We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“Good old fashioned service, brilliant!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Chesterfield Mayfair

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
The Chesterfield Mayfair
Ranked #12 of 1,087 Hotels in London
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Basingstoke, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Good old fashioned service, brilliant!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 February 2012

Only spent one night at The Chesterfield to coincide with the David Hockney exhibition which was just around the corner at the Royal Academy. The tickets were part of the deal with the Chesterfield and were well worth the money. The staff were very attentive, the room was great, we had dinner which was superb and the breakfast was amazing. It would be difficult and unfair to find fault when I believe that the hotel had tried its best to impress which it did admirably. Highly recommended and will be staying again when the occasion arises.

Room Tip: Try to avoid rooms that are near the air conditioning fans, they run all the time.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank mark_lefley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
oraggett, General Manager at The Chesterfield Mayfair, responded to this review, 23 February 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your brilliant feedback from your stay with us.

It was a pleasure to have you stay with us and I am delighted to read that we were able to provide such exceptional service during you stay. It is always good to receive such positive feedback from our guests and I will be sure to pass your lovely comments on to all our staff members.

Thank you, too, for your wonderful feedback about your dinner and breakfast which our Executive Chef and his team will be pleased to hear about

We look forward to welcoming you back again in the near future.

Kind regards,

Oliver
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,960 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    2,446
    396
    79
    27
    12
See reviews for
567
1,290
176
343
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (380)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
201 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 240 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 February 2012

From being met at the door and having the car taken away/parked and valeted, to leaving the next morning we could not find a single fault with the Chesterfield Mayfair. For sure the best hotel we've visited in London and one of the best we stayed in anywhere in the World. Such welcoming staff, and attention to detail that is normally missing in todays hotels. We really look forward to staying again and whole heartedly recommend the hotel with an A+.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MuffinManMatty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
oraggett, General Manager at The Chesterfield Mayfair, responded to this review, 23 February 2012
Dear Guest,

We appreciate the time you have taken to write such a pleasing review from your stay with us.

I am thrilled to read that you had wonderful stay with us. I will be sharing your kind comments with my team about their service, and I know how pleased everyone will be to hear that their efforts to deliver an exceptional experience have been appreciated.

I look forward to welcoming you back to The Chesterfield Mayfair again in the near future.

Kind regards,

Oliver
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Morpeth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
27 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 February 2012

I stayed at the Chesterfield Mayfair last weekend and I had a great stay. On arrival we were allocated a room on the third floor directly adjacent to the air conditioning units; when I questioned the reception staff as to whether these were turned off at night as they were quite noisy they told me they ran 24 hours a day but they offered a free upgrade to a junior suite instead. Fantastic. This level of customer service pretty much sums up the attitude of the staff; nothing was too much for them and they went out of their way to ensure we had a pleasant, enjoyable stay. I would definitely stay here again. Many thanks :-)

Room Tip: Avoid any rooms nest to the air conditioning units if the noise would be a problem.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Wend_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
oraggett, General Manager at The Chesterfield Mayfair, responded to this review, 14 February 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to write your review from your recent stay with us.

I’m delighted to hear that you enjoyed your stay at The Chesterfield Mayfair. I will be sharing your kind comments with my team about their service and the speed in which the issue with your room was resolved to ensure you had a brilliant stay with us.

I look forward to welcoming you back to The Chesterfield Mayfair Hotel in the near future.

Kind regards,

Oliver
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dubai
Level Contributor
22 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 February 2012

A beautiful boutique hotel , very centrally located ;however, I felt the treatment is more of the big business hotels.

This is not to say that it is a bad one.But since I have been staying at similar hotels I was expecting a more personal sort of service or treatment.There are 2 small issues or incidents I would like to mention.

1: My wife's birthday was taking place during our stay.I informed the hotel upon my reservation and they promised to send some sort of gift.But we left a day earlier.Checking out on my wife's birthday.And they didn't send nothing.I had to remind them, and then they sent some cup cakes and a birthday card.Now this is a very small issue but may be we can move to the second one.

2 Upon checkout I forgot to take out thge passports from the safe deposit.Luckily we were still in London for two more days.They could have just called to remind me.I could have been on my way to the airport.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank kamalysf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
oraggett, General Manager at The Chesterfield Mayfair, responded to this review, 15 February 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review from your stay in December.

I am pleased to read that you enjoyed our central location and our beautiful hotel. However I am surprised to read that the service was similar to that of a big hotel as we pride ourselves on our personal and friendly service with each guest.

Thank you for your comments about your wife’s birthday. At The Chesterfield Mayfair we take immense pride in helping our guests celebrate their special occasion, adding those special touches such as personal cards and cupcakes on arrival or the actual birthday date if we know this. As the amended departure date fell on your wife’s birthday we had to change our delivery time for the treats and this was done accordingly before you left the hotel. I apologise that this was not communicated to you properly and you had to bring this to our attention.

With regards to the passport and contacting you once you had left, unfortunately we did not have a number to call you and the email address was invalid with no emails going through. I apologise that we did not have the correct information and were unable to reach you effectively. Please rest assured we will provide additional training to establish the correct guest information to ensure a similar situation is not experienced again.

Thank you for choosing to stay at The Chesterfield Mayfair, we look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel in the near future.

Kind regards,

Oliver
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 February 2012

Always our choice hotel and especially when the home Rugby Internationals are being played.
It was recently the perfect base for a family reunion with all the key sights easily within walking distance but with the Green Park underground station nearby and a taxi service at the door if preferred.
The staff are very friendly,polite and helpful. The rooms adequately meet all the needs as one would expect at a hotel of this standing. Perhaps one of the most important features of The Chesterfield Hotel is the breakfast which really is second to none.
Our next stay is fast approaching when England v Ireland in the Six Nations Championship.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank batesgraham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
oraggett, General Manager at The Chesterfield Mayfair, responded to this review, 14 February 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your wonderful feedback from your recent stay with us.

I’m delighted to hear that you enjoyed your stay at The Chesterfield Mayfair and we were the perfect base for all the family to reunite together. I will be sharing your kind comments with my team, and I know how pleased everyone will be to hear that their efforts to deliver an exceptional experience have been appreciated.

Thank you for your great feedback about out the breakfast, we believe a good breakfast is key to a great day ahead; the Chef will be delighted to read your comments.

I look forward to welcoming you back for the next Six Nations Championship game in March.

Kind regards,

Oliver
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
York, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 February 2012

We have visited on many occasions and never have we been disappointed. The afternoon tea is totally delicious, breakfasts exceptional and the Butlers Restaurant for dinner offers a very varied menu reasonably priced considering the location and excellent food. The staff are very welcoming and friendly.
We are looking forward to our next visit in April.
Pauline & Peter

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Peter D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
oraggett, General Manager at The Chesterfield Mayfair, responded to this review, 14 February 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your brilliant feedback from your stay with us.

It was a pleasure to have you stay with us and I am delighted to read that you were able to enjoy our brilliant food during you stay. It is always good to receive such positive feedback from our guests and I will be sure to pass your lovely comments on to all our staff members.

We look forward to welcoming you back again next in April.

Kind regards,

Oliver
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Orlando, Florida, United States
Level Contributor
14 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 February 2012

Loved the look and feel of this place. Very british in decor.Walking distance to pubs restaurants and subway

Room Tip: We were on street which was not busy but very noisy
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Rachel F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
oraggett, General Manager at The Chesterfield Mayfair, responded to this review, 14 February 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review from your recent stay with us.

I am so pleased to read that you enjoyed your stay with us. Thank you highlighting what a brilliant location we have; I am sure your fellow travellers will appreciate your feedback.

I look forward to welcoming you back again in the near future.

Kind regards,

Oliver
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these London hotels
Bloomsbury
The Montague on The Gardens
Westminster
Hotel 41
Hotel 41
#2 of 1,087 in London
5.0 of 5 bubbles 2,591 reviews
Soho
The Nadler Soho
The Nadler Soho
#23 of 1,087 in London
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,973 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Trafalgar Square / Embankment
Amba Hotel Charing Cross
Amba Hotel Charing Cross
#14 of 1,087 in London
5.0 of 5 bubbles 3,246 reviews
Chelsea
Egerton House Hotel
Egerton House Hotel
#3 of 1,087 in London
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,232 reviews
Westminster
Taj 51 Buckingham Gate Suites and Residences
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Chesterfield Mayfair? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Chesterfield Mayfair

Property: The Chesterfield Mayfair
Address: 35 Charles Street | Mayfair, London W1J 5EB, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > London > Mayfair
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#4 Family Hotel in London
#12 Luxury Hotel in London
#13 Romantic Hotel in London
#17 Green Hotel in London
#41 Business Hotel in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Chesterfield Mayfair 4*
Number of rooms: 93
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Enviably located in exclusive Mayfair, near to designer shopping and many of the city's most iconic attractions, the Regency style hotel feels comparable to a traditional private club. Quiet, calm and efficient service blends with supreme comfort and luxury. Guest rooms and deluxe suites combine superb facilities with relaxing surroundings. The Library, Butlers Restaurant, Conservatory and intimate bar cater for every culinary whim or inclination. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Evoline ltd, Expedia, Priceline, Asiatravel.com Holdings and Travelocity.ca so you can book your The Chesterfield Mayfair reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Chesterfield Mayfair Hotel London
Chesterfield Mayfair Hotel
Chesterfield Mayfair London

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing