We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent location, OK breakfast, dated rooms and not very clean” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Phoenix Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Phoenix Hotel
Ranked #282 of 1,086 Hotels in London
Certificate of Excellence
Israel
Level Contributor
92 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“Excellent location, OK breakfast, dated rooms and not very clean”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 March 2012

Stayed for one night, room is small and bathroom tiny.
Bed was not clean and had hair on it...
the room looks dated as is the entire hotel , spots on carpets, dated furniture etc.
breakfast served for the room rate was OK, internet works sporadically...
for the price paid would expect a better maintained hotel.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Gigabyte056
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,566 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    427
    805
    274
    42
    18
See reviews for
305
429
257
198
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (170)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Barcelona, Spain
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 February 2012

I was in this hotel with my husband for some days. We chose this hotel due to the location but everything was great.
I recommend this hotel,the personal of reservations was very helpfully, we had some problems and we had to change our booking twice without any problem.
The staff desk is very nice, always trying to help us and explain us all the best ways to go to the atractions.They are from some countries so I think this is a good point,
The rooms are smaller than the hotels in Spain but they are comfortable and very clean.
The continental breakfast is good as well as the personal who works in the restaurant.
We don´t have any complaint about the hotel and we are pretty sure we´ll come back there.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Mónica GG G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BA
Level Contributor
75 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 February 2012

Excellent location, very close to Bayswater and Queensway tube stations! Whiteleys mall is right across the street and Queensway street has all sorts of restaurants, pubs and supermarkets. Rooms are decent, wifi is free but not very reliable. Bathrooms are pretty small. The continental breakfast and the friendly staff at the restaurant on surely helps you start a good day in London! Would stay there again for sure!

  • Stayed February 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank pauloeugenio
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Berkhamsted, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 February 2012

Perfect spot for walking to all the nearby tourist attractions. Love this hotel for its position to Hyde Park and Kensington Gardens, just minutes away on foot. It is only a short walk from Baywater Tube and is set in the tranquil Kensington Garden Square. We had a lovely, if some what cold walk across the park to The Royal Albert Hall to see Totem,Cirque to Soleil but incorporated a visit before hand to The Victoria and Albert Museum, just down the road in Kensington High St. There are plenty of places to eat in the vicinity. On a Sunday morning you are on the north side of Hyde Park, where artists display their work to sell along the railings from 10am onwards each week.
The hotel we found clean and extremely warm during our stay. Very warm bedroom, we had 3 beds in ours so probably slightly on the larger side compared to standard double rooms. May find tight for space if staying for a week or more but how much time do you spend in a room when there is so much on the doorstep to see,
Continental breakfast, usual selection of rolls, toast, cheese and ham, cereals etc. Dining room busy at 9.30am but like us, most people having a later breakfast.
We would definitely stay here again as the position of it is perfect. You can have a nice long walk, half an hour approximately, depending on your speed, down to Hyde Park Corner and then into Oxford Street to do some shopping. Apart from getting to the hotel by train and tube we walked everywhere once we had dropped off our luggage.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank FionaCDE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Southern Ireland
Level Contributor
9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 February 2012

We stayed here early December for two nights (2 mothers, 2 daughters) on a short shopping break, Hotel is very central and bedroom was very clean but way too small as a family room.
There was a terrible buzzing/gushing noise throughout the second night and very little sleep was had. My major concern was the corridors were soooo narrow and I would not like to be there if there was an emergency, also the lift was very slow and small.
Staff were very helpful but never smiled - a smile cost nothing.

Room Tip: Ask for a room away from noise
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, travelled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ellieod
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shrewsbury, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 February 2012

The Hotel was good value for the money , we got to the hotel at 10 am just to drop our bags of and we were given our room straight away, the room was on the front,clean beds,tea making ,clean bathroom with toiletries,it was a little on the small side,but that wasnt a problem as it was only for sleeping the main thing to us it was clean, the room was warm and we couldnt open the windows not sure about this with the safety factor but we had a fan to cool us down. The breakfast was continental, it was very nice you could have full english if you wanted at extra cost it did look very nice, the hotel is around the corner from two undergrounds and 5 mins from kensington park fantastic location, the high street is good for a nice meal. I would stay at this hotel again.

Room Tip: ask for a room at the front
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank wilkisjoan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paris, France
Level Contributor
313 reviews
86 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 197 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 February 2012

The best part of this hotel is its location. We stayed 3 nights. Very slow elevator; very small but clean bedroom, and very small bathroom; hanging space limited and access impractical. If you have a large suitcase, you'll have difficulty to open it (and not talking about having 2 suitcases!) since free space is really scarce. Breakfast is fine and not expensive (even better if it's included in the room price). When we asked the reception for a cab to take us to St Pancras Station, they said that a mini-cab would cost £23; we declined the offer and hailed a regular cab in the street - once at the station, the metered fare was £15 !

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Paul_Hamelin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these London hotels
Notting Hill
Kensington Gardens Hotel
Kensington Gardens Hotel
#436 of 1,086 in London
4.0 of 5 bubbles 276 reviews
Notting Hill
London House Hotel
London House Hotel
#295 of 1,086 in London
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,169 reviews
Notting Hill
Vancouver Studios
Vancouver Studios
#279 of 1,086 in London
4.5 of 5 bubbles 384 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Bloomsbury
Alhambra Hotel
Alhambra Hotel
#244 of 1,086 in London
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,917 reviews
Notting Hill
The Premier Notting Hill
The Premier Notting Hill
#368 of 1,086 in London
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,393 reviews
The Darlington Hyde Park
#200 of 1,086 in London
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,077 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Phoenix Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Phoenix Hotel

Property: Phoenix Hotel
Address: 1-8 Kensington Gardens Square, London W2 4BH, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > London > Notting Hill
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
#251 Business Hotel in London
#281 Family Hotel in London
#364 Romantic Hotel in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Phoenix Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 125
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Phoenix is a 125 bedroom 3 star central London hotel, located 5 minutes walk from Hyde Park. Bayswater and Queensway underground stations are both within a few minutes walking distance. The hotel is centrally situated for both the business executive and the holiday-maker, with the West End and its shops and theaters within easy reach. Free Wi-Fi and continental buffet breakfast is always included when making a reservation with Phoenix Hotel. Full English breakfast is available made to order, at an additional charge of £7.50 Per person. Check-in time is from 1 pm onward. There is a complimentary luggage storage facility at the hotel. The reception desk is open 24 hours. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Priceline and Fastbooking so you can book your Phoenix Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western London
London Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing