We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location”
Review of Americana Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Americana Hotel
Ranked #707 of 1,072 Hotels in London
Reviewed 15 March 2012

When we arrive in hotel we have a trouble - receptionist said that our booking was canceled! We didn't do this but receptionist really can't find our reservation. He showed to us letter from our travel agent with cancellation. It was very late and thanks staff - he let us in our room. In the morning it was all fine with booking - receptionist settled all problems. So staff in this hotel very friendly.
Also it's a great location - 5 min to Baker street tube. About 10 min to the Madam Tussauds museum and many else.
Room was good and clean but nothing special. Breakfast was poor.

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank persejonh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (415)
There are newer reviews for Americana Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

123 - 129 of 415 reviews

Reviewed 5 March 2012

I stayed for a few days here and although when we arrived we were moved to a double room instead of the two singles we booked we had a good time. The service at the front desk was excellent. Would recommend.

  • Stayed: June 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank justliketetris
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 January 2012

After reading some of the reviews, we were worried about staying in this hotel, although it had been recommended by previous guests there. We were very pleasantly surprised. Although not luxurious, the rooms were perfectly adequate, very clean and the staff very helpful and we would certainly stay there again for any family visit to London. Good value for money.

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jenny G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 January 2012

The Americana Hotel offers a reasonably priced hotel room in London. It won't be the fanciest room you've ever stayed in, but it's relatively inexpensive and it's clean.

The single room consisted of one standard bed (on the firmer side, but fine) and a bathroom with a small shower. As other reviewers have noted, the carpet was quite worn -- especially in the hallways -- but my room at least was spotless.

In terms of amenities, the Americana offers free WiFi that's fast & reliable. You can access the WiFi in the hotel lobby as well as in your room. They also serve a modest but sufficient continental breakfast and offer free coffee & hot chocolate throughout the day. Some unexpectedly nice touches, given the price.

The Americana is located a block away from London Business School and Regents Park. It's within a five minute walk to the Baker Street tube station where you'll find plenty of shops and restaurants.

Room Tip: When I was there, the lift wasn't functioning properly. Best to confirm before you book if that...
  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank rtr2008
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 November 2011

booked 5 nights and I wasn't so sure about this hotel but when i got the I was glad I've booked it rooms are good clean, medium size, services OK, staff was helpful, it was a great choice. 5 min from the Tube

  • Stayed: December 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank CristiDan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 November 2011

Hotel is in a great location about 7 or 8 min walk form Baker Street station and set on a quiet street but only a few mins walk to shops and restaurants. Also Lords cricket stadium is very close by. In saying this the location is the hotels saving grace.
I stayed here for 3 nights as a birthday treat for my mum. The room was very small and very basic however it was clean and as weren't planning on spending a great deal of time in it fine for what we wanted.
There is no tea or coffee making facilities in the room and whilst there is a drinks machine down in the lobby area this was regularly broke. The breakfast was a waste of time most stuff was gone by 08.00 and it is not replenished -including bread!! What was available wasn't very appetising.
Staff were fine not very chatty and the breakfast woman was quite abrupt and sharp but this balanced itself out with a friendly night porter.
The stairs up to the rooms were very narrow and the lift even more so. it was an old lift which was very noisy and really only held one person with a suitcase.
All in all for London this hotel was adequate and I didn't experience anything unbearable. I have started to stay in studio/apartment style accommodation in London as it gives a bit of extra space and ultimately comes in at similar prices to the 3 star hotels.

  • Stayed: February 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ashni
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 October 2011

This is by far the worse pklace I have ever stayed. I booked it for a theatre break with my daughter as a treat and we came back totally exhausted. The rooms and the hotel in general is shabby and the rooms tiny. We asked for a twin room and got a double but this didn't matter as we couldn't sleep from the noise of the traffic and the very hot room. We were given a twin for our last night but as the window was dangerous we had to keep it closed. The double room was so small that I had to squeeze past the hand basin to get into the shower and the bedroom tiny. However the beds were clean.

The staff are pleasant and helpful, the wi-fi free, the breakfast ok but this hotel is overpriced even for a buget hotel. If you have children avoid as there is a danger of them falling out of the window. We travelled with two overnight bags and a laptop bag and only one of us could get into the lift with our luggage as it was so small.
to sum up. noisy, dirty, overpriced and uncomfortable.

Room Tip: Take your own towels as theirs are too small
  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Boycebabe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these London hotels
Marylebone
Blandford Hotel
Blandford Hotel
#444 of 1,072 in London
678 reviews
Marylebone
Travelodge London Central Marylebone
Marylebone
Regency Hotel - Nottingham Place
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Marylebone
Marylebone Inn Hotel
Marylebone Inn Hotel
#584 of 1,072 in London
242 reviews
Marylebone
Dorset Square Hotel
Dorset Square Hotel
#278 of 1,072 in London
246 reviews
Marylebone
Nottingham Place Hotel London
Nottingham Place Hotel London
#594 of 1,072 in London
295 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Americana Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Americana Hotel

Address: 172 Gloucester Place | Regents Park, London NW1 6DS, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > London > Marylebone
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #707 of 1,072 Hotels in London
Price Range: $154 - $217 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Americana Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 29
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are centrally located and thanks to our close proximity to Baker Street Underground Station guests staying at the Americana have easy access to London's business district as well as its many tourist attractions, shops and theatres. The Americana Hotel has a friendly welcoming atmosphere and our staff is available 24 hours per day to take care of your detailed requirements and maintain a safe environment during your stay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity.ca, Hotels.com, Agoda, Cancelon, HotelQuickly, TripOnline SA and getaroom.com so you can book your Americana Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Americana Hotel London

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing