We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“I would rather stay in a tent!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Royal Norfolk Hotel
Ranked #882 of 1,088 Hotels in London
Aylesbury, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“I would rather stay in a tent!”
Reviewed 6 June 2012

Stayed here for the Jubilee weekend with daughter and grandchildren in 4bed room. When we arrived, after requesting full payment, the receptionist said there was no lift and we were on the 4th floor! I walk with a stick and would not have booked the hotel if I had known that there was no lift to the 1st floor let alone the 4th.
The carpets were threadbare and the dirt was encrusted on the windows. The curtains haven't been cleaned for a long, long time.
The English breakfast seemed to be made from the cheapest ingredients they could find - the toast was the best part.
Avoid at all costs!

Room Tip: Go somewhere else
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Rita B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

717 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    36
    103
    236
    156
    186
See reviews for
121
255
82
45
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    2 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (105)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Pune
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 June 2012

An Indian family traveling to London for a good time, wants to stay at a central place...so we saw some reviews and locked on to staying in Paddington area and chose this hotel. For a GBP 105, this is one of the worst choices I made in my hotel booking history. Things didn't look right from the first interaction at the reception. It is small dingy hotel next to Paddington station which is over charging and primarily selling because of proximity to the station. Arrogant staff greets us at the hotel. Since they didn't have a communication about us needing three bedded room( which I wrote to the manager on email and he confirmed), I wanted to see and confirm the room. I was snidefully asked "Which country are you from?".I could not gauge what is the connection between showing me the room and asking the country I come from. Once I saw the room, it was barely managing three beds. Window won;t open and there is no cooling available in the summer of London. Toilet+bathroom was reduced to a fibreglass ready-made cubical where if you you take shower you might knock a few fittings down as there is hardly any space left. I saw the cleaning staff walking around like zombies and the place was far from being a welcoming stay for a family. We requested for an early breakfast as we had to catch a flight next morning and the answer was obvious. NO.

Room Tip: Just walk to the paddington station and chose the hotels after looking at the rooms. Mercure is clos...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank WanderBard
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these London hotels

Wales
Level Contributor
48 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 May 2012

Not recommended. As said by other reviewers this is a typical inexpensive hotel in the Paddington area but do give it a miss. It is more like a hostel and a poorly run one at that. Very small shappy cramped rooms. We were on the first floor--lucky as there is no lift --but there was a lot of noise from the kitchen staff. They had no regard for guests in rooms that were close to kitchen. Most staff rather unhelpful and surly. They could learn some customer care skills and to smile a little more. It felt like we were doing them a favour staying there!! Breakfast served to you but poor quality and done on the cheap. No doubt this hotel will be full of foreign guests over the Olympics, but what a poor impression for them of UK hotels and services. Find somewhere else if you can!!

Room Tip: Go somewhere else!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Gordon J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rainy North of England
Level Contributor
12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 May 2012 via mobile

We stayed here for the location and because it was quite cheap. All I can say is that you get what you pay for. The first room we were in was like a prison cell - you had to push the bed out of the way to open the door. The second room was better it dirty and overlooked a noisy pub.
The staff were really unhelpful and did not answer the phone when you ring down for advice.

It is cheap - but you definitely get what you pay for. Great location but I am sure there are cleaner and nicer hostels for the same price.

Stayed May 2012, travelled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank shanlin123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Moscow, Russia
Level Contributor
216 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 498 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 May 2012

Old shabby facility with small rooms and cramped shower/toilet space. The only reason for choosing this place is prime location - 1 min/ to Paddington station.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank TanyaTrump
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Makati, Philippines
Level Contributor
59 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 May 2012

I'm the kind of person who tries to see the good in everything, difficult as it may be. The ONLY good point I can say about this hotel is it's proximity to Paddington Station. It is less than a minute's walk.

Now, let's move on to all my complaints. One, receptionists are unaccommodating, inattentive and bordering discourteous. Never have I entered a hospitality establishment with such unhappy staff. They are not quarrelsome; but, they're lifeless zombies.

Two, lift is broken. It could have been a non-issue had they placed us in a room on the lower floors. But no, they just had to place us at the topmost floor. I don't know how long has the lift been non-functional, but it's annoying to see one that's not working.

Three, faulty amenities. TV is old, cranky and decides to just kill itself every now and then. It seems like it's the only hotel in UK not to offer cable channels. Hot water is faulty, too.

Four, dirty furniture. This is just horrible. The top of the TV is covered in dust! It's probably the most obvious place to start cleaning, but all of them seemed to have missed it. I don't want to know the cleanliness of the hidden spaces.

Five, breakfast portions are small. Yes, I know I should be grateful for the food. But sadly, I can't help but compare it with the other hotels or B&Bs we stayed at, which offer hearty full English breakfasts. It's enough to fill you, but it won't last long.

Six, no free internet. Again, a non-issue unless you have the chance to compare with other hotels or B&Bs.

Totally not recommended.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank stephenco
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
West Midlands
Level Contributor
14 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 April 2012

Cheap hotel centrally based and that's about itll!!
Scaffolding outside of the hotel did not give a good first impression.
Guy on reception was helpful and the reception itself was ok.
My room (422) was small with a double bed, very heavy floral curtains, a sash window opening out onto a view of the back of another property, cracks in the plaster, a very small ensuite ( the shower was smaller than in a cross channel ferry ensuite ).
The room was generally tired and in much need of re-decoration.
The carpets in the hall and on the stairs were threadbare in places.
I did not stay for breakfast even though it was included in the price.
Draw your own conclusions !!!!

Room Tip: Please don't go for room 422
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank PACT04
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these London hotels
Tudor Court Hotel
#783 of 1,088 in London
610 reviews
Paddington / Maida Vale
Mercure London Paddington Hotel
Shakespeare Hotel
#625 of 1,088 in London
795 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Falcon Hotel
#659 of 1,088 in London
416 reviews
The Belvedere
#647 of 1,088 in London
420 reviews
Cardiff Hotel
#597 of 1,088 in London
724 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Royal Norfolk Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Royal Norfolk Hotel

Property: Royal Norfolk Hotel
Address: 25 London Street | Norfolk Square, London W2 1HH, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > London
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #882 of 1,088 Hotels in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Royal Norfolk Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 60
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel set in 1850 Victorian; warm atmosphere; multilingual staff; near Paddington Station. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Booking.com, Priceline, Travelocity.ca, Agoda, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Royal Norfolk Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Royal Norfolk London
Hotel Royal Norfolk

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing