We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Old hotel and false advertising”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
The Gainsborough Hotel
Ranked #807 of 1,081 Hotels in London
Reviewed 23 May 2017

I only booked into this hotel as I was going to the Chelsea Flower Show and it had rooms available in my budget. I cannot believe they advertise themselves as a four star hotel. I chose a Superior Single room and all I can say is I would hate to see what a standard one looked like. The room is tiny and with a poor layout which makes you feel like you are staying in a cell.
The bathroom is old, the shower stall slippery with no rubber mat provided and the water pressure is appalling. The hotel advertises it has a restaurant, which it doesn't. When I asked, they actually send you to the hotel across the road, who told me that they also provide the room service to the Gainsborough. They also advertise that they have heating and cooling. My room on the second floor only has a floor standing unit with a hose out the window , which I tried yesterday as the room was hot and stuffy. The noise was unbearable and there is no way you could use this in mid summer to cool your room. There is also a stand up fan stored in the wardrobe. The heating is actually an oil filled plug in heater stored in the wardrobe. The TV is on the desk and you would not be able to watch it from the bed, due to the room layout.
Someone from housekeeping knocked on my door while I was in the shower and shouted something that I could not understand, so I rang reception to find out why to be told they would call me back, which hasn't happened. The woman on reception when arrived was obviously having difficulties dealing with check ins and just kept telling me " that the tea and coffee in the room was free" . Well that is the usual in a hotel, so I'm not quite sure why she kept repeating it. Mind you I have no idea how you would make it, as it , as the kettle and teak making equipment is stored in the wardrobe and there is really no space for it. For the price, this hotel is the worst place I have ever stayed in. I would rate it more as youth hostel star , although I have stayed in better hostels than this room.
The only positive is the location to the tube and museums, however I would advise to look for something else in the area.

Room Tip: Front rooms have traffic noise from the street, however you need to leave your window open to get ai...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2017, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
3  Thank Kerri_J1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (496)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

37 - 43 of 496 reviews

Reviewed 8 May 2017

Great location as we were singing in the Royal Albert Hall. An older property but clean and comfortable. We had continental breakfast included which was adequate but you could upgrade to full cooked breakfast for £5
Lara on reception was very friendly and helpful.

  • Stayed: May 2017, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 54liz36
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 May 2017

close to subway, great location; great service, especially the attendent Laisa, she was always very helping and kind. We had a really nice time there.
Breakfast was very good; the room was well cleaned and good size. Only the elevator is very small. After all, it was good price-benefit.

Room Tip: all rooms seem quite
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Marcelo D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 April 2017

Very friendly staff, very attentive - especially attendant Irena. Delicious and hearty full English breakfast at a reasonable price for London. So near to the tube and Kensington area sites for tourism, in a quieter area not overrun by tourists, that Gainsborough is worth considering. My family and I will stay again.

  • Stayed: March 2017, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Newton F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 April 2017 via mobile

My partner and I booked this hotel for a 4 night stay and we cancelled and left after 1 night! We booked it months ago but was put in the room right next to the lift which was noisy until early hours! The room was run down and grotty more like a sub contractors hotel where you pay £25 a night! Not what you would expect for a 4 star hotel in London! Dreadful!

Stayed: April 2017, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Sarah N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 April 2017

The hotel was not the swankiest, but it was clean, quiet, and friendly, all in a great location minutes from the museums and the Tube. The rooms are small but I just needed a place to sleep and shower, London beckons. Lara was a great help at the reception desk, booking me tickets for a tour and generally very friendly and kind. For the price I couldn't ask for anything better.

  • Stayed: April 2017, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank bobmalan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 April 2017

Generally agree with most of the comments here as the hotel overall needs some general attention, but also agree that Lara was incredibly professional and friendly and willing to help. Great location, but difficult to control temperature in room and card key consistently did not work forcing a walk up/down 5 flights numerous times (elevator too small and slow to help).

Stayed: April 2017, travelled with family
Thank The_Real_MEGasaurus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these London hotels
South Kensington
Eden Plaza Kensington
Eden Plaza Kensington
#658 of 1,081 in London
885 reviews
South Kensington
The Exhibitionist Hotel
The Exhibitionist Hotel
#246 of 1,081 in London
570 reviews
South Kensington
Montana Hotel
Montana Hotel
#417 of 1,081 in London
847 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
South Kensington
The Queen's Gate Hotel
The Queen's Gate Hotel
#381 of 1,081 in London
1,048 reviews
South Kensington
Rydges Kensington London
Rydges Kensington London
#367 of 1,081 in London
1,217 reviews
South Kensington
Radisson Blu Edwardian Vanderbilt
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Gainsborough Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Gainsborough Hotel

Address: 7-11 Queensberry Place | South Kensington, London SW7 2DW, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > London > South Kensington
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Room Service Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#400 Luxury Hotel in London
Price Range: $113 - $365 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Gainsborough Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 49
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Imagine an English country home magically whisked to the most exclusive London borough, and you have The Gainsborough. Named after the celebrated artist, The Gainsborough combines the attractive style of bygone days with an easy informality. To stay here is to enjoy London of fashionable South Kensington, Harrods, the restaurants and antique markets, pubs and delightful backwaters of Chelsea and Knightsbridge. You are at the heart of the capital's culture too with great museums - Science, Natural History, the Victoria & Albert - nearby; and for music lovers, the glorious Royal Albert Hall is just minutes away. The well-stocked lounge bar is the spot for a leisurely drink or a snack from the light menu. With 24-hour room service, butlers on immediate call and a reception ever ready to meet your needs, nothing is too much for our attentive staff. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Agoda, Booking.com, getaroom.com, Priceline, Fastbooking, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Gainsborough Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Gainsborough Hotel London

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing