We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Don't miss out on their Afternoon Tea!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
The Montague on The Gardens
Ranked #11 of 1,069 Hotels in London
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Level 2 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Don't miss out on their Afternoon Tea!”
Reviewed 8 June 2012

Did not stay at the Hotel but visited for Afternoon Tea. We made a late afternoon reservation and was seated in a small but bright room near the entrance. It was pretty quiet with only two other couples. Service was top notch – warm and welcoming staff, excellent information of their teas offered, multiple refills of hot water, and fresh scones with clotted cream (my fav!). They also did not hesitate to bring out extras of all the items we enjoyed. We left very happy and with extremely full tummies. We will definitely return on our next trip!

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank etan_travels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MontagueLondon, General Manager at The Montague on The Gardens, responded to this review, 12 June 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your nice comments following your visit to the Hotel.

I was pleased to read that you found our afternoon tea service and offering to be outstanding and I am delighted that we will have the pleasure of welcoming you back on your return visit.

Yours sincerely,

Dirk Crokaert
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

4,210 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    3,451
    629
    97
    24
    9
See reviews for
712
2,054
278
572
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (763)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Chelmsford, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 June 2012

This is one of the best hotels I have ever been to in London and that included staying at The Ritz, The Connaught, Langham and the Dorchester.
The staff outnumber the guests 2 to 1 I would estimate, and really want you to have a good time during your stay. Nothing is too much trouble. The rooms are small but well furnished, the breakfast is superb and the whole place is just so relaxing. We will now never use any other hotel when going upto London and wanting to stay around Bloomsbury/Covent Garden.
My girlfriend has been here before and she can vouch for their hospitality, do yourself a favour and book in here, you will not regret it.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Nick K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MontagueLondon, General Manager at The Montague on The Gardens, responded to this review, 12 June 2012
Dear Guest,

I would like to thank you for taking the time to share your very complementary feedback on your recent stay at the Montague.

I am delighted to hear that you found the hospitality that we provide to be outstanding and I am pleased that we will be your first choice when visiting London.

We look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Yours sincerely,

Dirk Crokaert
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oslo, Norway
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 June 2012

This was our 3 stay at the Montague, and as always we had a wonderfull stay. The rooms are very smal but we knew that:) And I wish that we could have our breakfast outside on the terasse because the sun was out and the dinning room very very busy. The only room avalibly for us in the evening was the bar and we would like to enjoy more of the wonderfull places at the hotel... BUT the staff and the charm of the Hotel is fantastic! Very helpfull and very british. So there is no other place to stay for me and my sister in London. So many thanks to all of the staf. Best regards from Marianne Norway.

Room Tip: Take the Superior double room:)
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Marianne A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MontagueLondon, General Manager at The Montague on The Gardens, responded to this review, 8 June 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you for sharing your lovely feedback about your recent stay at the Hotel.

Firstly I would like to apologise if you were not able to use all the facilities in the hotel during your stay. On occasion we do host private functions that will take up some of our public areas, however we always ensure that some areas are available to our inhouse guests.

I was sorry to hear that you did not manage to have breakfast on our Terrace. During the summer we do serve breakfast daily in this area, please accept my apologies if this was not the case or if this was not explained to you.

I was pleased to hear that you find the hotel and the staff fantastic and that the Montague is your preferred choice in London.

We look forward to your next visit to the Hotel.

Yours sincerely,

Dirk Crokaert
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
washington, va
Level 5 Contributor
64 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 June 2012

We love the Montague, more than any of the dozen hotels where we have stayed in the past year or so (on three continents, and including a far more expensive one in Mayfair). The accommodations combine the charm of a B&B with the comfort of a luxury hotel. The tranquility of the garden outside our room windows was an almost surreal antidote to the restlessness of the city. The location is perfect, not only for "just dropping in" at the British Museum any time, but also for a daily after-breakfast "constitutional" in Russell Square, for being surrounded by the youth of University College London, for ambling through Bloomsbury, etc. Even the best ccommodations and location, however, will not guarantee a happy stay if the human element is lacking. This is where the Montague truly shines, as an exquisitely and thoughtfully managed establishment, with a team in which everyone, absolutely *everyone*, maintains the (not always easy) balance between friendliness and efficiency. We thank you, Mr. Crokaert and the entire Montague staff, for your hospitality, and we look forward to a return visit in a few weeks (July 6-12)!

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank trimardWashington_Va
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MontagueLondon, General Manager at The Montague on The Gardens, responded to this review, 8 June 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your lovely feedback following your recent stay at the Montague.

I was absolutely thrilled to read your kind words about the hotel and the staff and I am delighted that you enjoyed the hospitality that we provide.

It was a pleasure looking after you and we look forward to welcoming you back in July.

Yours sincerely,

Dirk Crokaert
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Diego, California
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 4 June 2012

We had a wonderful time...the staff were all very helpful and we really felt at home...the food was also excellent. We had the most fun visiting in the garden room which is right off the bar area...my husband is a smoker and this is the smoking area. The room provides a view of the gardens and is warm and cozy. When we arrived with our grandson, the adjoining rooms they had assigned to us were not going to work for us...they immediately moved us to a large room with an additional sleeping are....they were most accommadating and we did't really have to ask. Next time we visit London, we plan on staying at the Montague!

Room Tip: We had a room with windows that faced the garden....this is a residential area of London...quiet but...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Judy K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MontagueLondon, General Manager at The Montague on The Gardens, responded to this review, 6 June 2012
Dear Guest

I was very pleased to receive your lovely review on your recent stay at The Montague on the Gardens, and am delighted to read that the staff were all helpful, you found the food to be excellent and that you felt at home with us.

We look forward to welcoming you back during your next visit to London.

Yours sincerely

Dirk Crokaert
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Queanbeyan, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 June 2012

We arrived at the Montague at 6.00am after a long flight from Singapore. Our room was not available however we were offered an upgrade (Junior Suite) by an extremely pleasant receptionist (Natasha) and it was worth every dollar/pound. Nothing was too much trouble - the staff at this hotel are extraordinarily pleasant and helpful and we were continually surprised at the attitude of these folk......thank you so much all of you.

I understand this hotel has recently been renovated - well, it's a renovation that is beyond description - exquisitely tasteful and a credit to whoever was responsible.

The location: perfect! About 1 minute's walk from the British Museum - I'm only sorry I didn't have time to spend all day and the next exploring.

Thank you Montague for everything - it was the best of the best of our accommodations on our travels. You deserve to be higher than No. 10 in London :-)

Room Tip: The junior suite was roomy and very, very comfortable. I just can't think of anything negative...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Judy R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MontagueLondon, General Manager at The Montague on The Gardens, responded to this review, 6 June 2012
Dear Guest

I was absolutely delighted to read your glowing review regarding your recent stay at The Montague on the Gardens Hotel.

I was very pleased to read that you found our staff, especially Natasha, to be so pleasant and helpful and that they helped to make your stay with us so memorable.

I am thrilled that we were your favourite hotel on your travels and I do hope that we have the pleasure of welcoming you back some time in the future.

Yours sincerely

Dirk Crokaert
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leighton Buzzard, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 June 2012

this is the second time my wife and I have been here, when i asked her what she wanted for her birthday a stay at the Montague was her answer, I emailed them and ordered a bottle of champagne for our room on arrival, then about 1/2 hour later we also had a card and a box of biscuits from the manager,later that evening in the bar when we were having Drinks she had a mini cheese cake,ice cream with a candle from the restaurant Manager. When we got into the room there was a balloon and cake, all the staff are very friendly and can not do enough for you. Rooms are clean, tea and coffee restocked during the day, and in the evening when you return to your room to find the beds turned down and a small treat on the pillows. great food..highly recommended,We will be back again soon

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Andy B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MontagueLondon, General Manager at The Montague on The Gardens, responded to this review, 6 June 2012
Dear Guest

It was a pleasure to read your review regarding your recent stay at The Montague on the Gardens Hotel.

I am delighted that we were able to make your wife’s birthday so special and that you both had a memorable stay with us.

We look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Yours sincerely

Dirk Crokaert
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these London hotels
Mayfair
The Chesterfield Mayfair
The Chesterfield Mayfair
#13 of 1,069 in London
3,217 reviews
Trafalgar Square / Embankment
Amba Hotel Charing Cross
Amba Hotel Charing Cross
#20 of 1,069 in London
3,800 reviews
Soho
The Piccadilly London West End
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Westminster
Hotel 41
Hotel 41
#1 of 1,069 in London
2,790 reviews
Marylebone
The Montcalm London Marble Arch
Soho
The Nadler Soho
The Nadler Soho
#34 of 1,069 in London
2,221 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Montague on The Gardens? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Montague on The Gardens

Property: The Montague on The Gardens
Address: 15 Montague Street, Bloomsbury, London WC1B 5BJ, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > London > Bloomsbury
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Family Hotel in London
#4 Green Hotel in London
#7 Business Hotel in London
#9 Romantic Hotel in London
#11 Luxury Hotel in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Montague on The Gardens 4*
Number of rooms: 99
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity.ca, Priceline, Evoline ltd, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your The Montague on The Gardens reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Montague On The Gardens Hotel London
The Montague On Gardens
Montague On The Gardens London
Montague Gardens

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing