We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location, not so great that you can hear the underground even on the 2nd floor”
Review of Astor Court Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Astor Court Hotel
Ranked #610 of 1,081 Hotels in London
Reviewed 6 May 2017

Value for money: 1 night in March (7th to 8th) £139 including breakfast (though we had to miss it because of time constrain and therefore cannot comment on it).

POSITIVE:-
- Great location: just over 5 minutes from The Portland Hospital.
- Clean
- Helpful reception (evening receptionist - not so helpful morning receptionist).

NEGATIVE:-
- Noise: one can hear the underground (right underneath most hotels in this area...) even on the 2nd floor.
- Tired: thought one can see the effort towards making the guests stay a pleasant as possible. Additionally, these are old buildings.

The bed was comfortable enough.
We did not have time to check the wifi.

Room Tip: If bothered about noise ask for a room at the very top of the hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2017, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MJO76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (718)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

40 - 46 of 718 reviews

Reviewed 3 May 2017

The hotel has a fantastic location, only a few meters from Oxford street. The hotel is a bit shabby, and the whole place could need a renovation. The staff was friendly and helpful. The breakfast is ok, just enough to get really hungry for lunch. This hotel is perfect if you would like to use your money on shopping insted of an expencive room. The room we stayed in was a bit unpractical with no wash basin in the toilet. Bathroom and toilet are two separate rooms.

  • Stayed: July 2016, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank Kjersti L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 April 2017

The hotel itself is situated behind the BBC building, so it's only a couple of minutes away from Regent Street. You basically have two of the busiest shopping streets in London right at your doorstep. The location of the hotel is also great as there isn't a lot of activity or noise.

The receptionists at the hotel were all welcoming and helped us out whenever we had a query and when we wanted to get a taxi. The room itself was situated in the upper floors. The only thing that could bug a customer is the underground going right under the hotel with a sub passing every few minutes. The noise isn't completely disruptive as it is something anyone can sleep through.

The room itself was good as it provided the necessary for a short stay. The hotel also provided a free wifi which is quite strong wherever you are in the hotel. The only thing I would mention about the room is the size of the toilet room. As a tall person I had to pay attention to how I move as the door is very close to the toilet.

The breakfast provided by the hotel consisted of three different cereals, various pastries, 2 bowls of cut fruit, various breads (which can be toasted in a small toaster), jams, honey, cheese, boiled eggs and ham.

Behind the hotel is a 24/7 deli shop and restaurants are close by.

Room Tip: Room on the upper floors.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Claude F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 April 2017 via mobile

Big room with a double bed and one extra for our family of 3 adults. The toilet was in a different room than the sink and shower, so after every toilet trip we had to walk across the room to the sink. And through the day we could hear regular noices, maybe the underground? The walls in the rooms were quite thin so we could hear the neighbors' noices. But the location is excellent, just around the corner from Regent street and all the shops & cafees. The breakfast was nice and staff friendly.

Stayed: April 2017, travelled with family
Thank sarpuli
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 March 2017

This hotel is a great location for shopping Oxford/Regent street , everything within walking distance and a very nice neighborhood. Attention though - the hotel is quite old, and at least the room we had is in need of renovation. In addition to this, the hotel was quite noisy during the night, not from guests, but from the overall condition. Strange noises of machines going on and off kept us awake most of the night. I would not recommend this hotel if you are looking for a nice room . For shopping it is ideal.
Next time I would look for a nicer hotel, even if I am just there for shopping.. The employees at the reception were friendly, but no help with advice for good restaurants.. Which is something I do expect when I am in a city and have no time to research!

  • Stayed: February 2017, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank settim0
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 March 2017

We booked this hotel for two nights as we had a conference nearby. The first night we were given a spacious, yet dated ground floor room with three single beds (we had booked a twin). This hotel is right above an underground line and even with ear plugs it was impossible to sleep with rumbling.

After a sleepless night, I asked the reception staff to move us. They did so with no hesitation and moved us to a two apartment room on the third floor. The room was massive, with twin beds in one room, a double bed in another, a bathroom with toilet and bath, a separate toilet and separate shower/bathroom. You could still hear the distant rumble of the underground but with ear plugs you can get a quiet night.

The hotel is in need of refurbishment and the breakfast was very basic. The staff were very friendly and helpful though and the price wasnt awful for central London. If i was to return, then I would certainly request a room on the 3rd floor or higher.

Room Tip: Ask for a room above the ground floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2017, travelled on business
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MindfulKt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 March 2017

The hotel itself is quite small and quaint - very traditional in its décor in the rooms but I thought it was quite nice and pleasant - it reminded me of visiting my grandma's house! Clean though and comfortable and 5 minutes walk to Regent Street/BBC area. A rumbling from the underground every 5 minutes that you do get used to. The dining area is too small though for breakfast, we had to queue for 10 minutes for a seat but this wasn't a big issue.

Room Tip: My double room did not look like the advertised photo at all
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2017, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Lisa W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these London hotels
Fitzrovia
Grange Langham Court
Grange Langham Court
#550 of 1,081 in London
628 reviews
Fitzrovia
Saint Georges Hotel
Saint Georges Hotel
#750 of 1,081 in London
691 reviews
Fitzrovia
Grange Fitzrovia Hotel
Grange Fitzrovia Hotel
#538 of 1,081 in London
987 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Marylebone
Holiday Inn Oxford Circus
Holiday Inn Oxford Circus
#640 of 1,081 in London
1,209 reviews
Fitzrovia
Holiday Inn London - Regent's Park
Mayfair
Mermaid Suite Hotel
Mermaid Suite Hotel
#832 of 1,081 in London
343 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Astor Court Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Astor Court Hotel

Address: 20 Hallam Street, London W1W 6JQ, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > London > Fitzrovia
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #610 of 1,081 Hotels in London
Price Range: $134 - $329 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Astor Court Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 45
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Astor Court Hotel is a comfortable, secure living environment set in the heart of London's West End. The Hotel is housed in an historic former Gentlemen's Club which was converted in the early 1900's. The 45 well-appointed rooms (currently being reviewed for cyclical redecoration) and six apartments provide the perfect balance of modern comfort and Victorian Architecture. The unique features in this Grade 2 Listed Building give each room its own character. It is ideally located for Oxford Street, Regent Street and Piccadilly/Covent Garden shopping and close to Theaterland and its restaurants, clubs, pubs and cinemas. The Astor Court Hotel is just a couple of minutes walk to Oxford, Regent and Bond Streets, Hyde Park and London's West End. The Hotel and its Apartments offer comfortable, affordable accommodation and it is in one of the most prestigious areas of Central London. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, Fastbooking, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Astor Court Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Astor Court London
Hotel Astor Court
Astor Court Hotel London

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing