We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Rookoery Hotel, London”
Review of The Rookery Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The Rookery Hotel
Ranked #220 of 1,077 Hotels in London
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 30 January 2012

We stayed 1 night at this hotel as we went to a friends 40th at nearby restaurant named St John (very good) which was literally round te corner. The hotel itself is the Smithfield area - very historic witha neighborhood feel to it. A great base to explore London if you were thinking of doing so! Plenty of good shops and restaurants nearbuy - especially St John and Gaucho Grill,

The hotel has a 'romantic, step back in time Shakespearean' charm to it, very nicey decorated and very nice room with all the mod cons discreetly hidden away. Antique bed was lovely and great to sleep on, bathroom was lovely and products stocked in there were great. The loubnge area had an honest bar - and was lovel;y and welcoming, we spent time chilling out there in the morning.

We didn't order room service or eat there, so comment comment on them. The staff we met were polite and helpful.

This typE of boutique hotel isnt for everyone, but if you want a romantic hotel with charm and good old fashioned service then this one would fit the bill.

Quiote expensive, but you get what you pay for in London generally,.

  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Whufc71
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (563)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

392 - 398 of 563 reviews

Reviewed 28 January 2012

This is a beautiful, little hotel. A gem. You'll find a good combination of old charm and modern conveniences like wifi and widescreen tv.
The staff is friendly and you can mix your own drink in the bar.
The only things I missed was a breakfast restaurant. Many good restaurants in the neighbourhood.

  • Stayed: January 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Soreide
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 January 2012

We picked this hotel based on user reviews and proximity to where we wanted to go. Most of the reviews were very good so we decided to go with that.

We booked the double room and were given a room at the top-most floor. Good points; relatively spacious, cool headboard, sweet bathtub, high ceiling with chandelier. Got a heck of a workout climbing all the way up and down everytime we went out. Not sure if good or bad.

Bad points; no complimentary water, coffee nor tea. When we asked the staff about that, we were told we had to pay for them at the bar or through room service. Seriously?! No shower stall so we had to shower in the bath tub that had no shower curtains, so water went everywhere. Sink was really tiny, could barely wash hands nor face properly. No iPod dock in room even though stated on website.

In short, despite the friendly staff who held our bags when we arrived early, the hotel simply didn't live up to the hype and great reviews. It certainly wasn't value for money.

Other than it's location, there was really nothing else in our stay there that made it worth the money we spent on it. Wouldn't stay there again nor recommend it to anyone else.

  • Stayed: January 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Madibaman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 January 2012

The Rookery is a unique, wonderful place to stay in London. Located in an alley in the Farringdon District, right next to the Smithfield Market, you feel like you're in a real London neighborhood, not a tourist destination. The rooms are decorated in an old Victorian style, with antiques and brass. The common areas are nicely appointed, as if you were lounging in an old travelers inn. Right down the block is a tube station, across the street are wonderful places for breakfast, and no more than three blocks away are wonderful restaurants and pubs (St John's and the Fox and Anchor are musts.) We really enjoyed our stay, made even better by a friendly and helpful staff. Step back in time and experience something uniquely different and relaxing.

Stayed: October 2011, travelled as a couple
Thank carpeoccasio
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 January 2012

Tucked away down a smart little pedestrian passageway, this cosy well-appointed hotel has bags of character, complemented by a one of the best front-of-house teams we have ever come across.

Arriving early to drop our bags off, we were able to go directly to our room after a warm welcome. (The hotel is small enough for the front of house team to almost know your name before you register.)

We were very fortunate to have booked a junior suite, but in fact be upgraded to the Rook's Nest, the stunning duplex penthouse suite occupying a corner of the top floor and the tower. From here we enjoyed a good night's sleep in the quirky yet opulent Victoriana-inspired suite.

Every request for room service and off-spec items was met promptly and in good humour, with one of the staff members going without his links for an evening as my husband had forgotten to pack his.

There were no tea/coffee items provided in the room, but asking for it from room service turned out to be much quicker than making it yourself.

There is also no restaurant on site, but an innovative room service menu offered freshly cooked 'modern British' food that you would want to eat, eg bacon sandwiches and pies and mash, rather than the over-fussy finds of the larger, particularly chain, hotels. The mini-bar is also appealingly stocked and fairly priced with niche brand chocolate and fine wines.

The hotel is all extremely well-placed for both Clerkenwell's well and less well-known restaurants, with bags of choice within tripping distance. Sensibly probably why the hotel doesn't have its own on-site cafe/restaurant.

The owners and staff of The Rookery Hotel clearly know their stuff (owning Hazlitt's in SoHo) and have created an atmospheric luxurious boutique hotel with all the finishing touches of a great hotel, but in their own style and to their own vision.

Seriously, hats off to you all and a great big thank you.

Our stay was top-drawer quality and we hope to come back.

  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank MarmadukeHussey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 November 2011

The hotel is in a part of London hadn't considered staying in before, however, would deffinately go back to the Smithfield area. The property is historically appointed as a building of such character should be. Very comfortable, homely and peaceful. You're in the middle of London so you're bound to get some outside noise, however, all the original windows have a layer of double glazing. All the staff are attentive and helpful. Would be handy to have a kettle and tea/coffee facilities in the bedroom. Big old clawfoot free standing bath and nice toiletries...
Breakfast seemed expensive for what you were offered, however, London is London... Round the area are some great pubs and restaurants, bars etc. So you can pop out for breakfast 1st thing and eat locally at night. In 15 mins or so you can be in various areas for shopping/theatres etc. Really enjoyable stay in a unique hotel.

Room Tip: On a higher floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank TBJHM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 November 2011

I stayed at the hotel at the end of a few days in London. It is easy to find from Farringdon Station. Upon arrival I was very impressed with the care that had gone into the decoration of this hidden gem among London hotels. The receptionist was lovely and allowed me to check into my room early. I loved the honesty bar and the conservatory was bliss. A very helpful member of staff then showed me to my room and pointed out the essentials before wishing me a relaxing stay. The rooms all have names of significant people whose story relates to the building and the local area (no rooms numbers...I like it). I stayed in the Jack Ketche room. Very comfortable bed and beautiful bathroom with great REN products. It never felt as though I was staying in a hotel, it was more like a guest room in a family home. The pictures of the rooms on the hotel website reflect the attention to detail. Breakfast was delivered promptly to my room and it was delicious. Check out was friendly as well. I know where I will be returning to when I next visit London. Thank you to all the wonderful staff.

  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank LCAF
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these London hotels
Clerkenwell
The Zetter Hotel
The Zetter Hotel
#191 of 1,077 in London
897 reviews
Clerkenwell
Malmaison London
Malmaison London
#251 of 1,077 in London
1,561 reviews
Clerkenwell
The Zetter Townhouse Clerkenwell
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
City of London
The Montcalm at the Brewery London City
Spitalfields
Batty Langley's
Batty Langley's
#61 of 1,077 in London
186 reviews
Soho
Hazlitt's
Hazlitt's
#213 of 1,077 in London
662 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Rookery Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Rookery Hotel

Address: 12 Peter's Lane | Cowcross Street, London EC1M 6DS, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > London > Clerkenwell
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#104 Business Hotel in London
#114 Romantic Hotel in London
#165 Luxury Hotel in London
Price Range: $255 - $867 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Rookery Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 33
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity.ca, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your The Rookery Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rookery Hotel London

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing