We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Emotional”

Imperial War Museum
Ranked #106 of 1,912 things to do in London
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: IWM London tells the stories of people's experiences of modern war from the First World War to conflicts today. Mark the 100th anniversary of the Battle of the Somme over 2016 and experience our ground-breaking First World War Galleries. Our IWM Contemporary art programme continues with work by protest photographer Edward Barber from 26 May - 4 September 2016 and works by artist Mahwish Chishty later in 2016. From 28 July 2016 artist-photographer Edmund Clark presents an exhibition exploring hidden experiences of state control, touching on issues of security, legality and ethics during the 'Global War on Terror'. Discover astonishing acts of bravery in The Lord Ashcroft Gallery: Extraordinary Heroes exhibition, delve into the world of espionage in Secret War and explore key moments of the Second World War in the award-winning Holocaust Exhibition. Find out how Britain's armed forces deal with very different aspects of global security in Fighting Extremes: From Ebola to ISIS, until 13 November 2016.
Useful Information: Lockers / storage, Baby buggy parking, Activities for older children, Stairs / lift, Wheelchair access, Bathroom facilities, Food available for purchase, Activities for young children
Reviewed November 17, 2017 via mobile

Tried to spend the day looking round but found it very emotional.looking round at all the war exhibits and the videos breaks your heart , so many lives lost and so many very brave people.Has to be said though this is a very worth while visit and of course it's free , but a donation is a must .

Thank Marilyn R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (9,382)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages
All reviews
"holocaust section"
in 294 reviews
"blitz experience"
in 124 reviews
"victoria cross"
in 110 reviews
"ashcroft gallery"
in 79 reviews
"on display"
in 290 reviews
"interactive displays"
in 96 reviews
"main hall"
in 79 reviews
"free entry"
in 175 reviews
"ww1"
in 1,077 reviews
"iwm"
in 844 reviews
"tanks"
in 526 reviews
"conflict"
in 473 reviews
"trenches"
in 448 reviews
"ww2"
in 504 reviews
"vc"
in 139 reviews
"information"
in 677 reviews
"guns"
in 268 reviews
Filter

641 - 645 of 9,384 reviews

Reviewed November 17, 2017

took my son and father for a cross generational trip to the war museum
my son (11) loved it as much as my dad (77)

Thank smarbers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed November 16, 2017 via mobile

A very interesting museum. Having been renovated in 2000, it has a good layout and a super array of old planes, tanks missiles. The renovation sadly did away with the WWI Trenches experience that I had been looking forward to seeing. But the Holocaust Exhibition has been put in its place and is very effective- especially the videotaped interviews with survivors. Although low light is understandable to retain the quality of the items on display, in some cases it was hard to read labels.

Like all public UK museums, it is free to enter. Its shop is reasonable and we liked the lockers to store our own items. Only other disappointment was an unusual Munnings painting is not on display but away for the year in the USA. Overall, a great experience and a very worthwhile visit.

Thank Sally R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed November 16, 2017

Tourist or not , British or not , you must visit at least once the IWM , take your time , relax and wonder around the whole museum . Amazing the Harrier in the main area !

Thank Chris K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
See more reviews
Reviewed November 16, 2017

Spent 2 hours on 1st world war, and 1 hour on Second world war. First world war was excellent with all the political background leading up to it. My knowledge of the first world war was sketchy so I found it excellent and informative. Did not appear to be as much detail on the 2nd world war but still very interesting. Spent 3 hours on the 2 world wars and still appeared to be plenty to see but did not have the time. Museum is free, went with my wife and put donation in the collection box on the way out.

Thank keinic51
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Imperial War Museum also viewed

 

Been to Imperial War Museum? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing