We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good location, good room.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Park Plaza Westminster Bridge London
Ranked #193 of 1,077 Hotels in London
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Reviewed 29 April 2012

We stayed for one night on the weekend of the London Marathon. Although we had to queue to check in, it was quick and as many staff as possible were manning the (very long) desk. Amie, the receptionist, was fast in sorting out a room for us and explaining the hotel's facilities. Our room rate, incidentally, didn't include breakfast at the hefty price of £21.50 per person.

There is a large bank of lifts to take you up to your floor. We were on the 6th floor in a room overlooking the "foyer". As others have said, it's a little bizarre not looking over a road/the town but it was very peaceful and conducive to a good night's rest. The room was larger than any other that we've been in when visiting London. Everything was in there - every Sky channel (a luxury as we don't have it at home!), tea and coffee making facilities, Dead Sea smellies, a separate shower in the bathroom, mini bar.

The bed was comfortable, there was a separate chair and then another at the desk. Perfect for reading your book!

We didn't eat in the hotel as we were meeting friends in central London, but the hotel was perfectly positioned for getting easily into the centre. Plus, the hotel was only across the bridge from the Palace of Westminster, Westminster Abbey etc.

We didn't eat breakfast in the hotel as we knew that we could find breakfast cheaper outside the hotel. Maybe next time if we could get a decent bed and breakfast rate.

Would we stay here again? Definitely!

Room Tip: An inner room is not the end of the world as it's peaceful!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank The Teacher7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ParkPlazaWestminster, Manager at Park Plaza Westminster Bridge London, responded to this reviewResponded 1 May 2012

Thanks The Teacher7 for your comments and review.

I am delighted you will be visiting us soon, so a great tip for breakfast next time is the Executive Lounge package at £39 per couple which includes 2 breakfasts, tea and coffee all day, full afternoon tea and then canapés and drinks from a full bar until 8pm. Keep an eye out on our website for the park Plaza package and you may even get this for £25. Another option is the Illy Espressement coffee shop on the ground floor, similar in style and price to a Prêt or a Starbucks.

See you soon.
Regards,

Hasham Soliman
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (17,558)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

12,543 - 12,549 of 17,558 reviews

Reviewed 28 April 2012

Stayed with family of four(2 adults,2 kids age 12&10) during Easter break. Hotel is modern with nice studio rooms with comfortable king bed and another area seperated by bathroom and closet that had pull out couch for kids(not the most comfortable but sufficient). Chose because it could accomadate 4 plus had 2 tvs and indoor pool. Rooms were nice, we upgraded to London Eye view upon check in although didn't think the extra $ to upgrade was necessary b/c you see both every time you leave hotel . Minimal space to unpack, no dressers just closet . Beware of hotel pool rules. I was looking for hotel with pool for kids so when we we were back at night they had something to do but although they tell you pool is open till 10 p.m. it is only available to kids under 16 till 8 p.m. and they were strict about it and sometimes rude when they came in promptly at 8 to throw us out! That was a disappointment b/c we didn't go to London to swim in pool during day! Hotel had 1 restuarant open for all meals . We bought the breakfast plan they offered at hotel for 2 adults w/ children 12 and under free.That was good . They tell you it's buffet which is very nice but you can order eggs a different way , pancakes or their waffles(delicious) from waiter. They don't advertise that, just ask at breakfast. We ate there for dinner the first nigt. It leans toward french food and was very good as well. Coffee shop opens at 6:30 and they also have lite breakfasts, sandwiches and such and at night occassionally had pasta dinners(we didn't try). Bar opens 24 hours a day, they serve lite snacks as well. Keep in mind you can get a beer from them at 6 a.m. but not coffee! Conceirge is great , especially Bradley who helped us plan our Stonehenge, Windsor Castle, Bathe tour. You can also buy most sightseeing tickets from them at a little cheaper price and avoid ticket lines when you get to the place. The only tickets they don't sell are for Westminster Abby. Hotel is in nice loctaion with 2 undergrounds(Waterloo & Westminster) within few minute walk. There is a 24 hour mart right up the street. Rooms have small frig.. Buckingham Palace is about 15 min. walk away. A few blocks from hotel we found St. Stephens Pub. Serves great bonelss fish and chips and good food, nice atmosphere too.We ate there twice. Hotel check in was good although we got to hotel at 10:30 a.m. and had to wait till 1 ish to get into our room. In all fairness the woman at the desk tried to get us our room as quickly as possiblle. Only problem we found with front desk is changing money. There is a limit each day and it constantly changed. All in all we had a nice stay and would recommend this hotel esp. if you are a family of four b/c most hotels in London inc. Marriots wanted us to book 2 rooms and we didn't want that.

Room Tip: Had an outside room. Hotel has rooms that face interior of hotel as well. Upgrading to Big Ben or Lo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank pirates13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 April 2012

I was taken here for a birthday surprise. Check in was swift & we were upgraded to a suite which was a very welcome surprise. The room was great, very comfortable with a separate lounge area, temperature control for all areas of the room and the bathroom was good too, modern fittings with separate shower & bath. The curtain's ability to block out light was impressive, I awoke at 8am thinking it was still the middle of the night. We didn't have any problems with noise from the road either.

Although we didn't need it, a really nice touch in the room we were staying in was the possibility to fold out the sofa and make an extra bed, great for families. It also had a concealed kitchenette area with fridge, sink, microwave, glasses, cutlery and plates. Great for tourists staying in London not wanting to eat out every night.

The spa area is nice and the executive lounge is a real plus if you know you'll be in the hotel during the day. We made the most of afternoon tea and pre-dinner drinks and canapes, the views are impressive, not only of parliament but also the atrium itself. I have no gripes with the hotel itself, it was such a nice break and we felt very pampered throughout however......

the big big let down was the in-house sushi restaurant. After having made a reservation at the time of booking the room we got there and no one knew we were coming. I'm prepared to make allowances for a breakdown in communication but the reaction of the staff was less than impressive, they were not apologetic nor polite and made the start of the evening rather stressful. We were refused a table at the window because it was reserved however during the course of our entire meal (and afterwards when we were sat in the bar) no-one came to claim it. The food was mediocre and overpriced considering some of the sushi we've had elsewhere in London, and the service was bad. Rather than regularly checking whether we needed anything else the waitress said "shout if you need me". Now fair enough if we're in a cafe or a diner-type restaurant, but when we're paying decent money for what should be good food, I don't want to be shouting across a restaurant to get someone's attention. Furthermore it's not like they were busy, they seemed to spend most of their time chatting behind the kitchen area. What frustated us the most was being expected to pay 12.5% service for some of the worst service I've come across in London.

It's a shame because of the rest of our stay was so good. Upon checking out we told the lady at reception about our meal and she did apologise but it didn't seem like much will get done to rectify it. I would totally recommend the Park Plaza Westminster Bridge for couples wanting a romantic break and for tourists, it is a truly great location and a really modern, relaxing hotel.

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank neitherheren0rthere
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ParkPlazaWestminster, Manager at Park Plaza Westminster Bridge London, responded to this reviewResponded 1 May 2012

Dear Neitherheren0rthere,

Thank you very much for your detailed review and the kind recommendation following your great stay but disappointing service in Ichi restaurant.

I have shared your feedback with our Food and Beverage Director, who conveys his thanks, and I would like to assure I will be keeping an even closer closure eye on the food and service.

Thank you once again for your recommendation and I do hope to see you on your return to enjoy the new improved service.

Regards,
Hasham Soliman
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 April 2012

The hotel is close to Waterloo station and London eye.The room was perfect for three with a sofa bed bed in the living room with two tv's. The buffet breakfast was excellent.The staff was friendly and helpful.Can't think of any negatives.

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank London364
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 April 2012

Maybe the best hotel I have been in London. Good location, nice atmosphere and lounge. Cool bar. Great staff. The room was huge in the 9th floor. Excellent bed. There were two things which disturbed me a bit. The railway station just behind the hotel and the other thing was that even there were maybe 10 lifts I still had to wait one sometimes. Had to say although the railroad did not disturb my sleep it was more a fear of that. I sure could stay here again.

Room Tip: I guess the rooms in the south side are bigger
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lochte
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ParkPlazaWestminster, Manager at Park Plaza Westminster Bridge London, responded to this reviewResponded 1 May 2012

Thanks Lochte for this great review.

We hope to see you again soon.

Regards,
Hasham Soliman
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 April 2012

Perfect location, very nice rooms (stayed one night in a superior room), nice staff, excellent bar with excellent staff!. I can really recommend this hotel to any type of traveller - busniess, pleasure even familys.

I have stayed at many hotels in London and if you, like me, can get somewhat annoyed when standing on the 8th floor waiting for the elevator during check-out hour you are going to love the fact that this hotel got eight elevators. Yes, I tiny detail - but you got to love that!

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Omnidude
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ParkPlazaWestminster, Manager at Park Plaza Westminster Bridge London, responded to this reviewResponded 1 May 2012

Thanks Omnidue! What a great review, we hope to see you again soon.

Regards,
Hasham Soliman
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 April 2012

One of the best things about this hotel is the Location. Walking distance to most attractions, has an Underground close by. Hotel has a huge foyer which would give the impression that the rooms are also huge but not so, they are actually smaller than standard hotel rooms. There are 'inner' and 'outer' rooms in this hotel. The inner rooms have windows which are internal, looking down onto the Foyer. This is where we had a room, i found it strange not being able to look outside! The room itself was as i said small but cosy and clean. Breakfast was lovely lots of choice but expensive!!! There was a jazz session on one evening which was brilliant:) So, overall, the hotel is perfectly located, cosy rooms, great breakfast but was expensive.

Room Tip: ask for outer room!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank MarieArdfert_Ireland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ParkPlazaWestminster, Manager at Park Plaza Westminster Bridge London, responded to this reviewResponded 27 April 2012

Dear MarieArdfert,

Thank you for your review, we’re glad you enjoyed your stay and the sights around us.

We regularly review our pricing to ensure we remain competitive, as well as guaranteeing the best online rate via the Park Plaza website.

Please do visit the website for your next trip to London, I’m sure you’ll find our prices most competitive and I encourage you to sign up to receive our Newsletter, which will have all our special offers and promotions.

Regards,
Hasham Soliman
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these London hotels
Westminster
DoubleTree by Hilton London - Westminster
Southbank
Park Plaza County Hall London
Southbank
Mondrian London at Sea Containers
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Soho
The Piccadilly London West End
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Park Plaza Westminster Bridge London? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Park Plaza Westminster Bridge London

Address: 200 Westminster Bridge Road, London SE1 7UT, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > London > Southbank
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Green Hotel in London
#44 Spa Hotel in London
#83 Family Hotel in London
#94 Business Hotel in London
#101 Romantic Hotel in London
#148 Luxury Hotel in London
Price Range: $215 - $563 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Park Plaza Westminster Bridge London 4*
Number of rooms: 1019
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Art meets design in the grand Park Plaza Westminster Bridge London. From its iconic position opposite Big Ben and the Houses of Parliament, the hotel places London's finest landmarks at your fingertips. The London Eye, Big Ben, London Dungeons, the London Aquarium, and the city's finest theatres, restaurants and bars are just a few steps away. A choice of tastefully conceived and breathtakingly executed guestrooms and suites includes large Studio Rooms with a bedroom, bathroom, kitchenette and living space with pull-out sofa bed, which is perfect for family stays. On the hotel's highest floors, enhanced amenities and extra space are on offer in the chic Penthouses and Suites, some of which have split-level duplex accommodation, balconies and panoramic city views. Brasserie Joël presents delicious French cuisine with seasonal specialties, while Ichi Sushi & Sashimi offers a true taste of Tokyo. 1WB Lounge & Patisserie is the place for afternoon tea and light bites, Primo Bar comes alive every evening with live music and sophisticated cocktails, and Espressamente Illy serves authentic Italian coffees. Unique among central London hotels, Park Plaza Westminster Bridge London boasts a fitness centre with 15-metre pool and Europe's only Mandara Spa, an exquisite oasis of Balinese calm. Nine treatment rooms, a manicure and pedicure area and relaxation lounge combine to offer indulgent pampering with the finest spa products. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, Travelocity.ca and HotelQuickly so you can book your Park Plaza Westminster Bridge London reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Park Plaza Westminster Bridge London Hotel London

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing