We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent place for parents and schools to introduce their kids to nature”

WWT London Wetland Centre
Ranked #149 of 1,871 things to do in London
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Nestled in a loop of the Thames, London Wetland Centre is an urban oasis for wildlife and people; a rural idyll in the heart of the capital. Voted the UK’s Favourite Nature Reserve by readers of Country file magazine, it is perfect for a relaxing stroll along the paths that meander among the lakes, meadows and gardens. The Centre is a haven for wild ducks, wading birds, butterflies, bats, amphibians and water voles. Visitors can also see a collection of beautiful water birds from around the world, and watch the antics of the otter family at feeding time. With six hides, two kids’ adventure zones and a café there’s something for everyone.
Useful Information: Activities for young children, Activities for older children
Reviewed March 17, 2018

Thanks to the foresight and vision of Sir Peter Scott, the London Wetlands Centre offers a great day out in an area close to the centre of London but with ponds and reedbeds we would only expect in the countryside. The volunteer guides give excellent presentations about the centre, its work and the birds and animals that can be found there. For children there are also appropriate play areas where they can do hands-on things with nature. All in all, this is a great opportunity for parents, their children, ornithologists and tourists to get close to nature.

1  Thank Christopher P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Maria Z, Acting Marketing Manager at WWT London Wetland Centre, responded to this reviewResponded March 27, 2018

Hi Christopher,

Many thanks for your feedback, we're really glad to hear you enjoyed your day and that you managed to go to some of our presentations. We hope to welcome you back again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (528)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages
All reviews
"pond dipping"
in 31 reviews
"bird watchers"
in 17 reviews
"nature reserve"
in 15 reviews
"wild birds"
in 14 reviews
"otters being fed"
in 13 reviews
"hammersmith tube station"
in 7 reviews
"reed beds"
in 7 reviews
"water vole"
in 6 reviews
"west route"
in 6 reviews
"captive birds"
in 6 reviews
"different species"
in 8 reviews
"bird life"
in 15 reviews
"peaceful place"
in 6 reviews
"all ages"
in 24 reviews
"lovely place to visit"
in 6 reviews
"entry fee"
in 10 reviews
"sunny day"
in 13 reviews
Filter

25 - 29 of 528 reviews

Reviewed March 10, 2018

We arrived in London at the start of 3 cold and snowy days at the end of February & beginning of March. After the snow stopped and the rain cleaned the streets we decided, despite the cold to visit WWT London to see a wildlife reserve in London. Some of the ponds still had sheets of ice covering them, the weather had of and on drizzle and we still thoroughly enjoyed. If my grand-kids were with us I would have taken them with us.
It was Sunday and we found out that the train service to Barnes ran from Waterloo once every hour so we immediately went back to the underground to get to Hammersmith, from there we went to the street level bus stop K were we could pick up one of three buses 33, 72 or 209. Even on a Sunday the 33 or the 209 run every 6 to 9 minutes. The ride is about 15 minutes. Getting there is easy but be warned that the stops are in Zone 3. We got off at the Red Lion bus stop. The 33 & 72 drop us off on Rocks Lane, we walked in the opposite direction that our bus traveled, just a few steps, and we saw the sign pointing to a footpath towards the WWT. If you take the 209 then after getting down on Church Road, you also walk in the opposite direction that the bus traveled, cross to Queen Elisabeth Walk to the entrance to WWT. From either station it is a 450 meter walk to the ticket office.
It is expensive so the 10% discount for on-line tickets is worth it!

1  Thank Conram
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed March 8, 2018

Good modern facilties in support of WWT's London Wetland Centre so that visitors can walk on well prepared and marked paths in amongst the water pits or go indoors and still see lots. Good well organised cafeteria.

1  Thank Beverley H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Maria Z, Acting Marketing Manager at WWT London Wetland Centre, responded to this reviewResponded March 10, 2018

Hi Beverley,

Thanks very much for leaving us your feedback. We hope to welcome you back to the Centre again soon :)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed March 4, 2018 via mobile

My husband and I have been meaning to visit WWT for quite sometime and we found ourselves here this weekend. Even with the weather being cold, there was plenty of wildlife on show and a lovely place to visit for a calm Sunday stroll. The highlight for us was feeding time with Sam the Otter. Lots of signposts which is great for children looking to learn fun facts. The cafe had lots of tasty food, we chose the almond cake (delicious!) and coffee! Definitely worth a visit

1  Thank StephD2606
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
See more reviews
Reviewed February 25, 2018 via mobile

Had the most wonderful day here. So easy to get to by train, just a 15 minute walk (max) from Barnes train station. It was the most beautifully bright day but cold, but perfect for enjoying the fresh air and wonderful nature. Loved watching the otters and birds and enjoying the wonderful landscape. Great coffee and cake (the Swedish almond cake was incredible!) Would highly recommend a piece of tranquility so close to London

2  Thank JoannaSurbiton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Maria Z, Marketing Manager at WWT London Wetland Centre, responded to this reviewResponded March 2, 2018

Thanks very much for your comments Joanna. I'll make sure to pass your feedback to our team in the cafe. I might have to go and get a slice of Swedish almond cake myself now :)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed WWT London Wetland Centre also viewed

 

Been to WWT London Wetland Centre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing