetly, THE ONE in London. No doubts!!

Room Tip: Ask in reception for Karmen or one of her colleagues, they´ll indicate you best available fitting yo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Desiree S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Miami, Florida, United States
Level Contributor
18 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 March 2012

There is nothing wrong with the hotel!....Service was great...bending over backwards to accommodate. First class spa and excellent restaurant.
BUT......a long ways away from anything and anyone.
Of course they offer a shuttle to the nearest Tube station, but even that is 10-15 minutes away with no traffic. There are no quaint nearby neighborhoods, and so be ready to travel 30-40 minutes to get anywhere by tube or taxi.
I truly hate for this to sound negative, since the people and hotel itself is great....almost so much so that you may want to try it and see for yourself.

Room Tip: All rooms are good, however not all rooms have a view. If you want a 'room with a view' of t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Peter K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pawel W, Front Office Manager at Rafayel on the Left Bank - Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, 20 March 2012
Thank you very much for your kind review.



We are delighted that you greatly enjoyed everything about the hotel, the amenities, the staff, the rooms, going by the expressive tenor of your review. Customers such as yourself have enjoyed our hospitality at a price of £109 (inclusive of VAT) for a room that has an average size of 260 sq.ft. where the bathrooms, as some people have said, are larger than some hotel rooms in London.For our kind of luxury rooms this slab rate is just not possible for equivalent hotel in the heart of West End.



Rafayel’s location is not in our hands and we are very clear about it. For us it is a top location 15 minutes brisk walking distance ( 18 minutes normal) along the banks of Thames from Kings Road. When you booked the hotel through our booking engine, MyFidelio, the details of the hotel, its location, directions, routes, transport links, etc. are described at length, and some people have even criticized us for over-emphasizing Rafayel’s setting. While we appreciate the candidness of your review, the fact of the matter is that you made an informed decision to come here. You have posted an excellent review and have praised all our facilities, one which many would covet, but we cannot help where we are located. Since Battersea is not connected with an underground network, people living in the UK consider it to be a little out of the way. But from Battersea to Harrods is a 15-18 minutes’ taxi ride; and from the station (where you are offered a complimentary drop-off) to the Bank, literally from our doorstep to the heart of the City takes 35 minutes through the Northern Line, or from there to Euston or King’s Cross with an even shorter distance to happening places like Leicester Square or Piccadilly.



Having said that, our location is the very reason why we try to mitigate our customers’ inconvenience by overcompensating for our disadvantage –by offering value oriented rates and offering free shuttle services in our brand new eco-friendly SEAT cars or nominal car park charges, in case you are driving down to London. These are very big concessions we have had to make and one that no other hotel would be able to afford. But we have been able to achieve this with our value-conscious approach which is a credit to our team. Had we been in West End, it would cost nearly three times the prices we charge which includes no service charge, free WiFi, free shuttle services, free gym, free library that offers a very wide range of books, 50% discounts at the restaurant and spa, free bottled water, to name a few. This is how we have managed to survive.



We hope you understand the predicament of our location, but we also hope you appreciate that Battersea is an up and coming place and we take great pride in being here. We are situated opposite the River Thames, one of the most beautiful stops for any visitor. From 21st March to 21st October, we enjoy the unique position of being on the “sunny side of the River” where the sun shines down the brightest and the longest. We have a running riverside walk perfect for outdoor activities. The most beautiful buildings have been constructed within one mile of this bank, and even the US embassy is moving into our area. The upcoming Diamond Jubilee celebrations are centered around our hotel that would give our guests unobstructed majestic views of the 200-strong Regatta ( All this information can be found on our website).



Much as we value your review, we have great faith in Battersea and have been realistic in our approach to tackle the disadvantage by going to great lengths for the sheer comfort of our guests, which has been greatly appreciated and supported by them. This is the reason why we have a very high percentage of repeat customers, who have become our friends in the past 2 years. They now consider Rafayel to be their home away from home, and we are very proud of it.



We thank you once again for your comments and hope you visit us again and become a part of the Rafayel family.



Kindest regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these London hotels
Southbank
Mondrian London at Sea Containers
Covent Garden
Strand Palace Hotel
Strand Palace Hotel
#408 of 1,068 in London
9,155 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Southwark
Shangri-La Hotel, At The Shard, London
East End / East London
Sunborn London
Sunborn London
#143 of 1,068 in London
2,579 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rafayel on the Left Bank - Hotel & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rafayel on the Left Bank - Hotel & Spa

Property: Rafayel on the Left Bank - Hotel & Spa
Address: 34 Lombard Road | Falcon Wharf, London SW11 3RF, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > London > Clapham / Battersea 
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#58 Spa Hotel in London
#71 Business Hotel in London
#227 Family Hotel in London
#230 Luxury Hotel in London
#263 Romantic Hotel in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Rafayel on the Left Bank - Hotel & Spa 5*
Number of rooms: 70
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Rafayel on the Left Bank boasts 70 designer "smart" rooms, champagne bar, riverside restaurant and conference facilities, exhibition spaces as well as the latest spa and beauty treatments and gym. Rafayel is one of the world's most advanced luxury green hotels and proves that hotels can dramatically reduce their carbon emission output without compromising on five-star luxury, quality or comfort. Located on the River Thames at the heart of London's most dynamic riverside development, with sweeping views across to Chelsea Harbour, Rafayel is minutes from the shopping areas of Sloane Square and Knightsbridge and is close to Victoria Station and London's major attractions. Rafayel provides a free shuttle service to and from Clapham Junction and Clapham Common on Northern line every 30 minutes from 7.30 AM to 10.30 PM. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, Travelocity.ca, Priceline, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your Rafayel on the Left Bank - Hotel & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rafayel On The Left Bank Hotel London
Rafayel On The Left Bank - Hotel And Spa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing