We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Peaceful haven” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Academy

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
The Academy
Ranked #507 of 1,089 Hotels in London
Randalstown, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Peaceful haven”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 February 2012

What a delightful place to stay, in the heart of elegant Bloomsbury and within walking distance of a great range of attractions, including theatreland. My wife and I stayed here in early February and found it an ideal London location which represented good value for money. The staff were welcoming and friendly and the location is quiet at night. The room was warm and comfortable and while the ensuite was compact, it was perfectly adequate. We would recommend this hotel and would happily stay here again.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Robert H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AcademyHotel, General Manager at The Academy, responded to this review, 27 February 2012
Dear Reviewer,

Thank you for sharing your experience and for recommending us.

I was delighted to read that you found the whole experience pleasant, and our staff welcoming and friendly.

Throughout 2012 you will find various offers and attractive rates on our website, as “it pays to book direct”

Looking forward to welcome you again,

Kind Regards,

Federico Ciampi
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

732 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    195
    260
    155
    83
    39
See reviews for
116
252
69
139
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (155)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Norfolk, England, UK
Level Contributor
38 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 February 2012

We stayed at The Academy on a Friday night in February. We wanted somewhere in a pleasant area within walking distance of a particular restaurant near Covent Garden. We booked at a good rate via their own website the week before and it turned out to be an excellent choice.

The Hotel is currently being renovated and is covered in scaffolding on the outside but this is clearly stated on their website and was not a problem to us at all. Inside, the public areas we saw were all freshly decorated and looked lovely. We were greeted well and found staff to be courteous, professional and friendly.

Our room was nicely presented, decorated with neutral colours in a traditional style with modern fixtures and fittings. It was on the top floor, which meant several flights of stairs (no lift), but again this wasn’t a problem for 1 night. It faced the rear of the building and was extremely quiet for London which, together with a very comfortable bed, meant we had an excellent nights sleep! A nice touch was dressing gowns and slippers provided in the wardrobe although we didn’t use them on this occasion. It was very warm in the room, in fact too warm for us, but I’m guessing the heating had been turned up during severe cold weather a few days before. Fortunately the window was easy to open!

We didn’t eat at the hotel. There are several small cafes just 2 minutes walk away around the corner in Store Street. Continue walking for another 2 minutes and there’s a Co-op for basic supplies and a further 5 minutes will take you to a choice of food stores on Tottenham Court Road. We liked Waitrose (to the left) or M&S (to the right).

Our walk to Covent Garden in the evening was a pleasant 20 minute stroll, and we felt safe enough to wander back again around 10pm.

We enjoyed our brief stay at The Academy and would definitely book again at a similar favourable rate.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Susan_Norfolk_07
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AcademyHotel, General Manager at The Academy, responded to this review, 27 February 2012
Dear Reviewer,

Thank you for taking the time to write about The Academy.

Throughout 2012 you will find various offers and attractive rates on our website, as “it pays to book direct”

Next time you stay with us why don’t you try our breakfast service. For £10.00, you will have a wide choice on a continental buffet, and you can even upgrade to a energetic Full English for £5.00 more.

Hope to see you soon again,

Kind Regards,

Federico Ciampi
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
33 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 February 2012

A last minute decision to stay over in London led us to The Academy - and for value for money what a discovery! For the room rate we couldn't have asked for more - a very convenient location, a spacious family suite, comfortable warm surroundings. Everything you'd neec for a very pleasant stay in London.

  • Stayed February 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Teeandtee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AcademyHotel, General Manager at The Academy, responded to this review, 20 February 2012
Dear Reviewer,

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience about our Hotel.

Indeed we are in an excellent location and I am glad to read that you found our Suite comfortable and spacious.

Do not hesitate to book again with us soon,

Kind Regards,

Federico Ciampi
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Seattle, WA
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 February 2012

This hotel is located about two minutes' walk from the British Museum, near many great restaurants and pubs and even around the corner from a grocery store. The decor of the lobby and common areas is absolutely superb. I wish my room had been as freshly decorated, but there was nothing wrong with it at all. The bed was very comfortable and the hotel was very quiet. Near Goodge Street and Russell Square tubes. I didn't have the breakfast because it was 15 GBP and in USD that's a bit much, but I found other places to eat nearby easily. I will definitely stay here again because the decor is just lovely, the garden out back was charming, and the staff were fabulous throughout.

Room Tip: I had a room facing the garden, so it was very quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Cyndel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AcademyHotel, General Manager at The Academy, responded to this review, 20 February 2012
Dear Reviewer,

What a pleasure is to read that our guests are enjoying their experiences in our property.

We have softly refurbished 22 rooms of our inventory to ensure we keep the high standards that we strive to achieve here at The Academy.

We are just changed the price for our breakfast selection and now for £10.00 you can have a continental buffet choice. Please do try it when you will visit us again.

Looking forward to welcome you again,

Kind Regards,

Federico Ciampi
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UK
Level Contributor
110 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 136 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 February 2012

I stayed here for a very short one night stay. It served the purpose for a quick business trip.

Ideally positioned for the West End.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ChrisFoster
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AcademyHotel, Federico Ciampi - Assistant General Manager at The Academy, responded to this review, 9 February 2012
Dear Reviewer,

Thank you for sharing your experience here with us.

Our hotel is indeed close to the West end, with easy reach of Oxford Street.

Looking forward to welcome you again in the future,

Kind Regards,

Federico Ciampi
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 February 2012

Nicely decorated and good service. Good size rooms and a comfortable beds

  • Stayed January 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank dave-kent-uk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AcademyHotel, Federico Ciampi - Assistant General Manager at The Academy, responded to this review, 3 February 2012
Dear Reviewer,

Thank you for sharing your experience about your recent stay with us.

It is always nice to read that our guests can feel a truly Eton experience.

Looking forward to welcome you again in the future.

Kind Regards,

Federico Ciampi
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Palo Alto CA
Level Contributor
37 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 January 2012

Got a small cozy room on the ground floor towards the garden; very nice. quiet and private. The hotel is in a prime location for discovering the city: a stone throw from the British Museum and access to the underground tube. No complaints on the accomodation; breakfast was also enjoyable. Will return for my next business trip.

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank BruderLustig
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AcademyHotel, Federico Ciampi - Assistant General Manager at The Academy, responded to this review, 24 January 2012
Dear Reviewer,

We would like to thank you for choosing our Hotel for your business trip and for sharing your experience.

Reading positive comments from our guests always give us a boost to keep the high standards that we strive to achieve here at the hotel.

Hoping to see you again in the future,

Kind Regards,

Federico Ciampi
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these London hotels
Bloomsbury
Staunton Hotel
Staunton Hotel
#529 of 1,089 in London
4.0 of 5 bubbles 342 reviews
Bloomsbury
My Bloomsbury
My Bloomsbury
#380 of 1,089 in London
4.0 of 5 bubbles 935 reviews
Bloomsbury
Arosfa Hotel
Arosfa Hotel
#100 of 1,089 in London
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,676 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Bloomsbury
Regency House Hotel
Regency House Hotel
#555 of 1,089 in London
3.5 of 5 bubbles 315 reviews
Bloomsbury
Grange Clarendon Hotel
Grange Clarendon Hotel
#454 of 1,089 in London
4.0 of 5 bubbles 506 reviews
Bloomsbury
Radisson Blu Edwardian Kenilworth Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Academy? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Academy

Property: The Academy
Address: 21 Gower Street | Bloomsbury, Fitzrovia, London WC1E 6HG, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > London > Bloomsbury
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites
Hotel Style:
#326 Luxury Hotel in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Academy 4*
Number of rooms: 49
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Academy is one of London's most charming hotels. Located right in the heart of London's West End, it is just a stone’s throw away from the city's finest shops and restaurants and well located for visiting The British Museum. This four-star boutique hotel, in London's Bloomsbury, is made up of five restored Georgian townhouses with 49 rooms and is a comfortable base from which to explore the sights of our capital. This small, quirky hotel comes complete with a cosy library, beautiful conservatory and homely sitting room. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Travelocity, Priceline and Expedia so you can book your The Academy reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Academy Hotel London
Academy Hotel London
Academy London

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing