We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Rafayel on the Left Bank - Hotel & Spa
Nearby Hotels
US$284
US$267
Hilton
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
US$294
US$245
Hotels.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
US$249
US$211
Trip.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
The Belgrave(London)(Great Value!)
US$161
US$134
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Bar/Lounge
Strand Palace Hotel(London)(Great Value!)
US$175
US$164
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
US$207
US$194
Doubletree
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Park Grand London Lancaster Gate(London)(Great Value!)
US$154
US$136
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
US$245
US$188
Travelocity
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
US$165
US$132
galahotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
US$230
US$217
Official Site
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
Reviews (2,126)
Filter reviews
2,126 results
Traveller rating
1,209
493
256
92
76
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
1,209
493
256
92
76
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsclapham junctionshuttle servicebanyan restaurantfree shuttlenile suiteclapham commonamazon roomiqbal latifthames viewjacuzzi bathbattersea parkfloor to ceiling windowshuge bathroomkings roadhotel gueststhe hotel offersamazing hotel
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
1,522 - 1,527 of 2,126 reviews
Reviewed 29 April 2012

We booked one of the Thames rooms which had the most amazing view of the river Thames all around us..The shower was amazing..You get 50% off your food bill which made the restaurant very good value for money £50 for 3 people eating 2 courses..There are 2 parts to the hotel which makes it feel a little strange but once you see the view it is worth it..A cab to the West End is £20 and to the Kings Road £8...It is a little out of the way but you must get a room with a view...

Room Tip: Room 123 and you can watch the helicopters landing..
  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Louisesy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 April 2012

I have stayed there during the week since August and am about to finish my assignment and leave the hotel after 9 enjoyable months spent there. Can't speak highly enough of the staff and the surroundings they create. Very friendly, helpful and scrupulously clean and well maintained. Good gym, excellent restaurant and even a well stocked library. Having stayed in hotels all over the world, I would definitely say that the Rafayel can't be beaten in terms of value for Money and attention to detail. Upgraded many times without asking too. Highly recommended, and I'll be staying there whenever am next in town..

Room Tip: river views are especially nice..
  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank maddysmummy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 April 2012

The Rafayel is a jewel of a hotel - the only downside is its location. It suffers in being on the southside of the Thames, making access to the city difficult. Thhe rooms on the Thames are nothing short of amazing- I loved sitting in bed and looking out at the water and the boats go by. The Thames-side rooms are in the front of the hotel- in a separate building that also houses the restaurant. The room we had had everything you could want-a nice large bathroom, a frig, nicely decorated room-and the view! The restaurant, while a limited menue, has one interesting erk-if you are staying here, any 2 or 3 course meal is half price, making it a very good deal. The hotel offers free shuttle to either Clapham Common tube station or Clapham Junction train station and this is fine but you have to book at least a half hour in advance and wait if the car is full. However, the number 170 bus stops literally right in fron of the hotel and goes to Victoria-making the trip into London a piece of cake- I used this frequently.
I think the staff of this hotel is young and still learning- they are friendly and happy to do anything but housekeeping especially, is not as on top of things as one would expect in a 5* hotel. The hotel has followed the European way of having down duvets on all the beds- which is great in winter- not so great in warm weather! I haven't figured out why an eco-friendly hotel would do that considering that the only solution was to lower the temp in the room to freezing temps so one could sleep without lying in a pool of sweat! All in all I liked the hotel but consider the location ann issue.Perhaps when the redevelopment of the area is complete, that won't be an issue.

Room Tip: Pop for the Thames-side roomsv - the noise didn't bother us and the view is worth it!
  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Spaniellady
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 April 2012

We stayed here as part of our mini moon and I couldn't fault the staff for the service they gave us, we were due to stay two nights but had to cut the visit short and this was no problem for the hotel, very flexible and understanding!!! We visit the spa for treatments which was really nice and good value for money!!! Room was lovely overlooking the river, only one problem though is the music was really loud in the bar below so did ruin our sleep a little! Overall lovely place to stay!!

Stayed: April 2012
Thank angellm8te
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 April 2012

We have stayed here 3 times now and would DEFINITELY recommend this hotel. Yes it's off the beaten track but the shuttle service is efficient and the drivers are always friendly and helpful. The staff are warm and welcoming and the rooms are wonderful. We have often been upgraded too! Nothing is too much trouble for the staff and they are always welcoming and friendly. The food in the attached restaurant is delicious and you get 50% discount as a hotel resident. I would say take the knock at being outside of the town centre as the shuttle makes this wonderful 5* hotel well worth the extra effort.

Stayed: April 2012
Thank Sam S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews