We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Museum for War Buffs”

Imperial War Museum
Book In Advance
More Info
US$43.57*
and up
The Original London Sightseeing Tour: Hop-on Hop-off
Ranked #34 of 1,736 things to do in London
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: IWM London tells the stories of people's experiences of modern war from the First World War to conflicts today. Mark the 100th anniversary of the Battle of the Somme over 2016 and experience our ground-breaking First World War Galleries. Our IWM Contemporary art programme continues with work by protest photographer Edward Barber from 26 May - 4 September 2016 and works by artist Mahwish Chishty later in 2016. From 28 July 2016 artist-photographer Edmund Clark presents an exhibition exploring hidden experiences of state control, touching on issues of security, legality and ethics during the 'Global War on Terror'. Discover astonishing acts of bravery in The Lord Ashcroft Gallery: Extraordinary Heroes exhibition, delve into the world of espionage in Secret War and explore key moments of the Second World War in the award-winning Holocaust Exhibition. Find out how Britain's armed forces deal with very different aspects of global security in Fighting Extremes: From Ebola to ISIS, until 13 November 2016.
Useful Information: Lockers / storage, Food available for purchase, Activities for young children, Activities for older children, Bathroom facilities, Wheelchair access, Stairs / lift, Baby buggy parking
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

The museum is awesome. It brings you into the experience and you loose track of time. The WW1 expo was the best, I could have spent hours reading and learning throughout the exhibit. WW2 was a bit lighter in comparison, and I would not pay 15 more for a liberal take on terror for the post 911 exhibit. Overall it was worth it for WW1 alone. I highly recommend a visit.

Thank Joseph C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (8,657)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

56 - 60 of 8,657 reviews

Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

40 years since my last visit! Free entry and 4 hours to fill before flying out found me struggling to see every exhibit. Five floors and probably needed 8 hours to give it justice. Midweek place was fairly busy but very noisy with lots of schoolkids doing history projects. Thankfully less noise in the Holocaust gallery which is a place of reflection and a must see. Managed WW1 & WW11 floors and a coffee stop on the ground floor in my allotted time...scheduled for a return next time in London.

Thank ExpatKL88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

I have been to the Imperial War Museum a number of times so I concentrated on the First World War Gallery. It was excellent with lots of information, interactive displays, mock-ups and atmosphere.
I will keep returning!

Thank Richard_A-Sandys
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

This has to be one of the best War Memorial Museums I have ever visited. Beautifully erected with different monuments outside of the premises. Inside it is full of information about various wars throughout history, relics, documentaries, audio/visual stimulation and more. It is just on the outskirt of town - easily accessible from Lambeth/Kennington side (or Golden Tours Blue Bus does stop here on their schedule, but can take longer due to traffic).

Very moving and disturbing at times but always an insightful eye opener.

You could easily spend a whole day in this museum but if you have time it's probably worth doing the first 3-4 levels in half a day and then coming back another day to do 4-5 (as it can be quite full on but the time you get to the Nazi dedicated section).

Highly recommend.

Thank charlene_veverka
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

I have visited this exhibition previously but this time I attended from a professional point of view. The staff were extremely friendly and obliging, the History centre went above expectations. The exhibition itself is well worth a visit, it is emotional but extremely well put together

Thank Lee S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Imperial War Museum also viewed

 

Been to Imperial War Museum? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing