We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Another brilliant stay”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
The Montague on The Gardens
Ranked #11 of 1,077 Hotels in London
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Reviewed 21 April 2012

Having stayed at other 2 different hotels from The Red Carnation group, I had high expectations about the Montague. And I was not disappointed! The hotel is located right next to the British Museum, in a quiet side street. We booked a Junior suite overlooking a lovely garden. The room is large enough to accomodate a family of 3, and nicely decorated. Complimentary wifi is a nice touch, and the breakfast-included rate is a must. The guest areas are pleasant, we had a meal at the bar, very good, nice atmosphere with a pianist. The staff is what really makes a difference at Red Carnation hotels, and once everyone was charming. Really glad we chose The Montague as our base in London!

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank claudiaspiandorim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MontagueLondon, General Manager at The Montague on The Gardens, responded to this reviewResponded 24 April 2012

Dear Guest

Thank you for taking the time to share your lovely feedback following your recent stay at The Montague and I was pleased that we met your expectations.

At Red Carnation Hotels we pride ourselves in providing excellent customer service and hospitality and I was delighted to hear that this was recognised.

I hope that we have the pleasure of welcoming you back to one of the Red Carnation Hotels in London soon.

Yours sincerely

Dirk Crokaert
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (4,310)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2,903 - 2,909 of 4,310 reviews

Reviewed 20 April 2012

Stayed here for three nights for a holiday break in London. The hotel is centrally located for theatre, shops & museums. The rooms are very individually decorated to a high standard. The only comment on the room was the bathroom was quite small. The staff were very helpful and friendly and happy to advice on shopping and things to do. There was a great buffet style breakfast and free wi-fi which is unusual in London. Would certainly recommend this hotel if you are staying in London.

Stayed: April 2012
Thank IainR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MontagueLondon, General Manager at The Montague on The Gardens, responded to this reviewResponded 24 April 2012

Dear Guest

Thank you for your nice comments about the Montague and I was happy to hear that you found the staff to be very helpful and friendly.

Thank you for personally recommending us to others and we do hope that we have the pleasure of welcoming you back soon.

Yours sincerely

Dirk Crokaert
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 April 2012

We were staying in London for just one night - early morning Eurostar from Paris, returning the next evening. Fashion shopping expedition. The Hotel is very well placed (not far from St Pancras International station) and in a pleasant part of Lodon - Bloomsbury - and a short walk to High Holborn tube station on the central line. The staff were very welcoming and the concierge upgraded our room to a suite. The hotel provided brunch when we checked in and a snack and a beverages when we were waiting to leave. These were good but not inexpensive. The doormen and checkin people orgnanised taxis and were very helpful with maps and directions. Room was small but comfortable and bed was good. Quiet and restful stay.

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Emmjay1953
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MontagueLondon, General Manager at The Montague on The Gardens, responded to this reviewResponded 24 April 2012

Dear Guest

Thank you for your nice comments on your recent stay at The Montague and I was delighted to hear that you found the staff to be very friendly and helpful.

I do hope that we have the pleasure of welcoming you back in future.

Yours sincerely

Dirk Crokaert
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 April 2012

We stayed at the Montague for four nights on a recent trip to London and were completely charmed by it. It's in a wonderful location in Bloomsbury, around the corner from the British Museum, and very near the Russell Square tube station. Yet the Montague is amazingly quiet and manages, with its garden views, to make you forget you're in the middle of an enormous city. The hotel itself is beautifully decorated, the rooms are very comfortable (complete with turndown service) and the staff could not have been nicer or more helpful. One (a native of Italy) was even able to help us with a phone call about our transportation in Lucca! I can't imagine staying anywhere else in London now. I heartily recommend the Montague on the Gardens.

Room Tip: Rooms toward the back seem quietest, even those on the ground floor. But I wouldn't call any of...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Patricia G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MontagueLondon, General Manager at The Montague on The Gardens, responded to this reviewResponded 24 April 2012

Dear Guest

Thank you for your lovely feedback on your recent stay with us.

I was thrilled to hear that you had an enjoyable time with us and that we were able to help with transportation recommendations abroad.

Thank you for recommending us to others and we look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

Yours sincerely

Dirk Crokaert
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 April 2012

Just returned from celebrating our 1st Wedding Anniversary & our stay at The Montague on the Gardens was amazing!! Wonderful welcoming reception from Vanessa, beautiful room (203), spotlessly clean, excellent service all round & attention to detail second to none. We would thoroughly recommend this hotel to anyone looking for a bit of luxury in a fantastic location who appreciate excellent customer service & one of the best full english breakfasts we've ever eaten. We can't wait to go back again soon!!

  • Stayed: April 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Nessie1313
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MontagueLondon, General Manager at The Montague on The Gardens, responded to this reviewResponded 24 April 2012

Dear Guest

Thank you for sharing your very complimentary comments about your first Wedding Anniversary celebration at The Montague.

I was thrilled to read that you found the service and attention to detail to be second to none.

I was glad to hear that Vanessa provided you with a wonderful welcome and I will ensure that her service is duly recognised.

We look forward to welcoming you back very soon.

Yours sincerely

Dirk Crokaert
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 April 2012

I have stayed several times at this hotel, and the staff is one of the most service-minded and helpful I have experienced. The local bistro has excellent food, and the hotel is quiet and comfortable.

On the negative side, the rooms are a bit small. But I will stay here again due to the location and the service.

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Harris71
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MontagueLondon, General Manager at The Montague on The Gardens, responded to this reviewResponded 24 April 2012

Dear Guest

Thank you for sharing your feedback about your stay at The Montague and I was delighted to hear that you found the service to be outstanding.

We look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

Yours sincerely

Dirk Crokaert
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 April 2012

We stayed at the Montague on the Gardens for 3 nights for a mini honeymoon. The room was very comfortable and a good size. We were very well looked after by all of the staff and nothing was a trouble ( I had a badly sprained foot and the staff brought ice to the room each time we returned from site seeing)
Breakfast was lovely with a wide variety of options. We ordered room service one evening and the food was very tasty and well presented. All the little touches made all the difference and we will most certainly return in the Autumn!

Room Tip: The room we had on the ground floor was very peaceful and a good size
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Sam G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MontagueLondon, General Manager at The Montague on The Gardens, responded to this reviewResponded 24 April 2012

Dear Guest

Thank you for your lovely comments following your recent visit to The Montague and I was delighted to read that your honeymoon with us was an occasion to remember.

I was pleased to hear that you enjoyed the little touches that we provide and that we will be able to welcome you back in the Autumn.

Yours sincerely

Dirk Crokaert
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these London hotels
Mayfair
The Chesterfield Mayfair
The Chesterfield Mayfair
#13 of 1,077 in London
3,342 reviews
Trafalgar Square / Embankment
Amba Hotel Charing Cross
Amba Hotel Charing Cross
#21 of 1,077 in London
4,011 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Marylebone
The Montcalm London Marble Arch
Soho
The Piccadilly London West End
Westminster
Hotel 41
Hotel 41
#1 of 1,077 in London
2,861 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Montague on The Gardens? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Montague on The Gardens

Address: 15 Montague Street, Bloomsbury, London WC1B 5BJ, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > London > Bloomsbury
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Family Hotel in London
#4 Green Hotel in London
#7 Business Hotel in London
#9 Romantic Hotel in London
#11 Luxury Hotel in London
Price Range: $292 - $623 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Montague on The Gardens 4*
Number of rooms: 99
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, DerbySoft Ltd Shanghai HQ Supplier Direct, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, Travelocity.ca, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Montague on The Gardens reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Montague On The Gardens Hotel London
The Montague On Gardens
Montague On The Gardens London
Montague Gardens

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing