We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very mixed experience”
Review of Astor Court Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Astor Court Hotel
Ranked #580 of 1,072 Hotels in London
Reviewed 16 March 2017

We booked this hotel for two nights as we had a conference nearby. The first night we were given a spacious, yet dated ground floor room with three single beds (we had booked a twin). This hotel is right above an underground line and even with ear plugs it was impossible to sleep with rumbling.

After a sleepless night, I asked the reception staff to move us. They did so with no hesitation and moved us to a two apartment room on the third floor. The room was massive, with twin beds in one room, a double bed in another, a bathroom with toilet and bath, a separate toilet and separate shower/bathroom. You could still hear the distant rumble of the underground but with ear plugs you can get a quiet night.

The hotel is in need of refurbishment and the breakfast was very basic. The staff were very friendly and helpful though and the price wasnt awful for central London. If i was to return, then I would certainly request a room on the 3rd floor or higher.

Room Tip: Ask for a room above the ground floor
  • Stayed: March 2017, travelled on business
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MindfulKt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (684)
There are newer reviews for Astor Court Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

25 - 31 of 684 reviews

Reviewed 14 March 2017

The hotel itself is quite small and quaint - very traditional in its décor in the rooms but I thought it was quite nice and pleasant - it reminded me of visiting my grandma's house! Clean though and comfortable and 5 minutes walk to Regent Street/BBC area. A rumbling from the underground every 5 minutes that you do get used to. The dining area is too small though for breakfast, we had to queue for 10 minutes for a seat but this wasn't a big issue.

Room Tip: My double room did not look like the advertised photo at all
  • Stayed: March 2017, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Lisa W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 February 2017

Great location but comes at a price. Through the night there is a lot of street noise and a significant rumble every 2 minutes from the underground that runs beneath the hotel.

Rooms are a good size but basic. Importantly they are nice and clean

Breakfast is a selection of cereals, pastries and cold ham and boiled eggs!

Stayed: February 2017, travelled on business
1  Thank DT_CM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 February 2017 via mobile

We booked a family room, which had two bedrooms, a bathroom and kitchenette. The beds weren't very comfortable, but ok. The room was really outdated. Needs to be refreshed. Breakfast was really busy but had a decent selection. The hotel is in a great location.

Stayed: January 2017, travelled with family
Thank fsugirl24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 January 2017 via mobile

Great location and nice enough for a business trip. Though really bad if you need wifi to get work done. There are no passwords, so you have to keep on completing a form on the hotel website to get connected. Frustrating!

Stayed: January 2017, travelled on business
Thank Mona D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 January 2017

We booked into Astor Court for a short weekend (3 nights) with my friends. As we intended to spend most of our time sight-seeing and not in the hotel, The location was good, with a few minutes walk away from Oxford Circus, and the double room itself although basic, was clean and tidy. But not so good wifi :(

  • Stayed: March 2016, travelled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Inge T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 January 2017

The hotel is in the quiet Hallam Street (you can hear the Underground in "the far distance") just 5 mins walk from Oxford Circus and Street and the Underground - and a pub just at the corner!!. Nicely renovated old building. We were welcomed by very polite and helpsome staff. Very large and comfortable rooms. Breakfast room was a little crowded (guess that they open to the garden during summertime). The breakfast was fine - can suggest som hot egg and bacon to served.
Only to be recommended.

Room Tip: Quiet placed hotel, near Underground, shopping and sightseeing
  • Stayed: December 2016, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Gergelyffy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these London hotels
Fitzrovia
Grange Langham Court
Grange Langham Court
#527 of 1,072 in London
603 reviews
Marylebone
Blandford Hotel
Blandford Hotel
#444 of 1,072 in London
678 reviews
Fitzrovia
Saint Georges Hotel
Saint Georges Hotel
#752 of 1,072 in London
658 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Bloomsbury
Garth Hotel
Garth Hotel
#877 of 1,072 in London
48 reviews
Fitzrovia
Grange Fitzrovia Hotel
Grange Fitzrovia Hotel
#540 of 1,072 in London
951 reviews
Marylebone
Holiday Inn Oxford Circus
Holiday Inn Oxford Circus
#642 of 1,072 in London
1,156 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Astor Court Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Astor Court Hotel

Address: 20 Hallam Street, London W1W 6JQ, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > London > Fitzrovia
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #580 of 1,072 Hotels in London
Price Range: $177 - $305 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Astor Court Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 45
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Astor Court Hotel is a comfortable, secure living environment set in the heart of London's West End. The Hotel is housed in an historic former Gentlemen's Club which was converted in the early 1900's. The 45 well-appointed rooms (currently being reviewed for cyclical redecoration) and six apartments provide the perfect balance of modern comfort and Victorian Architecture. The unique features in this Grade 2 Listed Building give each room its own character. It is ideally located for Oxford Street, Regent Street and Piccadilly/Covent Garden shopping and close to Theaterland and its restaurants, clubs, pubs and cinemas. The Astor Court Hotel is just a couple of minutes walk to Oxford, Regent and Bond Streets, Hyde Park and London's West End. The Hotel and its Apartments offer comfortable, affordable accommodation and it is in one of the most prestigious areas of Central London. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Fastbooking, Travelocity.ca, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Astor Court Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Astor Court London
Hotel Astor Court
Astor Court Hotel London

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing