We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Perfect location! Cozy and simple rooms”
Review of Astor Court Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Astor Court Hotel
Ranked #578 of 1,063 Hotels in London
Norway
Level Contributor
17 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Perfect location! Cozy and simple rooms”
Reviewed 20 May 2012

Perfect located hotel. Short walking distance from Oxford Circus station, Oxford street and Regent street. We also walked to madame T. Hotel is located in a quiet street with supermarkets nearby. Room was simple. Outdated interior and very basic but It had great high sealing and old fashion charm.

  • Stayed May 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LivMarit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

651 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    70
    284
    192
    59
    46
See reviews for
232
150
21
70
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (75)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Paris, France
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 May 2012

Good location is the only good thing about this hotel. Very dirty and dusty room, management not nice at all, room so small and the bathroom is a cupboard. Internet didnt work even you paid for it. Breakfast was not good. Really the management was the worse I saw. I will never go back and wouldnt want my friends to go there. If you have asthma, forget it with the dust.

Room Tip: just dont go!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank VALERIE7567
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these London hotels

Las Cruces, New Mexico
Level Contributor
23 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 May 2012

Good location. I would say interior was tired. We had a problem with the shower hose. It leaked & we had a terrible flow to the bathroom floor. I mopped it up with our towels. Reported it & it was better but I watched the connection with next use. The breakfast was as stated fruit, cereal, croissants, usual drinks. It was very busy in the breakfast room with guests & staff worked hard to keep up. The Internet was expensive & I was cut off early. The staff was friendly & helpful. It was our first trip to London & I'd probably try elsewhere, if I were to return.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TravelinLady211
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Porthmadog
Level Contributor
144 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 April 2012

The location is excellent and it is excellent value considering you are so close to Oxford Circus. The rooms are spacious with the bed in an alcove leaving the rest of the room as a living room. Everything is tired. It is clean the staff are friendly but it could do with someone touching up the paintwork here and there. The breakfast was plentiful - toast, croissants, cereals, tea, coffee. The plastic table cloth were gross - not dirty just looked like you had just time warped about 50 years back in time. The shame of it they were hidding nice mahogany tables. Would we stay again? - yes (we have already booked their family room with kitchenette), would I recommend it to a friend - not with out a disclaimer.

Room Tip: The road is quiet so I guess it doesn't matter. If you chose a family suite then in most you hav...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Snowdonia_Holidays
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
surrey
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 April 2012

This hotel is just a short distance from Oxford street which is great. That is the only good thing i can say about it.
We arrived last night and were given a ground floor room. Great, only the carpet was really dirty. We weren't too impressed. All round the edge of the room there was a very obvious layer of dust. We decided we were willing to overlook that as we were only staying one night. Then we went into the bathroom. Well, we were ground floor, street level and not only was there no blind or curtain over the window, the shower curtain didn't wrap all the way around the bath. The bathroom window was quite big, and it was frosted, but with it being dark outside and if we had the light on to shower, it would be easy for passers by to see someone showering.
We asked if there was another room available and the receptionist was very rude. She said the room had been 'used'! We had been in there all of a few minutes! It was as it was when we got the key! She eventually agreed to a room change and gave us one on the top floor which she said was the only other room. It was a lot cleaner than the other so we accepted it. As we were getting ready to go to bed, we could hear a strange ticking and buzzing noise after we turned the tv off. The noise could be heard in the bedroom area and lounge. On investigation, we found the noise was coming from the fuse box and it was the electrics. Even with everything in the room turned off, the noise continued all night which made it very hard to sleep.

The decor of the room was very outdated and it was in good need of redecoration. It was very cold in the room and a minor niggle was the soap dispenser didn't work. The shower was hard to work, old style and it leaked from the tap when the shower was in use. It was hard to level the temperature, it was either scalding hot or freezing and it took a while to get it somewhere inbetween!
A big problem was the bathroom was extremely hard to close. IF you could manage to close it, it popped open again. Not great.

The breakfast was pretty awful. No cooked breakfast, just croissants, cereals...typical cold breakfast products and toast you made yourself in a 4 slice toaster which everyone wanted to use. The breakfast room was also small with tables close together. It was also pretty empty in there, maybe 8 others, which makes me find it hard to believe the second room we were given was the only other available room as they have about 60!
I also noticed there are no window locks. As we were leaving, there were windows wide open on the top floor landing which could be dangerous.

I wouldn't recommend this hotel at all.

Room Tip: Don't bother at all, just find another hotel!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank emma e
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Belfast
Level Contributor
63 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 March 2012

It is close to Oxford Circus yet in a reasonably quiet side street. My room was very spacious though noisy due to its location. The decor and furnishings are very old. No heating in bathroom. Kettle didn't work. Internet was five pounds for three hours but logged me out long before the time was up and didn't let me log back in.

Breakfast was self service with rubbery croisants and buns, cheese in plastic wrappers and utterly tasteless coffee. I won't be back.

  • Stayed March 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank CarringtonWealth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Salford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
20 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 March 2012

We stayed here for 2 nights on a London city break. The hotel is in a quiet location but easy walking distance from Euston station and close to the West End attractions, Soho, Covent Garden etc. Our room (room 7) was booked as a family room but exceeded our expectations by turning out to be a ground floor suite. The continental breakfast was an ideal start to the day. Reception staff very polite and friendly.

Room Tip: If you're looking for a family room for 3 people, ask for room 7.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank theshawsfromeccles
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these London hotels
Fitzrovia
Grange Langham Court
Grange Langham Court
#515 of 1,063 in London
3.5 of 5 bubbles 581 reviews
Fitzrovia
Grange Fitzrovia Hotel
Grange Fitzrovia Hotel
#503 of 1,063 in London
3.5 of 5 bubbles 905 reviews
Marylebone
Blandford Hotel
Blandford Hotel
#416 of 1,063 in London
4.0 of 5 bubbles 658 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Fitzrovia
Saint Georges Hotel
Saint Georges Hotel
#721 of 1,063 in London
3.5 of 5 bubbles 628 reviews
Marylebone
Holiday Inn Oxford Circus
Holiday Inn Oxford Circus
#621 of 1,063 in London
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,097 reviews
Fitzrovia
Holiday Inn London - Regent's Park
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Astor Court Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Astor Court Hotel

Property: Astor Court Hotel
Address: 20 Hallam Street, London W1W 6JQ, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > London > Fitzrovia
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #578 of 1,063 Hotels in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Astor Court Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 45
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Astor Court Hotel is a comfortable, secure living environment set in the heart of London's West End. The Hotel is housed in an historic former Gentlemen's Club which was converted in the early 1900's. The 45 well-appointed rooms (currently being reviewed for cyclical redecoration) and six apartments provide the perfect balance of modern comfort and Victorian Architecture. The unique features in this Grade 2 Listed Building give each room its own character. It is ideally located for Oxford Street, Regent Street and Piccadilly/Covent Garden shopping and close to Theaterland and its restaurants, clubs, pubs and cinemas. The Astor Court Hotel is just a couple of minutes walk to Oxford, Regent and Bond Streets, Hyde Park and London's West End. The Hotel and its Apartments offer comfortable, affordable accommodation and it is in one of the most prestigious areas of Central London. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Fastbooking, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Astor Court Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Astor Court London
Hotel Astor Court
Astor Court Hotel London

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing