We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Gem of a museum”
Review of Jewish Museum

Jewish Museum
Book In Advance
More Info
US$77.21*
and up
London Pass Including Hop-On Hop-Off Bus Tour and Entry to Over 60 Attractions
Ranked #240 of 1,616 things to do in London
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: 1-2 hours
Owner description: The Jewish Museum London is for people of all backgrounds and faiths to explore British Jewish heritage, identity and culture. Set against a spacious and modern architectural backdrop with displays across four permanent galleries, the museum brings the Jewish story to life, placing it in a wider context of British history. Our education programmes, exhibitions and events encourage a sense of discovery and creativity and tell the story of Jewish history, culture and religion in an innovative and compelling way.
London
Level Contributor
17 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Gem of a museum”
Reviewed 21 November 2011

This really is an absolute gem. On arrival the staff were really welcoming and friendly and so keen to impart their knowledge. The exhibits are well displayed with very clear and instructive desciptions. Some of the exhibits upstairs are absolutely astonishing and should not be missed.

My only critiscism is having the gift shop right in the middle of the museum rather than more discreetly put away from the exhibits.

Oh and there is a really funky little cafe down the road with THE BEST CAKE EVER called Yumcha.

Visited November 2011
Helpful?
Thank lollypai
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

197 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    120
    52
    16
    4
    5
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
11 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Nice layout, liked the entertainers exhibition”
Reviewed 19 November 2011

I visited here recently with my husband and took advantage of the current London 2for1 offer via National Rail, so it was very good value. The Jewish Museum was brand new and as a result the layout was fabulous, very modern and the toilets were wonderfully clean.

As for the exhibits, well they were beautifully presented and the history and relics were presented nicely. Unfortunately, as with a number of museums, there was a school group visiting the museum at the same time and the rather stridently voiced guide decided to zig zag them across the exhibit room rather a lot which slightly annoyed us! Saying that, the Holocaust story was beautifully, personally and sensitively handled. My husband said that there was no balance or background to the British involvement in the set up of the state of Israel and the conflict which ensued. Also Jewish immigration into Palestine wasn't covered either, which resulted in terrorist attacks on British Military Personnel after the war and subsequent abandoment in 1948.

I would have also liked to see a special section about the Jewish contribution towards UK Business with imput from companies such as Tesco and M&S. Saying that, I would expect that to form the next special exhibition.

Talking of such, we loved the entertainers special exhibition on the third floor - it was brilliant. Although I was aware that showbiz and Judaism were hugely linked, I had slightly underestimated it.

In conclusion: enjoyable but needs to be expanded somewhat. It may be worth linking up with the London Walks Jewish London Tour which we enjoyed back in February.

Visited November 2011
Helpful?
2 Thank Jo C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Britain
Level Contributor
207 reviews
95 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
“Interesting”
Reviewed 3 November 2011

Well displayed-easy to reach-pity cafe closed on Saturdays.

Visited October 2011
Helpful?
1 Thank liz1910
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marietta, Georgia
Level Contributor
142 reviews
58 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
“Wonderful experience”
Reviewed 23 October 2011

Large building in a residential area, did not appear to be a museum. Really interesting displays dedicated in 2010 by Prince Philip. Starting at top level the theme was show business, both British and worldwide. As you visit each floor there was then Jewish life in England, the holocaust and various time periods depicticting contributions through the ages. They also had a cafe for lunch or snack break. Photos were permitted.
We thought this would be a fairly short visit, but it lasted much longer as it was quite interesting and informative.

Visited October 2011
Helpful?
Thank keepemflyin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
269 reviews
41 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 198 helpful votes
“Gem of a museum with masses to see and do - not just for Jews”
Reviewed 5 October 2011

The new museum is a fantastic destination for individuals, people with kids of almost any age plus school parties and other groups.

The opening delay, on the left as you walk in, is worth lingering and the shop on the right uhas some unusual treasures and a good range of relevant books. But the heart of the downstaris is the ritual bath excavated from the City only a few years ago and dating back to only a few years before England's Jews were expelled in 1290.

Upstairs the exhibits are varied and interactive: I particularly like the Sabbath table in the ritual gallery, the interactive map showing Britain's Jewish community over the centuries and of course the Yiddish theatre where you can act along.

The Holocaust gallery is small and focussed on the appalling experience of one British Jew who married a Dutch girl, lived there and ended up in Aushwitz. He survived to talk to the Museum's visitors into his 90s. The rest of his little family didn't. It's harrowing and, because so individual, more moving than the fate of millions.

There's generally a temporary exhibition on the top floor - currently on Jews in British entertainment.

On the ground floor - for by now you will need refreshment - is a new cafe. Haven't tried it yet.

I love the museum and have visited many, many times. And I was a trustee until a couple of years ago - so might be a bit biased. But no current affiliation so don't see why I shouldn't recommend it.

Visited September 2011
Helpful?
3 Thank saranLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Jewish Museum also viewed

 
London, England
 

Been to Jewish Museum? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing