We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
One Aldwych
Nearby Hotels
US$147
US$135
Hotels.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
US$224
US$187
Doubletree
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
US$273
US$161
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
The Belgrave(London)(Great Value!)
US$137
US$114
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Bar/Lounge
US$222
US$214
Orbitz.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
Rhodes Hotel(London)(Great Value!)
US$73
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
Park Grand London Kensington(London)(Great Value!)
US$94
US$90
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
US$172
US$159
galahotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
US$221
US$202
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
The Nadler Kensington(London)(Great Value!)
US$110
US$93
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
Reviews (2,311)
Filter reviews
2,311 results
Traveller rating
1,771
391
108
30
11
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
1,771
391
108
30
11
Show reviews that mention
All reviewschocolate factorylobby barafternoon teacovent gardenindigo restaurantwaterloo bridgeprivate loungehealth clubturn down servicewest endbottle of champagnewonderful hotelperfect locationdeluxe roombirthday treatlondon hotelchlorine
Filter
Updating list...
1,951 - 1,956 of 2,311 reviews
Reviewed 22 February 2012

My overall impression of this hotel is that it's really a business hotel, catering mainly to business people. (And we were there on business, at least my husband was!) The front desk was super efficient in handling common travel or business-related issues. i.e. The airline lost my luggage on the way to London and the front desk was able to tell me when they usually receive lost luggage (at x time tomorrow). Swanky in-room system to switch between "getting service" vs "don't-disturb" mode (it will automatically forward all phone calls to voice mail as well) Housekeeping staff gets top marks and refilled all amenities automatically without asking (water and toiletries, etc). The location is very central, you can walk to Covent Garden, Embankment or Temple tube stop within 5 minutes. There is a Boots pharmacy, a Tesco mini-mart and a Pret-a-Manger literally across the street should you need anything quick. The quality of the bedding and furniture is first-class. Size of the standard double room is on the small side, but typical for a European city hotel. Having said that, there were 3 items that annoyed me during my stay.

1) The shower pane in our bathroom works like an extended glass door (so user can turn it to allow easier access to the bath tub). Unfortunately there was a design problem and no matter which way I turned it while showering, the shower water would leak out from the gap between the glass pane and the tub, collecting a big puddle of water on the bathroom floor afterward (I tried positioning the pane at many angles for 3 nights and none of them worked). I have used another bathtub with similar design in another service apartment before, so I am pretty sure it's a design error as opposed to an user error.

2) The bathroom designer tried to be environmentally friendly, and employed a toilet which uses air suction (similar to toilets on airplanes) for waste removal. So if you need to flush the toilet in the middle of the night, it would make a loud "swoosshhh" noise and wake up your partner who was fast asleep.

3) There are not much free space in the lobby (the majority of the lobby space was designated as a bar area). We stood in a very small space at the front door while waiting to meet our friends twice (looking very out of place).

I am sure (2) and (3) cannot be fixed, but hopefully they can look into (1) - I had to mop the bathroom floor with towels every night after taking a shower...

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Sharka
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 February 2012

Just love this hotel. Great pool sumptuously comfy bed, and our regular custom greeted with an upgrade. The attention to detail is fab and the little extra treats like complimentary champagne and chocolate cake on special occasions makes it a must stay hotel. Big tip try the Warm Essence cocktail in the bar on a snowy night for a taste of Christmas in a glass!

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Scotscowgirls
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
StefanSoennichsen, General Manager at One Aldwych, responded to this reviewResponded 15 February 2012

Thank you so much for your kind feedback regarding your stay with us. I am very glad you regularly enjoy the hotel, including the fantastic cocktails in our famous Lobby Bar. We look forward to welcoming you back again very soon.

Kind regards

Stefan Soennichsen
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 February 2012

We booked an executive room for two nights during the week and were more than pleasantly surprised on check-in to have received a complimentary upgrade to a suite! Wow! The hotels location, service, quality of the furnishings and food and service were all outstanding! We would definitely recommend this hotel!

Room Tip: Suite 500 was amazing! Triple glazing meant really quiet rooms! Really spacious and high specification of all room interiors! No one could complain about this room!
  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bourgoinc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
StefanSoennichsen, General Manager at One Aldwych, responded to this reviewResponded 9 February 2012

Thank you for posting a review of your recent stay with us. We were very pleased to welcome you both and thrilled that you had the opportunity to experience our wonderful Suite 500.

We do hope to see you again soon and thank you for choosing One Aldwych.

Kind regards
Stefan Soennichsen
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 February 2012

An amazing stay at the hotel on business, I stayed in an Exec room. The staff were excellent and couldn't do enough for you, the room was spotless and the bed was extremely comfortable with decent bed linen - too many hotels now have cheap quick turnaround duvet covers, but not the Aldwych. The turn down service was great, change of flowers in the room every day and the chambermaids were lovely. Cocktails were good too and although a little pricey they were good qualtiy and well made. Great bathrooms too with a nice sunken bath and gym was good also with friendly staff. Would definitely stay there again and intend on going back but this time for pleasure.

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MissM0neypenny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
StefanSoennichsen, General Manager at One Aldwych, responded to this reviewResponded 9 February 2012

Thank you for taking the time to pass on your feedback following your recent stay at One Aldwych. I very much appreciate your detailed and kind comments on our staff and hotel product and we do hope that we have the opportunity to welcome you back for a leisure trip soon.

Kind regards
Stefan Soennichsen
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 February 2012

I loved it here. I stayed for 3 weeks (on business) and had a special deal including breakfast. It was still very expensive, but the service and quality were great.
Try the eggs benedict for breakfast - they are truely heavenly and must not be missed!
The rooms are minimalistic, but you find everything you need. There is even a tv in the bathroom (in some or all rooms?) and you can watch tv while having a bath or standing in the shower.
The location is also very convenient, close to the river and a short walk away from Covent Garden.

  • Stayed: March 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Engl_Rose
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
StefanSoennichsen, General Manager at One Aldwych, responded to this reviewResponded 6 February 2012

Dear Engl_Rose

Thank you so much for taking the time to write a review following your recent stay. We are delighted that you enjoyed your three weeks with us and do hope that we will be able to welcome you back again the next time you are in London.

Kind regards

Stefan Soennichsen
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews