We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Location Good but has downsides.” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Oliver Plaza Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Oliver Plaza Hotel
Ranked #654 of 1,089 Hotels in London
Southport
Level Contributor
11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Location Good but has downsides.”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 April 2012

Stayed here whilst we were on a business trip to Earls Court, the location was great for that but disappointed with the hotel, did not really live up to what is on the website. The rooms are tiny and the bathroom is nothing like the picture, I have never seen anything so small in my whole life, hard to fit in there. Neither is it free Wifi as stated, was told by the evening receptionist that only one hour per room per stay or you had to pay.....
Talking about receptionists, the hotel manager, Suresh who is on during the day is one of the most friendliest helpful people I have ever met, nothing was too much trouble for him and if I did go back there, it would be largely based on the treatment received by him, he does a fantastic job and is a credit to the hotel.
You can order cooked breakfast for 5 pounds which was freshly cooked and very nice.
All in all, ok for what we needed but would probably not book again due to size of rooms and bathroom.

Room Tip: Ask for the room with the nice bathroom!!! If it exists!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Lulubirkdale
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mangmt, Public Relations Manager at Oliver Plaza Hotel, responded to this review, 8 April 2012
Dear SouthportLulu,

Thank you so much for your kind feedback following your recent stay with us at the Oliver Plaza Hotel. You’re right our staff and our location are two of our biggest assets and I am happy to read that you experienced our excellent customer service. It’s really rewarding for our staff to see they satisfied their guests.

I am sorry to read that you were not happy with the size of our rooms. Each and every one of our rooms is individually designed and decorated and vary in size and layout. I am confident we can find you a room that you will be very comfortable with.

Please accept my sincere apologies and we will ensure that we do much better for you in future.

Kind Regards,
Kashif Imran
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

554 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    108
    204
    140
    66
    36
See reviews for
119
187
48
78
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (95)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Somerset
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 April 2012

Lovely small hotel. Close to Earls Court exhibition centre and the tube station. Although the room was compact. The room was clean and comfortable. The outstanding point was the reception staff - polite, helpful and very welcoming. Made you feel right at home. So many receptionists look down their noses, these two gentleman were lovely and extremely helpful. Can not wait to visit them again. Breakfast was lovely with an option to have a full english instead. Easy to find. You expect to hear some road noise as it is London, but we found it reasonally quiet. Thank you for a lovely weekend

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ali&Der
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mangmt, Front Office Manager at Oliver Plaza Hotel, responded to this review, 7 April 2012
Dear Ali & Der,

Thank you very much for such wonderful comments. That’s true, our staff has very individual and warm approach to every guest and they are often appreciated for their exceptional customer service. We are delighted to read that you’d like to visit us again and likewise we can’t wait to welcome you back at the Oliver Plaza. I wish you had tried our cooked traditional English breakfast which comprises of bacon, sausages, tomatoes, mushrooms, beans and eggs.

I sincerely hope that it won’t be long before we welcome you back at the Oliver Plaza Hotel.

Warm Regards,
Suresh David.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sussex, UK
Level Contributor
29 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 March 2012

I stayed 2 nights. Rooms are not massive but clean and comfortable. There was some street noise. Continental breakfast fine. Shower room fine and water right temperature. Free wifi but only in one hour slots.
Very convenient for Earls Court

Room Tip: Ask for a room not over the street
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank RupertSussex_UK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mangmt, Front Office Manager at Oliver Plaza Hotel, responded to this review, 8 April 2012
Dear RupertSussex_Uk,

Thank you very much for staying with us and taking the time to comment on your most recent stay at the Oliver Plaza hotel.
I am happy to read that you appreciate our clean, comfortable accommodation and our convenient location which is just in the heart of London. We understand how important this is when you travel and I am happy that we positively contributed to your trip to London.
Thank you again and looking forward to welcome you back at the Oliver Plaza soon.

Kind Regards,
Suresh David.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Saint-malo, France
Level Contributor
17 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 March 2012

We were two couples visiting London and we stayed for 3 nights. The hotel is very well located, close to the underground and the buses leading to town center. The rooms were clean and the breakfast simple but sufficent. The major problem was the size of bathrooms and specially of the shower. However if I come back to London I think that I can stay again here.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Patmalo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mangmt, Front Office Manager at Oliver Plaza Hotel, responded to this review, 7 April 2012
Dear Patmalo,

Thank you very much for your review on the Oliver Plaza Hotel. We aim to provide clean, affordable accommodation and this combined with our fantastic location ensures a very comfortable stay with us. I am happy to note that we seem to have delivered on these points during your time with us.
Regarding bathroom size, as you might have noticed our hotel is a conversion of Historic English building which gives it a unique charm and Heritage. We tried to make our rooms as spacious as possible and have wide range from Standard to Executive, which offers shower and bath.

I do hope you will visit us again and experience the stay in our other room types.

Kind Regards,
Suresh David.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 March 2012

Stayed here for 12 nights from 28 FEB, hotel is clean, simple breakfast, the hotel staffs were nice n helpful in providing infomation. The Hotel is very close to the tube n Westfield Mall since Rashid told me this is a good place to shop, took bus C1 n is 10 mins journey.I would definately return to stay again here!

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Francisboey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mangmt, Front Office Manager at Oliver Plaza Hotel, responded to this review, 18 March 2012
Dear Francisboey,

Thank you so much for your kind comments following your recent stay at the Oliver Plaza hotel.

I am happy that you enjoyed the service delivered by our team; they do pride themselves on delivering the highest levels of personal service. Many of our guests would agree with you that our hotel is clean and our location is ideal, close to underground, buses and shopping. We very much look forward to welcoming you back to the Oliver Plaza on your next trip to London.

Kind Regards,
Suresh David
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Diego, California
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 February 2012

I know London is expensive, but so many of the hotels in the budget-to-moderate range are bait & switch. This place sounded too great online, but honestly, it wasn't cheap. We were in the top floor, two people stuffed into a room the size of a bathroom with an awful bed. The room was dirty, and I was concerned about bedbugs. The room faced the street which made it very very noisy, and the elevator was right outside the room which we heard all night long. The shower was super-narrow with poor poor water pressure making showering almost impossible. I always travel budget, so my bar is generally set low, but this was ridiculous. We were expected to leave our key at the front desk when we left for the day, but it really felt unsafe to do that. The wireless was non-existent in our attic room, and sadly, that was one reason I chose it. I would not stay here again.

The location in Earl's Court was wonderful--one block from the Tube, and Earl's Court is in the middle of everything.

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SDMidwife
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mangmt, Front Office Manager at Oliver Plaza Hotel, responded to this review, 18 March 2012
Dear SDMidwife

Thank you for taking the time to post your review of Oliver Plaza on Tripadvisor. I am most grateful for your feedback, which is such a valuable source of information for me, regardless of whether it is good or bad, and helps me monitor the service we provide. Of course I was disappointed to read about your feelings following your stay with us and would like to take this opportunity to respond to your comments.

Whilst I am happy to read that you like our location which is very central, I am sorry that you were not happy about your room. As you might be aware, our hotel is a conversion of a historical English building, our recent refurbishment has maximised the room space and added wide variety of room types to cater to all types of visits, short or long. Normally, our guests find the space of the rooms sufficient and comfortable. Also, I can assure you that all our rooms are cleaned on a daily basis and our housekeeping staff does their best to keep the rooms neat and tidy. Unfortunately, the wireless problem occurred during your stay and we have already rectified it. Please accept our deepest apologies that you had to experience this.

It is disappointing for any stay to end on a low note, and even more so to learn that you would not consider returning to Oliver plaza. I am very sorry that your stay with us was not as positive as that of others on this site.

Yours sincerely,
Suresh David
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these London hotels

Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
50 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 February 2012

This hotel suffers, as do many others at this level, from small rooms and even smaller bathrooms. While I expect this to a degree, the Oliver Plaza seems to suffer more than others. I appreciate small bathrooms at this price point, but it would be nice to be able to actually turn around in your bathroom! Another problem with small rooms is that you can only fit in a small bed - something which can be a bit of a problem for someone my size.

Having said that, the room was warm, clean and reasonably well maintained. The staff were efficient and helpful, and breakfast was included - and while just a continental style buffet was more than acceptable.

The Hotel has no bar or restuarant, which isn't a major problem in this area of Earls Court, as there are plenty of pubs and restuarants within easy walking distance. The location of the hotel is good, being close to Earls Court underground (use the Exhibition exit as it is a bit closer).

All in all, I would only recommend if you can get this at a discount

Room Tip: Don't worry if your room is next to the lift, as lift noise doesn't seem to intrude.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank alexathodgeheg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mangmt, Front Office Manager at Oliver Plaza Hotel, responded to this review, 13 February 2012
Dear alexathodgeheg,

Thank you very much for your comments. We are sorry to hear you were not happy about your room size. You must have booked one of our standard rooms, but we have high variety of different room types, that have different lay outs and sizes, starting from single, through double, to family and studio rooms. Also, as you might be aware, our hotel is a conversion of a historical, English building, as many in the area. However, our recent refurbished maximised the room space, making it very comfortable to all types of visit, from short to long, individual or family and finally leisure or business. Moreover, our rooms have very pleasant and modern deco, but preserve the unique features of the building. Also, as you mentioned our hotel is in a fantastic location, making it again very convenient for all types of guests staying with us. We are happy that you recognised this and do hope you will visit us again and experience the stay in our other room types. Suresh David – Front Office Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these London hotels
Earls Court
Trebovir Hotel
Trebovir Hotel
#841 of 1,089 in London
3.5 of 5 bubbles 699 reviews
Earls Court
London Court Hotel
London Court Hotel
#404 of 1,089 in London
4.5 of 5 bubbles 134 reviews
Earls Court
Twenty Nevern Square
Twenty Nevern Square
#551 of 1,089 in London
4.0 of 5 bubbles 715 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Earls Court
Mayflower Hotel
Mayflower Hotel
#660 of 1,089 in London
3.0 of 5 bubbles 928 reviews
Earls Court
Lord Kensington Hotel
Lord Kensington Hotel
#744 of 1,089 in London
3.5 of 5 bubbles 412 reviews
Earls Court
Garden View Hotel
Garden View Hotel
#530 of 1,089 in London
3.5 of 5 bubbles 964 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Oliver Plaza Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Oliver Plaza Hotel

Property: Oliver Plaza Hotel
Address: 33 Trebovir Rd, London SW5 9NF, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > London > Earls Court
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant
Hotel Style:
#310 Business Hotel in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Oliver Plaza Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 37
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated in the heart of the cosmopolitan area of Earl's Court, the new look of the Oliver Plaza Hotel offers you now even more sumptuous surroundings. We've upgraded the entire hotel to superior 3* standard, with new contemporary furniture in all areas, state-of-the-art LCD satellite televisions in all rooms, messaging facilities and free Internet wi-fi throughout the hotel, to give you an unrivalled guest experience and unrivalled value. Convenient located in a beautiful Victorian neighbourhood, near the Oliver Plaza you will find the top worldwide museums such as Natural & History, Science and Victoria & Albert Museum, top London must-see landmarks like Harrods, Hyde Park and many more, also the city centre is just in a very short travelling distance with the Piccadilly line. With no less than 123 different locations within easy reach from the nearby Earl's Court underground station, The Oliver Plaza is the perfect location. If you are visiting London for business (the Olympia London is just 5 min with the tube) or leisure, a visit to the Oliver Plaza Hotel is a must. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com and Travelocity so you can book your Oliver Plaza Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Oliver Plaza London
Hotel Oliver Plaza

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing