We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“Excellent as always” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Strand Palace Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Strand Palace Hotel
Ranked #370 of 1,078 Hotels in London
GreenLeadersGold level
Stoke-on-Trent
Level Contributor
14 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 122 helpful votes
“Excellent as always”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 April 2012

We have just returned from our third stay at the Strand Palace and once again we throughly enjoyed our stay. The location is perfect for theatres and all the main attractions. We booked an executive king room without a view due to the scaffolding being on the front of the building but as we don't really stay in the room we were not bothered about this and at £126.00 including breakfast we thought this was a bargain. We did not have to queue at reception or for breakfast and found all the staff very helpful. When we travel from Euston we always get off at Charring Cross station as this is very close and you don't have lots of steps to climb like you do if you get off at Covent Garden and the distance to the hotel is the same. We will definately be returning again

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank potters80
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

8,340 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    2,474
    3,490
    1,529
    537
    310
See reviews for
1,059
2,838
1,135
1,791
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,388)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Weymouth, United Kingdom
2 reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 April 2012

Excellent location for central London and the Embankment. Friendly, efficient service. Spacious, well appointed guest room, which was an executive king size room.
Breakfast was mostly fine, with a good choice of cerials, yoghurts, breads, croissants etc; but the cooked breakfast was a great disappointment. We found it so poor that we were unable to eat the stale bacon, solid eggs, soggy tomatoes, tinned rubbery mushrooms, balckpudding looked too scary to try. Needess to say we didn't try any of the other "eateries" at the hotel.

Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Peter M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DavidMacrae, General Manager at Strand Palace Hotel, responded to this review, 13 April 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your review and it was pleasing to see that the majority of the aspects of your stay met your expectations. It is both concerning and disappointing however that the hot breakfast selection was far from satisfactory on the morning of your stay. Please be assured that what you encountered was far from our normal standard, and that our breakfast team have been made fully aware of your comments and our short comings on this occasion. Thank you for bringing this matter to our attention and we look forward to welcoming you back to the Strand Palace.

Regards,
David
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
burnley
Level Contributor
46 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 April 2012

I have just taken my daughter to London for 3 days for her 21st birthday and decided to go one up from a travelodge and so booked the Strand Palace and I have to say the stay was great they have upgraded all rooms and the room was spotless and very comfortable. The service was second to none with all staff very friendly and helpful and of course the location is marvellous walking distance from anywhere would definitely stay again

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank clarets3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edinburgh, UK
Level Contributor
12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 April 2012

Just arrived and very disappointed. Massive queue at check in and surly receptionist. Wanted to upgrade our room so that our whole party could use the sane upgraded breakfast room, but they were going to charge us £50 per night rather than their advertised £30 just because we had booked through an agent.

  • Stayed April 2012
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Edin555
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DavidMacrae, General Manager at Strand Palace Hotel, responded to this review, 13 April 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your review. Just to advise, guests can upgrade to a higher room category by paying a supplement of £30. An additional £20 charge was levied as the upgrade was also to a higher room type. This would be the policy regardless of whether the booking was directly with the hotel or through an agent.

We do hope we can welcome you back to the hotel in the future.

Regards,
David
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Llandudno, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 April 2012

There is no doubt that The Strand Palace Hotel on the Strand is very central to theatres
and other sites in London. Saying this, you can choose the level of room you wish to
pay for (we chose superking beds inc breakfast) and all rooms have just been refurbished.
The real plus is the service. The concierge found us show tickets at short notice. The staff
in the Brassiere and the main restaurant were always more than helpful. Nothing was too
much trouble. We put that we would like a quiet room
on our reservation and we got one. Don't try looking for a cheaper price on the internet
You won't find one. I can highly recommend this hotel.

Room Tip: Ask for a quiet room if you want one.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Colinrichard
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sacramento, California
Level Contributor
167 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 April 2012

Nice location. Comfortable rooms. Friendly staff. Continental breakfast with fruit, hot oatmeal, milk, cereal - 8 pounds, not bad for London.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank sacramentan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Southport, North Carolina
Level Contributor
15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 April 2012

Only needed a room for 2 nights - can't beat the location for the price. Had a "club" twin room - very small, but had everything I needed since I didn't spend much time in the room. Close to many of the major attractions, and the concierge is most helpful. All staff were willing to please, restaurants were staffed properly. Would I go back - YES!

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank neverhome407
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these London hotels
Covent Garden
Kingsway Hall Hotel
Kingsway Hall Hotel
#211 of 1,078 in London
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,777 reviews
Trafalgar Square / Embankment
Amba Hotel Charing Cross
Amba Hotel Charing Cross
#14 of 1,078 in London
5.0 of 5 bubbles 2,997 reviews
Covent Garden
Radisson Blu Edwardian Mercer Street Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Trafalgar Square / Embankment
The Z Hotel Piccadilly
The Z Hotel Piccadilly
#187 of 1,078 in London
4.5 of 5 bubbles 928 reviews
Westminster
The Grand at Trafalgar Square
Holborn
The Hoxton, Holborn
The Hoxton, Holborn
#73 of 1,078 in London
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,184 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Strand Palace Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Strand Palace Hotel

Property: Strand Palace Hotel
Address: 372 Strand, London WC2R 0JJ, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > London > Covent Garden
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#11 Green Hotel in London
#232 Family Hotel in London
#261 Romantic Hotel in London
#263 Luxury Hotel in London
#347 Business Hotel in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Strand Palace Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 785
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The historic four star Strand Palace Hotel stands with true grandeur in the heart of London's West End, on the doorstep of Covent Garden, Soho and Leicester Square. Since opening its doors in 1909, the hotel has remained a landmark in the area. With 785 guest rooms ranging from Cosy singles to larger Executive rooms, complimentary WiFi throughout, a well equipped gym, two restaurants, a destination Gin bar, a sports bar and a vast meeting space the hotel is ideal for business and leisure travellers alike. Covent Garden, Charing Cross and Embankment underground stations are also within easy reach as well as main line over ground train stations. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, HotelTravel.com, Expedia, Agoda, HotelsClick and Travelocity.ca so you can book your Strand Palace Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Strand Palace Hotel London
Hotel Strand Palace
Strand Palace London
Strand Hotel London

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing