We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Above and beyond expectations” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel 41

Lowest prices for {0} - {1}
Enter dates for lowest prices
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
We check up to 200+ sites for the lowest hotel prices
Hotel 41
Ranked #1 of 1,089 Hotels in London
Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Above and beyond expectations”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 April 2012

I need a dictionary of superlatives to describe the experience here. Was it the chess game over canapes in the library lounge? Was it the complimentary overnight shoe shine service? Was it the offer of a choice of the next day's newspapers in multiple languages upon arrival? Was it the personalised card welcoming us to the hotel on our desk? Was it the Belgian chocolates and muesli bars available all day? Was it the surprise turndown service which saw our king size bed covered in rose petals? Thanks to the courteous, smiling and professional staff who outnumbered the guests, this is sure to be a highlight of any hotel stay. Couldn't recommend it highly enough.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank jennz_aus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,648 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    2,409
    173
    50
    13
    3
See reviews for
348
1,590
131
265
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (351)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 April 2012

There is so much I could write about this stay but to start with this was the best 24 hours (26 in fact) I've ever spent in a hotel!

I'll briefly start with a couple of small improvement areas - 1) the TV cabinet is mirrored and if you're not careful you could break the mirror as the door opens on to the fireplace, 2) black out blinds would be better as in the morning the room was a bit too light and 3) a bigger TV would be ideal (and would fit in the TV cabinet)

Apart from these points everything else was pretty much perfect. There isn't huge amounts I can add to the other reviews but I'll give it a go! My immediate reaction upon spotting the 41 canopy was I'm not too sure about this location as it's on a busy road but I needn't have worried. We were greeted on the ground floor and advised somebody was coming down to greet us and escort us upstairs. The chap who greeted us was Ramon or Roman (apologies but the name slips my mind) but was very welcoming and made us feel at ease immediately.

Upon arrival in the Executive Lounge we were seated at reception and offered a glass of champagne - if only all hotels welcomed you like this! After checking in we were given a tour of he public areas (admittedly small but it's a small hotel so it has everything you need) and then taken to our room and given an in depth tour of the stunning black and white themed room.

The room, as you can see from the photos, was stunning and a good size given the location. Waiting for us in the room were some lovely macarons (yes that's one "o" Karolina ;-)), nougat and chocolates.

The Executive Lounge came complete with free snacks and an honesty bar (with, for example, 6 different gins) so we made the most of us this and sat on a comfy sofa with other snacks, popcorn and canapes as time rolled away. In the early evening they also offer a "Plunder the Pantry" option which included, on our evening, a number of meats, cheeses, salads and fruits of which you can eat as much as you wanted.

Before we knew it the time was 9pm so we popped out for a quick walk to get some fresh air but we couldn't stay away for long and were back within 15 minutes. On returning to our room we found a birthday mousse cake which was stunning - it looked huge but was so light that we ate it all within a few minutes. The hotel had also spread rose petals on the floor, bed, bedside table and surrounding candles that they'd lit - it's these small gestures that elevate this hotel and help it justify number 1 hotel in London on Trip Advisor

Breakfast was very tasty and was in fact more like Brunch given we got there at 11.30ish - Full English and Eggs Florentine, although they did kindly give us a South African sausage to try, which comes highly recommended. As the hotel wasn't full the next day they also offered us a late checkout (4pm) and we were never going to turn that down!

However 4pm soon came round and it meant we had to leave (after spending 25hrs 45 minutes of the previous 26 hours inside the hotel)

Yes the hotel is expensive but for a special treat it's absolutely worth it - will I go back? Absolutely! I can easily see why some people have called this the most romantic hotel in London; I'd also say it's the most relaxing as well - if you stay here just stay in and experience the staff, bedroom, exeucitve lounge and ambience to its full!

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank deekaypee999
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Durham, North Carolina
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 April 2012

I imagine that people who spend thousands to stay in the best suites of the best hotels get treated like this regularly, but being accustomed to being just a "regular joe" staying in an average room, I have never experienced the kind of personalized customer service that we experienced at this hotel. One morning at breakfast, my daughter saw a tray of blackberries wheeling by, and said, to no one in particular, "yum!" 30 seconds later a bowl of blackberries was in front of her. Another 30 seconds later and the food services manager is asking her if she's "opposed to whip cream," and, upon receiving a negative answer, comes back with a gorgeous blackberry/whip cream smoothie he'd just made for her. We went to Cornwall for a few days and then came back, and everyone greeted us and welcomed us back by name. And then proceeded to upgrade us for our last night in London to a palatial suite. Staying there was one of the highlights of our trip.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Susie B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
copenhagen
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 April 2012

as experienced travellers we had high expectations - all of them were fulfilled and even surpassed. It started in The cosy lobby with warm handshakes, superb check-in service by 2 georgious ladies with a fantastic sense of humour to our fantastic suite. They assisted with any of of needs from reservations, limo rental etc - we felt immediately at home and highly appreciated the quitness of the hotel (it has only rooms at toplevel). We will back - the sooner the better.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank ngtCopenhagen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Geneva
Level Contributor
201 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 524 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 April 2012

We really appreciate the ambiance and the deco at the 41 hotel in London.

Taking the breakfast in the "library" was a truly enjoyable experience.

The main door of the 41 hotel is not the same kind as you could expect from other 5 stars hotels, but once in your room or in the lobby upstair, you forget that minor disappointment.

The rooms are well equipped in a special English style. The 41 hotel is a true "délice".

We stayed at many 5 stars in London, but this one if our favorite one.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
6 Thank SWcritic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cambridge, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 April 2012

After spending the night with a friend and parents at Hotel 41 for my 18th, I have to agree with every other review written about the hotel. It is definitely the place to stay in London, the service is exceptional, from the moment we arrived to the moment we left everything was catered for (even a rose for me to give to mum on Mother's day, to Julien checking we had found the hair dryer in our room!). The room was lovely, and being greeted with a glass of champagne on arrival would go down well with anyone im sure! It was all the small touches that made our stay so enjoyable (like being given a little birthday cake with afternoon tea!) All the staff were willing to help with anything, again, Julien was more than helpful finding information about going out in London, even putting us on the guest list for Funky Buddah. I would recommend the hotel to anyone, and would certainly like to return in the near future!

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CWise15
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manama, Bahrain
Level Contributor
47 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 April 2012

The Hotel 41 was, in short, the best hotel I have ever stayed at, and saying that does not come lightly. The hotel is beyond words- the stay was as close to perfect as you will get, anywhere in the world. There are hotels then there is the Hotel 41- it is like having a home on Buckingham Palace Road, not just a room or suite to stay in. The hotel staff become like family, or at the very least a 'team' you have in London which you can depend on, and never need to think twice about making the most out of world requests, some which you would never make anywhere else. For someone who has experienced some of the best hotels in the world, none, and I mean none, come close to offering what the Hotel 41 offers. Forget the fact that this there is a beautiful, balanced ambiance of a luxurious, exclusive private club, or that the designers have thought of absolutely everything within the rooms/suites to make a for a very pleasant, ultra-high quality feel, for ultimately it is the wonderful staff, the people, that truly make this property shine. They will do all that they can to help you, and as previously stated, you will know each one by name. For a hotel with only 29 rooms, everyone is well acquainted with everyone, even during the shortest of stays. The attention to detail is beyond anything else, on Easter they had a beautiful collection of high quality chocolates, the small touches go a very long way- but all the major aspects you would expect of this, or any hotel are too in check.
At the end of every busy day, I would truly look forward to come back to the warmth of 41. Prior, I was considering the Four Seasons, The May Fair, The Ritz- now I know you'd be bonkers to go anywhere other than the 41. Why would you? For within this small, boutique London hotel, you will find utter perfection.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank malioil
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these London hotels
South Kensington
The Milestone Hotel
The Milestone Hotel
#2 of 1,089 in London
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,822 reviews
Bloomsbury
The Montague on The Gardens
Westminster
Taj 51 Buckingham Gate Suites and Residences
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Chelsea
Egerton House Hotel
Egerton House Hotel
#4 of 1,089 in London
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,275 reviews
Mayfair
The Beaumont
The Beaumont
#3 of 1,089 in London
5.0 of 5 bubbles 325 reviews
Mayfair
The Chesterfield Mayfair
The Chesterfield Mayfair
#11 of 1,089 in London
5.0 of 5 bubbles 3,018 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel 41? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel 41

Property: Hotel 41
Address: 41 Buckingham Palace Road, London SW1W 0PS, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > London > Westminster
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in London
#1 Luxury Hotel in London
#1 Romantic Hotel in London
#6 Business Hotel in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Hotel 41 5*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Luxury hotel with club like atmosphere & 21st century business technology; near Buckingham Palace & Westend theatre. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Travelocity and Booking.com so you can book your Hotel 41 reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
41 Hotel London

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing