We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Just too small for two”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Point A Hotel, London Westminster
Ranked #373 of 1,077 Hotels in London
Reviewed 8 March 2012

Typical of places popular on TA, this hotel is clean and the service is good though front desk is often backed up and busy. The location is conveniently across from a tube station. Perhaps it is a good value but not on a square footage basis. The room is so small that it is hard for two people to stand and do anything at the same time; the only seating area is the bed and the phone booth sized bathroom is for one person only.

The Tunes are "all-fees" hotels. They seem to charge for everything. We arrived 25 minutes before check-in and our room was ready by it would cost us five quid to check in early. It was even more expensive to check a couple of bags. You pay for the television, room cleaning, towels, and pretty much anything else you can imagine. We ran out of toilet paper and were afraid that they would charge us for an extra roll (they didn't)!

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank D&BCalifornia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dorjbat, Manager at Point A Hotel, London Westminster, responded to this reviewResponded 13 March 2012

Dear Guest,

Thank you for your review. Our Limited Service concept means that we offer the basics for a good night of sleep and a prime location. Being a budget hotel our rooms can be compact, however this is a feature which allows us to keep our prices competitive and our add-on system gives our Guests the opportunity to keep costs to a minimum.
We hope your stay was overall satisfactory and that you will chose to stay with us again.

Best Regards,
Arron Dorjbat
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (2,392)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,369 - 1,375 of 2,392 reviews

Reviewed 7 March 2012

This is a really great option for staying in London. We had a double room on the fifth floor, and while it was on the small side it was pretty typical for UK/Europe and not uncomfortable at all for two people. The location was really good – a tube stop right on the doorstep made it super easy to get around. Everything in the room was clean and in really good condition, and the beds were really comfortable. Only problem I can think of (and I am really being a bit picky with this) is that there was only one pillow which just wasn’t enough. Not sure if you could get another one, but it would be worth asking. I have stayed in other places in London that cost a lot more and weren’t half as good as Tune. Would definitely recommend to anyone (and have been doing so!).

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank kjmcp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dorjbat, Manager at Point A Hotel, London Westminster, responded to this reviewResponded 13 March 2012

Dear Guest,

Thank you for your review. I am pleased that your overall stay with us was pleasant and that you enjoyed our 5 star very comfortable beds. Thank you also for highlighting our wonderful location, it is really convenient for both business and pleasure. I am very glad that you also mentioned our staff as we aim to provide the best service for our Guests.
We hope to welcome you again.

Best Regards,
Arron Dorjbat
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 March 2012

Stayed here a few times now. Each time I stayed the room given seems to be smaller and smaller than the previous which i didn't think was possible.

Nonetheless - if all you need is a place to crash before you head out early to a meeting - there's absolutely no reason to stay anywhere else. The beds by the way are more comfortable than some 5 star hotels ive stayed in around the world. Staff are super friendly, room is spotless.

I look forward to trying out some of their future openings in London later this year.

Room Tip: ask for a room on a higher floor. I've always stayed on 4 or 5. This visit i was on 2nd and...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Gavin K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dorjbat, Manager at Point A Hotel, London Westminster, responded to this reviewResponded 13 March 2012

Dear Guest,

Thank you for your review.
It is my pleasure to hear that you have had many comfortable stays with us.
Indeed, be ready to try our new hotels as they will be opening in Paddington in June and Kings Cross in July!
We are still always looking forward to welcoming you here at Tune Hotels Westminster!

Best Regards,
Arron Dorjbat
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 March 2012

Stayed here for one night on Saturday 3rd March. Was expecting a small room but was not prepared for such a tiny amount of space. Just about room enough to place 2small holdalls on the floor. We were given a room on the 6th floor (the roof space). A very tiny window that faced a wall.We dropped off our bags at 3pm but didn't return 'till 11pm. That's when we discovered our v.compact room was far from clean. There were in fact pubic hairs on the bed sheet and the duvet had stains on it. (My guess is that this had just been turned over from the previous occupants} We used the towels we had pre-booked to 'sleep' on. A very busy noisy. a night outside and inside the hotel. All in all a terrible experience.

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank olddear40
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dorjbat, Manager at Point A Hotel, London Westminster, responded to this reviewResponded 14 March 2012

Dear Guest,

Thank you for your review.
All feedback both positive and otherwise are very important to us as we try to improve ourselves and the service we provide. Please accept my apologies for the linens not being to the required standard, I have contacted our linen supplier so that it would not happen again.
Once again, your comments are taken very seriously by our team because we really do care and I really hope we will have the possibility to welcome you back and offer you a more enjoyable stay.

Best Regards,
Arron Dorjbat
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 February 2012

I have booked Hotel Tunes after hours of selection on the web , crossing data from TripAdvisor and other sites. I was focusing on Waterloo Station Area (Tube Station on Bakerloo line Lambeth North) since I had been in the area before and found it really nice and strategic: very central tough not busy as the center itself, quite and normal area 5 minutes walk from the Westminster bridge (and Big Ben itself). Tune Hotels, as you may see from their website is similar to a Ryanair flight: cheap, basic (every extra you pay separately) and most of the times honest. In order to go really basic I booked a "non-window" room (!!), no cloths no phon, no extra. The Hotel is just across the street from Lambeth North Station , you find a desk with very nice and helpful staff entering. They give us the double-nowindow room keys: the room is underground level (I should have guessed..!). Like others wrote the room is tiny: only space enough for the bed itself and a tiny hanger for your cloths, the bathroom also really small with shower and toilet. Bad sides:1) having no windows the air conditioning system is vital: it was a bit noisy indeed, but on night 2 I found out it was a lot quiter if you decreased the temperature of one degree 2) having no window there is a green soft light in the room when others light are switched off. Good sides: Forniture and everything is really new , clean and confortable, the bed in particular is really good :) the shower is hot, the staff is helpful and Costa Cafe is just next door, for breakfast :)) Last but not least, a room with a window is only 10 pounds more - I guess its worth it to avoid all the bed sides. I think next time in London I will book one.

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ellysland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dorjbat, Manager at Point A Hotel, London Westminster, responded to this reviewResponded 13 March 2012

Dear Guest,

Thank you kindly for taking the time to leave feedback regarding your recent stay with us here at Tune Hotels - Westminster. Your opinion is extremely important to us and we are very pleased to hear that you had an enjoyable and pleasant experience. Furthermore, for an additional pillow you can always turn to our friendly reception staff, they are more than happy to help.
We genuinely hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you back.

Best Regards,
Arron Dorjbat
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 February 2012

Excellent room for the price, we paid about £85 for a Thursday and Friday night in total. I would recommend upgrading to a room with a window if just for hopefully a bit more air circulation, underground our room got quiet warm. The toilet door was more of a shower door, don't expect privacy in this place!!

Excellent location, close to tube (which you could hear in LG floors, but never enough to bother you) and would stay here again.

  • Stayed: February 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank mistykerry8015
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dorjbat, Manager at Point A Hotel, London Westminster, responded to this reviewResponded 19 February 2012

Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for your review.
Really pleased to read that you have enjoyed your stay with us and found our location right next to the tube station to be convenient. We take pride in providing a clean and comfortable hotel for our Guests with unbeatable prices and I am more than happy that we succeeded in providing it once again!
I hope to welcome you again in the near future.

Best Regards,
Arron Dorjbat
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 February 2012

I'll be stating here again! I've had wardrobes larger than my room but it was clean, the bed was more comfortable than my own at home, really good prices and not least the location; I walked to Parliament Square in 5-10 minutes. Also there's a tube station right across the street and a lot of bus stops, so it's very easy getting around, even for a solo first time London tourist like me! :)

  • Stayed: November 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank LolitaLoco
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dorjbat, Manager at Point A Hotel, London Westminster, responded to this reviewResponded 19 February 2012

Dear Guest,

Thank you for posting your positive review.
I am very pleased that you had enjoyable stay with us and that the location of the hotel and the proximity of the tube stations was a real plus for you. It is also good to read that you had a good night`s sleep with our 5* beds as it is one of our key points.
We are looking forward to seeing you again in the near future.

Best Regards,
Arron Dorjbat
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these London hotels
Days Hotel London- Waterloo
#456 of 1,077 in London
2,695 reviews
London Bridge
Travelodge London Waterloo Hotel
Euston / Kings Cross /St Pancras
Point A Hotel, London Kings Cross St Pancras
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Paddington / Maida Vale
Point A Hotel, London Paddington
Spitalfields
Point A Hotel, London Liverpool Street
Shoreditch
Point A Hotel London Shoreditch
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Point A Hotel, London Westminster? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Point A Hotel, London Westminster

Address: 118-120 Westminster Bridge Road, London SE1 7RW, England (Formerly Tune Hotel - Westminster)
Region: United Kingdom > England > London
Amenities:
Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#354 Romantic Hotel in London
Price Range: $107 - $318 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Point A Hotel, London Westminster 2.5*
Number of rooms: 94
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Westminster is London’s historic heart, packed with more landmarks than you can shake a selfie stick at. Stroll along the Southbank and take in some of London’s greatest hits – all a stone’s throw from your Point A Hotel, London Westminster. So bring a bag, plans, places to be. And check in to your always affordable, always reliable Point A Hotel. Sink deep into your Hypnos bed. Help yourself to free WiFi. Get tomorrow-ready in a proper power shower. Then go find your point b. Shoreditch and the whole of London is on your doorstep. Every room is compact, well designed and comes with a super comfy Hypnos bed, en-suite bathrooms with a proper power shower, fast & free WiFi, USB charging point, air conditioning, hairdryer, huge TV with 240 channels and a safe. Blackout curtains ensure you have a good night's sleep. You’ll be well connected, being just 20m Lambeth North Tube Station and 900m from transport hub Waterloo. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity.ca, Ctrip TA and Cancelon so you can book your Point A Hotel, London Westminster reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tune Hotels - Westminster Hotel London

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing