We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A Haven of Tranquillity and Charm”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Hotel 41

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Hotel 41
Ranked #1 of 1,088 Hotels in London
Co. Antrim
Level Contributor
48 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
“A Haven of Tranquillity and Charm”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 April 2012

Hotel 41 is at the centre of London's tourist hotspots but on entering the hotel guests are immediately in a calm, tranquil setting. Reception, check-in, all guest rooms and dining areas are on the 5th floor, reached by lift. The lounge, where breakfast and light meals are served is lovely - shades of genteel grandeur. The staff, as many other reviewers have stated, are friendly, helpful and professional. We were greeted with glasses of champagne, chocolates in the room, many extras. We were made to feel like guests - rather than clients. We were addressed by name and with a smile and nothing was overlooked. A very pleasant short break.

Room Tip: We had an executive room: Very nice although quite small.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank ScamallNaoi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,670 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    2,427
    175
    50
    13
    5
See reviews for
353
1,599
133
268
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (352)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Winchester
Level Contributor
15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 April 2012

This was our second visit, the first our wedding night last year and this year for our first anniversary. To have a fantastic time yet in relaxed surroundings, this is a real treat.

This is a fabulous place, the only thing I would say is the rooms are smaller than expected but don't let that put you off as it is a real experience in service. Monika is wonderful.

  • Stayed April 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Kfletcher2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Milano
Level Contributor
23 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 April 2012

We keep coming back to London just to stay at this wonderful hotel. Being our 3rd time there we truly feel at home now and, as the staff is always so chatty and friendly it almost seems we go back there visiting some old friends. This time we were upgraded to the split level suite which is amazing...at the entrance you have a small tv room with a table where you can relax at evening or have breakfast in the morning, upstair you have the very spacious bedroom and the bathroom. We loved the suite and had enough space to have a couple massage in room! I also had make up and hair done in room and the artist recommended by the hotel was amazing. I am a messy person so asked for a lot of different bookings for restaurants and shopping and the hotel staff was amazing as always helping me out and making sure we were always happy. They also came with me to the tube station helping me out with the oyster card request! We had breakfast there every morning and also a dinner and a lunch and food is amazing...I truly recommend the egg florentines, egg benedict, chicken in peanut sauce, mushroom fritters and chicken burger with avocado...delicious! They also made their best with my dairy intolerance! I really cannot say one negative thing about this hotel or the staff, can just suggest anyone to stay there but be prepared...you will want to go back there very often! For the first time you go there I really suggest winter when the fireplace in the lounge is working and everything looks even more cozy!

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
9 Thank LaSignoraLaura
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
42 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 April 2012

Wonderful, friendly, conscientious and helpful staff made our stay in this beautiful hotel a fantastic experience. The room was lovely, especially when decked out with candles and rose petals!

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Rebecca M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bedford
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 April 2012

My wife and I hugely enjoyed our stay at '41' for 2 nights last weekend.

The property was not originally built as a hotel, so the rooms are not 'cookie cutter' copies of each other, and ours was quite small. But, it was a complimentary upgrade from a standard Double, the fittings and contents of the room were well thought out, and the bed was huge and we slept in deep feathery comfort!

There are only around 30 rooms in the hotel, and the main public space is a large, bright and comfortable Library, with a cosy mezzanine level for extra privacy. The small number of rooms, the numerous well trained staff, their attentive but not intrusive service and the fact that checkin, checkout, meals and the bar are all in this one lovely space gives the hotel a small, cosy, comfortable atmosphere.

Speaking of meals, we particularly appreciated the 'plunder the pantry' feature, where the staff lay out meats, cheeses, fruit etc in a small buffet for you to help yourself when you get back from the theatre (or if hunger strikes during the night!).

The location is good, opposite the Palace Mews and convenient to Victoria Tube station for getting around.

Thanks to the constant attention from Frederic and his staff we truly felt welcome at 41, and it makes a welcome change from large, anonymous hotels.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Paul H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 April 2012

I need a dictionary of superlatives to describe the experience here. Was it the chess game over canapes in the library lounge? Was it the complimentary overnight shoe shine service? Was it the offer of a choice of the next day's newspapers in multiple languages upon arrival? Was it the personalised card welcoming us to the hotel on our desk? Was it the Belgian chocolates and muesli bars available all day? Was it the surprise turndown service which saw our king size bed covered in rose petals? Thanks to the courteous, smiling and professional staff who outnumbered the guests, this is sure to be a highlight of any hotel stay. Couldn't recommend it highly enough.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank jennz_aus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 April 2012

There is so much I could write about this stay but to start with this was the best 24 hours (26 in fact) I've ever spent in a hotel!

I'll briefly start with a couple of small improvement areas - 1) the TV cabinet is mirrored and if you're not careful you could break the mirror as the door opens on to the fireplace, 2) black out blinds would be better as in the morning the room was a bit too light and 3) a bigger TV would be ideal (and would fit in the TV cabinet)

Apart from these points everything else was pretty much perfect. There isn't huge amounts I can add to the other reviews but I'll give it a go! My immediate reaction upon spotting the 41 canopy was I'm not too sure about this location as it's on a busy road but I needn't have worried. We were greeted on the ground floor and advised somebody was coming down to greet us and escort us upstairs. The chap who greeted us was Ramon or Roman (apologies but the name slips my mind) but was very welcoming and made us feel at ease immediately.

Upon arrival in the Executive Lounge we were seated at reception and offered a glass of champagne - if only all hotels welcomed you like this! After checking in we were given a tour of he public areas (admittedly small but it's a small hotel so it has everything you need) and then taken to our room and given an in depth tour of the stunning black and white themed room.

The room, as you can see from the photos, was stunning and a good size given the location. Waiting for us in the room were some lovely macarons (yes that's one "o" Karolina ;-)), nougat and chocolates.

The Executive Lounge came complete with free snacks and an honesty bar (with, for example, 6 different gins) so we made the most of us this and sat on a comfy sofa with other snacks, popcorn and canapes as time rolled away. In the early evening they also offer a "Plunder the Pantry" option which included, on our evening, a number of meats, cheeses, salads and fruits of which you can eat as much as you wanted.

Before we knew it the time was 9pm so we popped out for a quick walk to get some fresh air but we couldn't stay away for long and were back within 15 minutes. On returning to our room we found a birthday mousse cake which was stunning - it looked huge but was so light that we ate it all within a few minutes. The hotel had also spread rose petals on the floor, bed, bedside table and surrounding candles that they'd lit - it's these small gestures that elevate this hotel and help it justify number 1 hotel in London on Trip Advisor

Breakfast was very tasty and was in fact more like Brunch given we got there at 11.30ish - Full English and Eggs Florentine, although they did kindly give us a South African sausage to try, which comes highly recommended. As the hotel wasn't full the next day they also offered us a late checkout (4pm) and we were never going to turn that down!

However 4pm soon came round and it meant we had to leave (after spending 25hrs 45 minutes of the previous 26 hours inside the hotel)

Yes the hotel is expensive but for a special treat it's absolutely worth it - will I go back? Absolutely! I can easily see why some people have called this the most romantic hotel in London; I'd also say it's the most relaxing as well - if you stay here just stay in and experience the staff, bedroom, exeucitve lounge and ambience to its full!

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank deekaypee999
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these London hotels
Kensington and Hyde Park
The Milestone Hotel
The Milestone Hotel
#2 of 1,088 in London
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,853 reviews
Westminster
Taj 51 Buckingham Gate Suites and Residences
Bloomsbury
The Montague on The Gardens
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Chelsea
Egerton House Hotel
Egerton House Hotel
#3 of 1,088 in London
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,303 reviews
Mayfair
The Beaumont
The Beaumont
#7 of 1,088 in London
5.0 of 5 bubbles 341 reviews
Westminster
The Goring
The Goring
#9 of 1,088 in London
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,223 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel 41? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel 41

Property: Hotel 41
Address: 41 Buckingham Palace Road, London SW1W 0PS, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > London > Westminster
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in London
#1 Romantic Hotel in London
#1 Family Hotel in London
#6 Business Hotel in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Hotel 41 5*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Luxury hotel with club like atmosphere & 21st century business technology; near Buckingham Palace & Westend theatre. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Travelocity.ca, Booking.com, Agoda, Cancelon, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel 41 reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
41 Hotel London

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing