We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“Great choice for great location” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Jumeirah Lowndes Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Jumeirah Lowndes Hotel
Ranked #259 of 1,087 Hotels in London
Certificate of Excellence
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
24 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Great choice for great location”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 April 2012

Very good hotel -- staff was helpful and responsive to any requests/needs, room was small but clean and well appointed with nice extras like bottled water every day,, fresh ice in the bucket, nespresso coffee and hot chocolate options, etc . Location in Belgravia is convenient to shopping (Harrods etc), Hyde/Kensington Park, some museums and the tube. A real plus is a small street, Motcomb, around the corner that has some bakeries- open for breakfast too, chocolatier, grocery store, small shops and a really good gastropub (Pantechnicon) -- for breakfast or dinner.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank histonham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JumeirahGroup, General Manager at Jumeirah Lowndes Hotel, responded to this review, 25 April 2012
Thank you for your kind review and we are delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us and trust that you will visit again when you are next in the UK. Ian Richardson
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

508 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    267
    173
    46
    16
    6
See reviews for
74
185
38
113
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (80)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Guernsey, Channel Islands
Level Contributor
15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 April 2012

Very inconspicuous exterior but from the moment you step through the door, the staff are pleasant and welcoming and the hotel itself is very clean and well maintained. There is a definite business feel to it, so don't book if you are looking for a luxury romantic break - there are better options. Location is excellent however - set in a lovely part of London, away from the hustle and grime, and with easy walking access to Hyde Park, Knightsbridge shopping, and numerous other luxury hotels and restaurants.

Petrus (one of Gordon Ramsay's restaurants, rated best London restaurant at present) is literally just behind it, easily accessed by a small walkway - a visit there was the highlight of our weekend, though you need to book ahead. We did not eat in the hotel itself, though had Sunday lunch at the Rib Room in it's sister hotel (Carlton Tower) around the corner, which, whilst hugely expensive, was absolutely delicious.

The sister hotel also has a pleasant pool and spa which guests in the Lowndes can use - only downside is that you can't just slip on a dressing gown and head over since there is a 100 yard or so walk down the road to access it.

The beds were amazingly comfortable, and the rooms quiet. Bathroom was not overly large but had everything we needed. Maid service was efficient and friendly. Definitely recommended as a very comfortable base for a visit to London.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Rouxster
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JumeirahGroup, General Manager at Jumeirah Lowndes Hotel, responded to this review, 25 April 2012
Thank you for taking the time to write a review and I am delighted that you enjoyed the location, facilities and service. We very much look forward to welcoming you back in the future. Ian Richardson
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
24 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 April 2012 via mobile

I stayed in this hotel twice in the last two years ,my first experience was great ,so I returned in one year to find a great disappointment and deterioration in the management and the reception staff , unfriendly unorganized although I booked 2 moths prior I arrived with my husband to find not only our room was not ready they told us to come back in two hours , and when we returned as they suggested nothing was done plus to add icing on top of the cake a shocking rood manner we received from the reception , we tried to go to any nearby hotel but unfortunately it was a busy time in London , we were stuck in this hotel , which made our stay in London very unpleasant.

Stayed July 2011
Helpful?
2 Thank Nadola
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JumeirahGroup, General Manager at Jumeirah Lowndes Hotel, responded to this review, 25 April 2012
I am very sorry that you were unhappy with the service that you encountered on your second visit, having had an anjoyable first stay. I have sent a notification to you so that we can discuss the issues that you encountered in more detail and trust that we can resolve some of the issues. Ian Richardson
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dubai
Level Contributor
71 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 April 2012

We stayed in a Junior Suite with our 2 young daughters for a week. This boutique hotel is perfectly located in Knightsbridge (just a block away from Harvey Nichols). The service was outstanding. Everyone was extremely attentive, helpful and friendly. Especially the concierge and the hotel's doormen. All our concerns were always addressed within seconds. The Junior suite worked well for the four of us. Typical of London hotels, do not expect big rooms, however they are bright and comfy. The hotel is also right next to a Waitrose (with small children, this came in handy as we always needed something from the supermarket). The only downside was the pillows. They seemed a bit overused, uncomfortable and they need to be replaced. If you are looking for a practical, well-located boutique hotel with amazing service, stay here.

Room Tip: Stay in a corner room, extremely quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Sam017
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JumeirahGroup, General Manager at Jumeirah Lowndes Hotel, responded to this review, 25 April 2012
Thank you for taking the time to write a review and I am very pleased that you and your family enjoyed your stay with us. I am sorry that you found the pillows uncomfortable - we are more than happy to exchange pillows to meet guest preferences and have a range of pillows available on request - I am sorry that this was not communicated to you and that you were not made aware of a simple solution. I trust that you will consider returning when I can guarantee a comfortable night's sleep! Ian Richardson
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Valbonne, France
Level Contributor
131 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 March 2012

I love this hotel.
Not only is it comfy and has free wifi....but you get a bottle of water by your bedside every night!...not just on the first night and then "you are on your own kid!Or brave the minibar.." but on the 3 nights spent there,we had water and a chocolate to ease us into bedtime.Beds are a little on the soft side and we had to ask for firmer pillows as the ones we had were the thickness of a slice of bread.
The room is clean and welcoming,the view on the square is lovely and so London!.. and there is no noise whatsoever.
The staff are welcoming and helpful,umbrellas are handed out when it rains and your bags are whisked up to your room whether you want it or not giving you the feeling that whatever you need,they will do their level best to comply .
Breakfast is a buffet feast and you are not left hungry or without choices.
Upon checkout as our bags were taken out to our awaiting car and driver, I exclaimed:"I hope that's J.." as in I hope that our luggage isn't handed over to a complete stranger.
The concierge replied" I wouldn't know Madam..."
So pompous..so quintessentially British! I love it...but couldn't help but reply:
"I was addressing the question to my sister!?"
I shall return and it will be a pleasure.

Room Tip: A room far from the elevator.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank IntrepidTraveller06
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JumeirahGroup, General Manager at Jumeirah Lowndes Hotel, responded to this review, 25 April 2012
Thank you for your kind review and I am delighted that you are considering returning to the Jumeirah Lowndes Hotel. I note your comments regarding our doorman's "quintessentially British" service (which may need some work!) and I appreciate the spirit in which they were made. We look forward to welcoming you back. Ian Richardson
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
50 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 March 2012

Located on a quiet street just a block from Harvey Nichols and the smart shops on Sloane Street and 2 blocks from Harrods, this small hotel hits the spot. The bedroom is tailored in wood and offers a comfortable bed a and small, but adequate bathroom. It is perfect for one and might be a bit crowded for two, but given the location and the excellent continental breakfast, it's worth it. The hotel offers access to an excellent gym located in the sister hotel down the street. ,

Room Tip: My room was on the street so there is a bit of noise during the day; not a problem at night
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank andermanny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JumeirahGroup, General Manager at Jumeirah Lowndes Hotel, responded to this review, 25 April 2012
Thank you for your kind review and I am very pleased that you enjoyed your stay and especially that you enjoyed the Peak Health Club and Spa at our sister property just across the road. I trust that we will be able to welcome you back in the future. Ian Richardson
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sao Paulo, SP
Level Contributor
43 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 March 2012

If you expect a fancy 5 star hotel, expensive and ultra chic, (and if you pay a hi price), you will be disappointed. In my case, I wanted a convenient, well located, fair, clean and nice hotel. I paid accordingly (great price at kayak), and did not have huge expectations, so I loved it! Fantastic location, very nice and educated staff, clean, and with some nice amenities (nespresso). The one thing to improve is the bathroom, but that is not a big deal. I recommend it, and will come back

  • Stayed February 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Arielmorg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JumeirahGroup, General Manager at Jumeirah Lowndes Hotel, responded to this review, 25 April 2012
Thank you for taking the time to write a review of your stay and I am delighted that we met your expectations! We very much look forward to welcoming you back. Ian Richardson
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these London hotels
Belgravia
Jumeirah Carlton Tower
Jumeirah Carlton Tower
#68 of 1,087 in London
4.5 of 5 bubbles 576 reviews
Belgravia
The Park Tower Knightsbridge, A Luxury Collection Hotel, London
Belgravia
The Hari
The Hari
#18 of 1,087 in London
4.5 of 5 bubbles 737 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Knightsbridge
The Capital Hotel
The Capital Hotel
#42 of 1,087 in London
4.5 of 5 bubbles 679 reviews
Knightsbridge
Millennium Hotel London Knightsbridge
Knightsbridge
Mandarin Oriental Hyde Park, London
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Jumeirah Lowndes Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Jumeirah Lowndes Hotel

Property: Jumeirah Lowndes Hotel
Address: 21 Lowndes Street, London SW1X 9ES, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > London > Belgravia , Victoria
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#131 Business Hotel in London
#193 Luxury Hotel in London
#207 Romantic Hotel in London
#269 Family Hotel in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Jumeirah Lowndes Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 87
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The boutique Jumeirah Lowndes Hotel is situated in London’s leafy and fashionable Belgravia village. Each of the 87 bedrooms has been beautifully finished in contemporary style and boasts complimentary high speed wired and wireless internet connection, nespresso coffee machine, plasma television, and iPod dock. The hotel features Lowndes Bar & Kitchen - a relaxed restaurant offering all-day dining - and in summer, the Terrace for al fresco dining. Guests also enjoy complimentary access to The Peak Health Club and Spa, located across the road at our sister hotel, Jumeirah Carlton Tower which features full gym equipment, 20m indoor swimming pool and beauty treatments. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Jumeirah International, Agoda, Priceline and Travelocity.ca so you can book your Jumeirah Lowndes Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Jumeirah Lowndes London
Hotel Jumeirah Lowndes

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing