We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (580)
Filter reviews
580 results
Traveller rating
62
130
137
115
136
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
62
130
137
115
136
Show reviews that mention
All reviews the south kensington tube stop national history museum albert hall superb location victoria
Filter
Updating list...
293 - 298 of 580 reviews
Reviewed June 17, 2013

Great location, but the hotel needs an update - at least the rooms. They are tiny, but clean, but looks aged, and the walls in my room looked really worn. A bit more of an effort is needed for the breakfast. The staff however was A+!

Date of stay: June 2013
  • Trip type: Travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AddieHeidenDK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed June 6, 2013

First appearances can be deceiving !!
Staff and arrival all went well but from there on it went down hill...
For £185 per night ( not including breakfast ) i got
- a bath 30% covered in dried paint in it that chipped off if you scraped it
- a bathroom bin with no lid
- a bath panel falling off because it was so water damaged it hardly held together ( that was due to the poorly fitting shower panel allowing water to split out)
-a bathroom extractor fan hanging half off the wall
-a kettle that had to be plugged into an extention that was long enough and ever time you lifted kettle the base would be pulled off onto the floor.

As of yet I also havent found an e-mail address to send my complaints to. I didnt on the day as we were only staying the evening and it was a present from family. I expect the standards in London always to be a little lacking but even so....this wasnt a patch on a premier inn and those were only a few of the issue. The rest of the hotel faired no better; peeling pain on walls, cramped dirty decor, water leaking through lights in the breakfast hall and £19 for 1 english breakfast and one set of toast.
Money not at all well spent. Standards very poor.
Location was great for Royal Albert Hall and meseums etc but that about its best point.
-

Room tip: Dont get room 111. That was ours and the view from window is just 3 walls covered in fans.
Date of stay: May 2013
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Paul_Nix0n
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed May 24, 2013

It was Chelsea Flower Show week so most hotels wee fully booked and we were lucky to get a room.

The Gainsborough is apparently a 4 star hotel but felt like a tired 3 star hotel. The hallway room number signs had seen better days (as had some of the electrical points) and were held together with cellotape in places. Our room (number 118) had tall ceilings that probably measured more than the rooms width or length - so the very small double bed only just fitted. The side table, desk also showing signs of wear and tear. The tv was a vintage model - enough said. The bathroom tiled floor was cracked, the lavatory seat broken and only just hanging on. On the plus side the bath/shower attachment gave out strong flow of good hot water.

Luckily we were only there for one night but breakfast the next day offered a choice of the usual cereals and rolls but only some cheese slices and some processed ham slices as the "Continental" selection. No choice of a variety of cold meats or smoked salmon that we would expect from a 4 star hotel.

Date of stay: May 2013
  • Trip type: Travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Chris W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed May 23, 2013 via mobile

Such a value for $85 a night! S. Kensington is my favorite London neighborhood because of ease of transportation, excellent restaurants, and proximity to museums and excellent shopping.

Breakfast was excellent. The coffee was fresh and strong. The wait staff superior. One young lady went so far as to make me fresh lemonade.

The front desk staff was perfunctory. A smile would go a long way.

Date of stay: May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Petruchka
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed May 23, 2013

I would definitely not rate this hotel as a four star. The decoration is definitely tired and I would call it "cheap English country style." The room did not seem very clean and the bed was very hard. Also, rooms facing the street are very noisy. Room rates are quite high so for this price, I think you can find better in London. On a positive note, it is well located, not far from South Kensington tube station.

Room tip: Rooms facing the street are very noisy
Date of stay: May 2013
  • Trip type: Travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank londonmlle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews